We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location !”
other travellers have booked this property
Stronefield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stronefield Cottage
woodburning stove in lounge View from the balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Stronefield Cottage
woodburning stove in lounge
View from the balcony
Decking and balcony looking out to sea
Dining room to decking
dining room through to kitchen
Main bedroom
twin bedroom
twin bedroom
twin bedroom
Sea view from kitchen
local seafood
utility room
double shower
Stronefield from the sea
view from upstairs bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jackiecW8...
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Location, location !”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stunning views from the upstairs sitting room. A very spacious property with all mod cons. Ardfern and the surrounding area is ridiculously beautiful even when its raining

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Delighted you enjoyed the views - they really are special and we have been told on so many occasions our photos dont do the house or the location justice! Hope to see you back. Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
2 reviews
“Perfect place for a wonderful getaway”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stunning accommodation in a stunning location. Great place to stay with lovely views and lots of places to explore within the area. Very accommodating and knowledgeable host

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Delighted you had a great stay - hope to see you back again soon. bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissLittl...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Easter Family Break”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Stonefield cottage for the first week of Easter holidays and had a great time. Plenty of space for us, three kids and their grandparents plus a spaniel. The location was perfect and we really liked the fact that there was plenty to do in the area without venturing out to Oban. In fact, we were so glad we didn't stay too close to Oban. We spent one day walking at the canal, another day at Arduaine Gardens (brilliant day out for kids) and another day walking the dog at the shore of Craobh Haven and enjoying a good pub meal at the end of the day. All those places are within 10 - 20 min drive from the house. We had a rainy day one day so we went to the sea life sanctuary that day and another day was spent getting a ferry to Tobbermory, which we (including the dog) really enjoyed. The view from the upstairs lounge is so pretty and perfect place to relax at the end of a busy day. All in all, a brilliant accommodation and would highly recommend to families. Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Hi - delighted you had a great time. Hope to see you back to visit some other natural beauties such as the corryvreckan whirlpool and also see whales/dolphins and sea eagles.
Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Delighted you had a memorable holiday! looking forward to welcoming you back. best regards. Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lynnefras...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great getaway!”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We had the most relaxing 60th birthday getaway at Stronefield Cottage and I agree with some previous reviews, the pictures do not do this house justice. Even the drive there is simply breathtaking. The house is spotless and the kitchen has everything you could need. The owner is a joy to deal with, nothing is too much trouble. We forgot a board game and he kindly posted it back to us. There is a restaurant and village shop and we visited both. We even managed to book the local taxi driver who's details I got from the shop. Although the the restaurant is only a few mins walk away, one of our party would have had an issue walking back up the hill (plus it was chucking it down). A gem of a retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Delighted you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Hope to see you back at stronefield.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriston...
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heaven with the Gate Closed”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Without doubt, Stronefield cottage is a wee gem of a place set in a beautiful location on the west coast of Scotland.The accommodation is perfect for a group of adults with all the home comforts one would expect to make the stay so memorable. My wife & I were joined by 2 friends who also were extremely impressed with the high spec of the accommodation & the facilities available in the village of Ardfern, all within a short walk of the cottage. We hope to make a return visit if we are lucky enough to get a booking - I suspect those who have experienced the quality of Stronefield will already have made plans & spread the word to friends & family.Many thanks to Bob G for presenting the property in such a fine manner - it really made our break so memorable!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the property,location & views from the balcony
Liked least: Having to leave after 4 days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Many thanks for your kind words Stuart - delighted you enjoyed the accommodation and your stay! Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes, Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilbottl...
Cramlington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent location, beautiful area accessible to wonderful countryside.”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our stay was blessed with fabulous weather and we enjoyed coming back from long expeditions (walks and visits to ancient sites), to relax in the upper room. We rattled around in the house and would have loved to have shared the experience with our daughters and their families. The property is big enough for 8 or 9, so maybe the next time if this can be arranged.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing