We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cottage in a stunning location - couldn't...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Drumalban

The view of Drumalban on arrival.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of Drumalban on arrival.
The view of the garden and loch from the south facing terrace. Relax or play in the mature secluded gardens.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The view of Drumalban on arrival.
The view of the garden and loch from the south facing terrace.
Relax or play in the mature secluded gardens.
Garden and Loch Craignish in Spring (seen from Terrace).
The living room and view of the kitchen above.
View from the stairs (and yes, the piano is tuned and ready to play!)
Kitchen
Enjoy locally sourced shellfish on the patio.
View from upstairs bedroom
Upstairs Shower Room
Downstairs Master Bedroom (en suite)
The Galley of Lorne Hotel and Pub
Arriving at Drumalban
One of the many visitors to the garden.
View of Craignish Lagoon and the islands beyond.
Erecting a wedding marquee on the lawn below the house.
Sunset over Loch Craignish.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Sahra D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage in a stunning location - couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Nine of us booked the cottage to celebrate my PhD defence.The cottage itself was perfect for our needs: going for walks during the day and spending the evenings in front of the fire with delicious home made food. The kitchen is very well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. The view from the cottage is absolutely stunning and the open plan kitchen/living room ensures nobody is excluded from the buzz. Its the perfect location for outdoorsy folk as there is plenty to do even in winter.

Definitely would come for another stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your helpful comments. It is useful for other guests to know that winter breaks work well at the house, when a day of walking and exploring ends with a cozy night in front of the fire. We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate at Drumalban and would be delighted to welcome you back should you decide to holiday in Ardfern again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful, private location, the spectacular views and the fantastic grounds
Liked least: We loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Drumalban, we really appreciate this, as your comments help future guests to get a true picture of the house and area. If you should choose to holiday in Ardfern again we would love to welcome you back - there are plenty of walks left for yourselves and the "boys" to enjoy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berkshire, UK
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and gardens & views
Liked least: The track leading to the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated and helps our future guests get a feel for Drumalban and all it offers. I'm glad the dogs enjoyed the garden, I wonder if you saw the roe deer that regularly visit? Should you choose to holiday in Argyll again we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace and the view
Liked least: Maybe could have had more hot water (difficult with 10 of us)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Drumalban - we really appreciate this and if you should choose to holiday on the west coast of Scotland again we would love to welcome you back. We know you enjoyed your Christmas barbecuing and might like to know that we know that we replaced the original one this year with a new "super-sized" one! We liked the idea that you could barbecue outside and then dine in front of the roaring log fire in December!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stevo2908
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Precious memories in a wonderful setting.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I stayed at Drumalban with my partner and my extended family, as we accompanied my elderly mother on a weeks holiday in Ardfern. The house provided a wonderful base, with the 1 mile long off road track to gain access, it gave the impression that we were very remotely placed, yet we were only a short distance from the village. The gardens are natural rather than manicured and provide a wonderful playground for children. The house itself is a gem. Yes, the en suite bathroom is a little dated, but its clean and functional. The house was not pristine, as it appeared in photographs, but this was a relief as we had small children with us, which meant we didn't have to watch their every move. The house is clean and well presented and ideally suited to large family groups. My mother is disabled, so the access to the lounge was awkward, but we had two strong chaps to lift her. Otherwise all facilities were accessible on the ground floor. Try the Galley of Lorne pub, just down the track for a friendly reception and a lovely meal. The area is very scenic and peaceful and autumn is a particularly colourful time to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan ground floor and the views.
Liked least: The smokey chimney ( needs a clean)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you. I'm so pleased you had great family gathering- the house lends itself well to large family groups. I noted your comments about the fire and instead of a "when needed" we have switched to a regular programme of sweeping the chimney, which seems to work better all round. Should you choose to holiday on the west coast of Scotland again we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 8, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated and helps our future guests get a feel for Drumalban and all it offers. I'm glad the celebrations for the big birthday went with a bang! Should you choose to holiday in Argyll again we would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 25, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view down the loch - and the special touch of a decorated Christmas tree
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we really appreciate your kind comments particularly since you have had a lot of experience in booking self catering houses. We are keen cooks ourselves and have made sure everything we would need for our own kitchen is in place in Drumalban. As for the view, you're right it is fantastic! We would love to welcome you back to Ardfern again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing