We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok meal but have had better at oistins”
Review of Chillin & Grillin

Chillin & Grillin
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Oistins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$23
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Wanted to check it out as was number 1 rated at oistins
We went on a Thursday night and there was an older local crowd enjoying some dancing which was sweet
I had the shrimp which was $40 Barbados and asked for it to be spicy but unfortunately it wasn't.
Service was quite slow and there were lots of flies around and it's very loud next to the speakers (which I didn't mind)
The sides were good but the shrimp were a bit overlooked (I saw them reheat them on the grill)
Much preferred the food at Pats place in oistins. Friend had dolphin which is mahi mahi (not dolphins as you probably know them). She also said Pats Place was better.
I used a 5% discount voucher off their website and saved $6.50 Barbados on the meal.

Thank helenp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry A, Owner at Chillin & Grillin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Hi Helen, thank you very much for your review of C&G, I must apologise for any discomfort you may have experienced while dining with us.

I however want to be very clear on one thing. Unless you request our shrimp fried, all off our shrimp are done on the grill. You would never witness us "reheating" shrimp, what u may have noticed is that our shrimp is done in foil and the reason for this is that we are absolutely careful with shrimp and ensure that it does not touch the grill or any of the utensils that has to be used for fish. Some folks are very allergic to shrimp so we prefer to cook them in foil rather than flat on the grill. The Shrimp weren't placed in foil to be warmed over that is how we prepare them. Sorry that we could not get them as spicy as you would have preferred them.

On the Thursday you visited it was a special event in Oistins called "Q in the community". I am happy that you enjoy the music played and the dancing.

As it relates to flies, this known pest isn't resident. Due to the environment in which we operate, at times circumstances beyond our control would cause an increase. Hot days, rainy days etc. but certainly not from a lack of cleanliness. We work very hard to control this menace but being open air does not help. Fortunately for us we open in the PM so we usually only have to tolerate the problem for maybe the first hour.

I do hope that overall you enjoyed your Oistins experience and you had a wonderful holiday on our beautiful island. Thanks again for your review and please accept my apology. We aim for excellence 100 percent of the time. Your review will serve us well in trying to maintain such.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Chillin & Grillin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

In the jumble of choices we happened on Chillin & Grillin (maybe because of the tablecloths?) Glad we did! Excellent food and service! Highly recommended!

Thank Stephani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We always visit these guys on a Friday night and bring family and friends whenever they visit.
The food is really tasty and you get a lot of food. You have 1 meat option 2 starches and 3 salads!!!!

The natural juices are really good too.

Ralph is a top guy there!! Fantastic customer service and excellent sense of humour...... always has a smile.

They do get really busy on a Friday night but are there throughout the week too.

Thank Naomi0581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Friday evening. After watching the turtles being fed on the pier we headed to this restaurant on our taxi drivers recommendation. We arrived about 6pm and just got space for 4. It's busy but tables turn quickly. Long picnic type tables where you get to chat to others round you. Lots of fish to choose from. We tried, marlin, prawns, dolphin and swordfish. You can order fish on its own or as a meal you choose 2 sides, potatoes, rice and peas, sweet potato or mac and cheese. 3 very tasty salads also come with the meal. Food on a Friday night is served on paper plates. Excellent value for great food and beer. We would definitely return

Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This place is excellent!! It was so good, I ended up eating dinner here eight times in my 10-night stay in Barbados. I highly recommend any fish, paired with rice & peas and two helpings of Mac Pie (skip the salads). Roger and team will take great care of you!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chillin & Grillin also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Dover, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Chillin & Grillin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing