We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Barbados on a budget, oh yes you can.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halcyon Palm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halcyon Palm
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Barbados on a budget, oh yes you can.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Barbados has always had the reputation for being for the rich and famous, not so, thanks to Virgin Atlantic. This is the second time we have been, and manage to get great deals.
The first time we stayed in the Halcyon, we found the apartments large but rather dated, I suppose the price we paid we could not complain, it suited us. The kitchen area was big enough for us to cook, and clean.
Maid service was almost daily, with fresh bedding and towels.

However, the second time we went, we found the Halcyon to be more tatty and in need of a fresh lick of paint, the pool area was in very bad neglect, with broken loungers which were black!
The towels grubby, and the bathroom grouting in need of a good clean.
We were told they are going to get an overall in April of next year, which we hope they do, as these are good solid roomy apartments, and affordable.

The Halcyon is situated among pretty houses and villas, and it's like you are living with the locals.
It's very quiet and peacful, not suitable if you like to party! And if you are up early enough, you get to see the monkeys over the road.

You cannot fault the staff, and the warm reception they welcome you with, nothing is too much trouble.

This year, because Barbados is so expensive, we stayed in more and cooked for ourselves which saved us a lot of money, we bought local goods which is cheaper, as the main brands are imported and ridiculously pricey. The apartments have a proper sized oven which abled us to do proper meals, and not like the two ringed hob you get in Europe.

Air con was about £100 for the fortnight, which is needed, and it was lovely to go to bed at night and be able to sleep, it is not noisy, but a gentle humming.
The safe cost approx £20 for the fortnight. We hired a car for a week direct from Wendy in reception and not through Virgin, which cost £200. Barbados is a beautiful island, and a car is a must to explore, and visit more beaches.
The beach from the Halcyon is about a 20 minute walk away (surfside) which we did not mind, as the exercise helped with the excess food and alcohol :)
Shops and restuarants are also 20 minutes away, with 'Just Grillin' being affordable with lovely food.
Catch the Reggae bus into Bridgetown which is an experience in it's self.

What we like about Barbados is, that it is very safe to walk around even at night, although I take a torch to walk back to the Halcyon, the people are one of the friendliest I have met and go out of their way to help you.
We found this year, that you can have unlimited internet connection from reception for about £25 for the fortnight.

We are booking to go again next year, and just hope that the Halcyon gets the promised lick of paint it so desperately needs. It would be a shame if Virgin pulled it's contract out of the Palms resort, as it is affordable for people like us.

Room Tip: We always ask for the top floor. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Suethommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    39
    38
    10
    9
See reviews for
27
51
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Friendly staff in an isolated location, 'tatty' out of date furnishings and decor. How can Virgin fly their customers here? Having said that, without the offer of a low price (albeit at the end of Hurricane(wet) season) our family wouldn’t have been able to experience all the other brilliant things about Barbados. The people, the food the music the 'reggae' buses, the sea the heat & the humidity - all of which are a great life experience. A pity then after each wonderful day we had to come back to the Halcyon/Travellers palms 'resort'. The lack of an acceptable pool area (Halcyon) due to dirty broken loungers and poolside area meant we couldn’t really have a day just lazing around our apartments - even if we'd wanted to!

Room Tip: throw a dice! or book in elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pikespeak4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunset Crest hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

rooms and resort well passed their sell by date--worst standards i have ever been in-bedding/sheets still with marks on them/chairs actually black with dirt/ towels yellow-should have been white!
charged 196 bds for ac and safe for 1 week[£65]-never paid for ac before

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank gerpampen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks recently and although we wanted the Travellers Palm we were allocated Halcyon Palm which on reflection was better as the Travellers had a group of teenagers on a sports trip. The apartments are clean, fairly spacious and located in a quiet area of Sunset Crest. The staff were all extremely friendly and professional.
We are a family of 3 including a 14 year old.
We have tried to include information that we would have found helpful before arriving in Barbados :)
Plus points: clean, not expensive, fairly large apartment and within a 10 minute walk of the bars, shops & restaurants. Down sides: the pool area is small, the third bed is a camp bed in the living area which is fine but there are no curtains...just thick nets so at night the room is very light and only basic pots & pans which made self- catering a challenge but not impossible.

We spent a lot of time down at the Beach House pool as you can get a card from the reception at Travellers Palm for $50 (refundable). The pool, bar & restaurant are great down there and it is right on the beach front. The beach at the side is good with easy, sandy access to the sea.
We ate at The Beach House which we recommend (3 x 2 course meals with drinks before and wine was £200) , The Mews - again no hesitation in recommending (£250) and Zacchios - don't bother it was relatively expensive for bland, cold food (£175).
The new Limegrove centre in Holetown has some posh shops and cafes plus it is nice for a walk around.
We had lunch at Flindt in Holetown and the cafe next to Cave Shepherd in Sunset Crest which were both good and cost approx £50 for three burger type meals and soft drinks.
The SuperCentre supermarket is expensive compared to the UK for most things. Cornflakes £10 per box, pasta sauce in a jar £4, mushrooms £3.50 for a small punnet but other items were reasonable. It was obvious which were the imported goods.
If you buy beer in glass bottles or soft drinks in PET bottles you can recycle them in the cabin in the supermarket carpark. The guy gives a receipt and then when you buy more drinks in the supermarket you get money off.
We felt safe all the time in Barbados except for when at the Fish Fry in Oistins. Everyone had raved about how great this is but we found it to be busy, hot and with a threatening undercurrent later on. The food was also expensive with a very basic outdoor meal for 3, served on plastic plates under a gazebo, with 2 beers and a soft drink £50.
We went on the Island Safari and had a great time whilst seeing the North & East of the island which is very pretty and reminded us of Cornwall.
We didn't have any problems with crime but at Halcyon someone left a bag on the balcony and is was gone the next morning and another neighbour had a bag stolen whilst they were lying next to it on the beach.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday but wish we had more money available so we could have eaten out more.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room for added security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelderby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Firstly let me say that this was tagged onto a package we had booked with virgin and the total cost of this hotel for us ended up being £20 per night, so please take this into consideration when reading my review. For the price we paid this was a simple yet good apartment. Somebody previously compared it to an apartment typical of Greece. I have to say this apartment was much better than anything I have experienced in Greece. We booked into Travellers palm (its partner down the road) but on arrival realised there was a school party of teenage boys and so asked to move to the quieter Halcyon Palm. The area is quiet and tranquil, the rooms are relatively bright and spacious and have all you need to self cater in Barbados. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the small pool is clean and quiet. Maid service is not every day but when I called to say my bin was full somebody came and changed it (and did the washing up while we were out too!!). The only thing about this apartment is that the drains blocked twice (although somebody instantly fixed this). Sunset Crest is a nice place with everything you need but you may wish to consider having a car. You need to pay extra for AC but if you leave the bedroom door open it chills the whole apartment. Overall if you get a good deal this is a comfortable place to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaylover82Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed for a week at the Palms Resort, the Halcyon Palm, a short walk round the corner from the other apartments The Travellers Palm, where the bar and reception is situated.

It was a running joke the whole holiday that the hotel bar was never open during the day! The pool at the Halcyon was fine, although no umberellas, so on the days when we lazed by the pool we used the Travellers Palm pool which was great.
The apartments were fine, perfectly clean- in need of a little upgrading but the price we paid we did not grumble about this!

The area itself is very quiet, mostly caters for older and richer people, so my boyfriend and I went on all the trips visiting most other parts of the island. Barbados itself is breathtaking, and if you go i urge you to go and experience the island, its hospitality and all it has to offer.

The holiday really is what you make of it, and it is probably one of the only Carribean islands that you can explore safely by yourself. We did not feel terribly safe walking around at night on our own, but that is where we used our common sense.

All locals are very friendly, helpful and no one passes you by without saying hello. This was very refreshing as we did not know what to expect.

We done this on the cheap, and it turned out was probably the best way to do Barbados, as it forced us outwith the confines of the apartments to see the whole island, including Oistins (Friday night party in the fishing district- A MUST GO!), swimming with turtles in the beautiful clear blue water, eating all the local food from the back of vendor vans (the lamb is TO DIE FOR!) we also went on a jeep safari day all over the island which was great.

We would go back- no question!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caramel1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at the The Palms Resort and was given an apartment at the Halcyon Palms. This is a 2 minute walk from the reception which is located at the Travellers Palm. We didn't see this as much of a problem. We made some brilliant friends who had apartments at the Travellers, and their apartments weren't any better than ours. The Travellers was a much busier area as the bar and main pool were located here, but was very pleasant all the same.
Our apartment was basic, but had everything we needed (except washing up and/or a sponge). We didn't pay for air-conditioning but found the switch for it anyways (different to the apartments at the Travellers, which needed the remote).
The only concern I do have is for the pool at the Halcyon; their were no parasols around it, so nowhere was shaded (this was mentioned several times by guests and by our holiday rep), and my hand was grazed badly on the bottom of the pool by the rough surface - please note that all the tiles were fine and intact, it was simply the rough "non-slip" surface, which was different to the pool at the Travellers.
The area is very safe with a bank, cafe, and a duty-free shop at the end of the road; the beach a further 2 minutes away; and the main shopping area and supermarket about 5 minutes away. Holetown is a very lovely town, with good restaurants, shops, and the new Limegrove centre just opened (posh shops like Gucci and Louis Vuitton ;)).

Room Tip: DON'T be on ground floor - lots of bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank imacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Crest
0.1 km away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 km away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
2.7 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.0 km away
Travellers Palm
Travellers Palm
#1 of 4 in Sunset Crest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 km away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Palm

Property: Halcyon Palm
Address: Sunset Crest, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Palms is an intimate collection of 25 One Bedroom units located in the heart of the West Coast. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous platinum coast at an affordable rate.Sister hotel to Travellers Palm we can accomodate families, groups or private getaway for couples. Short stroll away from Travellers Palm. Beautiful poolside view from all rooms. An excellent locstion for that deserved restful unforgettable holiday at this charming intimate resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Halcyon Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Halcyon Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing