We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place to get away from it all.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballibrad

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
bid66
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just got back after an amazing weeks stay at ballibrad, and one thing yes the track upto the barn is rough but does state this when you look to book, excellent for dog lovers as tyson enjoyed his time there exploring the garden, we really enjoyed watching and trying to video the bats in the evening, sitting out enjoying a drink admiring the great view even creating a table at the front to place our drinks on (hope this is still standing lol) would advise people to take couple of folding chairs to sit outside and enjoy scenery,overall a great place to stay and visit surrounding areas. The local killmartin hotel serves great food and is dog friendly only 10 minutes walk down the track. My partner would have liked a mirror in the bedroom area (only complaint) other than that would recommend ballibrad as an excellent place to stay.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbenfen
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What can I say about this place! It is in a fantastic location, the middle of nowhere with no internet, no phone signal (I did get one bar outside the front door and I'm on Three network) surrounded by breathtaking country, the views during all hours of the day were magnificent and we were blessed with a mix of sun, warmth, rain and cold. The bats were entertaining on the first night too eating up all the flying insects. The property is in great condition, the treatment used on the wooden beams was a little overpowering on the first day I suspect due to the heat and it did permeate everything so we had to wash clothes twice when we arrived home but it's something we just got used to. The track is a good 20 minute trip at a VERY slow speed and while the track is not under the control of the owners of the property as far as I am aware, it is very rough. I have a VW Golf, and it did scrape the underside every now and then. When it rained I left the car at the bottom gate and we walked as I didn't want to risk damage. Just be aware.
We didn't get a chance to explore Kilmartin in depth as we had a pretty full itinerary but it looked like a lovely village and the pub/hotel at the bottom of the drive always seemed full.

I would like to make a comment for future guests. The owner generously provides a detailed list of what to expect during the stay, instructions on setting the fire up, the boiler, where to find the key, leaving tea and coffee provisions for the next guests etc. - the one thing I didn't expect to have to do having arrived after a 9 hour drive was having to empty and clean the bin out. I implore you, please clean up after yourselves and leave things as you found them.

I will give this a 5* rating as I believe it is that. I have also stolen a few ideas for my own property renovation projects. Hope to stay again next year!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogerpeta
Llanfyllin, United Kingdom
1 review
“a fabulous property in idyllic surroundings.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful holiday in the most peaceful surroundings. The property was a joy to stay in and has with fantastic views from the huge front window..The track to Ballibrad was fine if taken slowly but most of the time we enjoyed walking to the village which only takes about 15 minutes. A great retreat for peace and nature that has been thoughtfully renovated..
One of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Ticks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iainlessl...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, relaxing and remote”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Ballibrad for a few nights in June this year. From booking to leaving everything was seamless. Lindsey, was very helpful and advised of things to do in the area when we were booking. Perfect location if you want to get away from the world, switch off your phone and relax. The building itself is amazing and beautiful and gives the most spectacular views over the glen. Take heed the warnings regarding the road to the building, we were lucky that it never rained too much! Would defiantly book again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The remote location
Liked least: The bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Richmo...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic hideaway”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We really enjoyed this hidden gem, a really well equipped barn with some thoughtful details. A stunning location and amazing views onto the hills. The road was fine during the time we were there, we found driving slowly wasn't a problem. We enjoyed chopping wood and curling up by the fire. A great find- hope we can stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, log fire, mirror ball, rustic feel, a real escape.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Serene”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

we had a marvellous break even tho weather was terrible. Location and surrounding area is superb if you want to get away from it all. Barn is beautiful and very cosy when fire is going. We would certainly recommend but beware of the track leading to it.
Bob & Lisa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing