We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Drumalban

The view of Drumalban on arrival.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of Drumalban on arrival.
The view of the garden and loch from the south facing terrace. Relax or play in the mature secluded gardens.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The view of Drumalban on arrival.
The view of the garden and loch from the south facing terrace.
Relax or play in the mature secluded gardens.
Garden and Loch Craignish in Spring (seen from Terrace).
The living room and view of the kitchen above.
View from the stairs (and yes, the piano is tuned and ready to play!)
Kitchen
Enjoy locally sourced shellfish on the patio.
View from upstairs bedroom
Upstairs Triple Bedroom
Upstairs Shower Room
Downstairs Master Bedroom (en suite)
The Galley of Lorne Hotel and Pub
Arriving at Drumalban
One of the many visitors to the garden.
View of Craignish Lagoon and the islands beyond.
Erecting a wedding marquee on the lawn below the house.
Sunset over Loch Craignish.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Diana R
Theydon Bois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in September 2010

With stunning views of Loch Craignish this is a perfect location for a family group get together.
Great open space downstairs to interact between kitchen and sitting room. Lovely log fire too.
Within walking distance of Ardfern Village shop you have everything you could wish for in Dramalban.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open space
Liked least: Lack of bathroom upstairs but I understand there is one now.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and lovely to welcome you back to Drumalban in 2012 and this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and actual house
Liked least: the weather for two of the days was terrible but the house was so comfortable we did not care
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Drumalban, we really appreciate it and it is very helpful for future guests. We hope to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fully equipped and comfortable house, with such pretty views!
Liked least: The stairs proved slightly dangerous for the young children
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We noted your mention of the WiFi and can report that all has been working well for some time now. There is even the prospect of 3G being introduced to the area over the next 6 months! We can't wait!. If you should choose to holiday in Scotland again we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AMac48
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Remote hidaway”
Reviewed 28 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have been coming to Ardfern for many years as it is our favourite place. For varying reasons we never managed to rent this place. We stayed 22-29 Oct 2011 as family of 4 plus grandparent. The house is very well located with splendid views down Loch Craignish. It was built by the owners to exploit the great views from all over the house, which it accomplishes with great success. Be warned that if arriving in the dark it is a mile up an unmade road and completely isolated. This is also its appeal. The house is well equipped and large for a party of 8-10. It states that 12 can be accomodated but this is misleading as one room upstairs has a double and 4 singles so would take a very specific party to utilise all the beds and there are only 3 bathrooms. 2 families of 4-5 would be ideal. Electric heating system takes some getting used to and not the most efficient, which is relevent because bills are paid by the tenant. There is however a log fire to supplement and an axe/saw to chop your own wood!. To summarise we really enjoyed our stay and as a small party of 6 paid a reasonable rent. The high season prices are at the very top end for the area and I do not think are justified for the level of finish. Detail such as quality of the doors/handles, lino in the kitchen i/o flags/slate, dated downstairs bathrooms, poorly tended lawns (allowing for fact it was wet and Oct) and pealing paintwork do not justify top dollar. For location, however, it has few rivals and you will have a great stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views !
Liked least: dated en-suite and intermittant broadband
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your helpful comments. You're right, the location and views at Drumalban are indeed splendid. It is a couple of years since your visit and I thought it might be worth mentioning some things you noted that we have acted upon. We have held out prices for a couple of years now and because we realise that not everyone wants to go away with 11 others, we are able to have several price structures (under-occupancy rates) in place for 2,4 and 8 people. The house is mainly rented for groups of 8, but it is one of the few houses in the area that can easily house up to 12. This works well for extended family groups and more recently we have become quite popular for girly getaways! To clarify the family room can sleep up to 5 people (superking and 3 singles). A new addition last summer was a ride on mower which together with our rather adorable Ferguson Grey vintage tractor helps keep the lawns in good shape - 5 acres of ground however are a constant challenge to keep on top of!!
Please remember us at Drumalban should you choose to holiday in Ardfern again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie_Hel...
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Følelse av frihet og komfort
Liked least: Ingenting spesielt
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated and helps our future guests get a feel for Drumalban and all it offers. Should you choose to holiday in Argyll again we would be delighted to welcome you back for another relaxing break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$103
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing