We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveller rating
938
260
55
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
260
55
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice housebeach housephu quocfree cocktailevery afternooninfinity poolthe cottagesoutdoor showeroverlooking the beachmosquito netnight marketlong beachsea viewsao beachrelaxing stayhigh seasonpho
Filter
Updating list...
745 - 750 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed for 4 days after a two week group tour of Vietnam from Hanoi to HCMC. It was the perfect place as a couple to unwind after a hectic and very interesting trip. Quiet and romantic.
Beautiful rooms, lovely beach, nice pool, friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast was really great, the restaurant for dinner or lunch is also good.
We had a wonderful time there. We also liked very much the ecological approach- something that has become more and more important in traveling.

Room Tip: Sea view is very nice
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woefsterinthebeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2011

If your dream hotel is 5* opulence, then Cassia Cottage is not for you. If you’re looking for a vibrant night-life, you’re going to be disappointed.

Cassia Cottage is the perfect place if you want to chill out in beautiful surroundings. The garden is quite outstanding; the beach is beautiful, almost empty, and stretches for miles and miles. The staff, most of whom are the sons and daughters of local farmers and fishermen, are dignified, friendly, polite, efficient and endlessly helpful. (I must mention in particular the much praised Miss Dao and Tom, Alex, Thuy, Sao, and Nimh. There were others whose names I never knew.) The food for the most part is excellent, locally sourced, and there is plenty of choice. You won’t find a better place to unwind and refresh.

I endorse all of the positive comments about Cassia Cottage in the other reviews and I find the few negative comments quite unjustified.

Yes, the Spice House restaurant is more expensive than the night market stalls in Duong Dong, but it’s still a lot cheaper than an equivalent in the UK. You won’t get an overdose of monosodium glutamate at the Spice House either, where the food tastes fresh and unadulterated. By contrast both my husband and daughter got “Chinese Restaurant Syndrome” after eating in an otherwise excellent night market stall.

Ignore the comments about the narrowness of the beach – it’s only too narrow when monsoon wind whips up the waves and when you wouldn’t want to lie on it anyway.

We had a lizard in our room too – I wouldn’t bother to mention it if it weren’t for the negative comments – but we welcomed it, as lizards eat mosquitoes and ants. There was a gecko in the open air dining area – wonderful! Some people might find the numerous butterflies irritating.

We went in the low season, so were prepared for monsoon weather, which we got for some of the time. If you’re bothered by humidity and mustiness, then go in the dry season. It’s silly to complain about that in a hotel review.

Phu Quoc itself is full of interest and relatively unspoilt. However, an international airport is being constructed and there are plans for two 18 hole golf courses. There are major developments along the coast in progress, so GO NOW if you want peace and quiet, as the character of the island will undoubtedly change after the airport is completed.

Just to prove that this is an objective report, I should mention some shortcomings: 1) the wifi reception in the beach house is intermittent and unstable, particularly in bad weather; 2) the water pressure in the showers is rather low; 3) the spicy sea food soup is too spicy for my taste; 4) the staff don't wear name tags so we didn't get to know all their names. Don’t let any of that put you off.

I’m writing this review in a 5* hotel in Hong Kong – bland, impersonal, characterless, all glass and marble. The wifi works perfectly, there is a power shower, there are no lizards or wild life anywhere to be seen, and I wish I were back in Cassia Cottage.

Room Tip: The beach houses have their own terrace so I would highly recommend this in the low season when the monsoon weather may confine you to the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We checked into Cassia Cottage after 3 weeks of travelling north to south from Hanoi.
After the chaos of Saigon my jaw hit the ground when we got to Phu Quoc.
Gone were the thousands of beeping Hondas, replaced with a vibe something akin to Phuket or Lombok in the early days, before they became popular.
We initially chose Cassia because we'd heard the food was good, but it wasnt - it was amazing! In contrast to some of the bigger resorts, the whole place has a feeling of becoming one of the family and all the staff actually look happy to be there. The management are extremely attentive while not being intrusive, and Cassia currently have a pair of Tourism student placements, Thomas and Alex, who are more than happy to explain anything you don't quite get in more familiar terms.
The private beach is just big enough for the full compliments of guests to watch the sun set over the ocean, something you don't get to everywhere in Vietnam.
The rooms are more than spacious enough, and the absence of televisions is something we grew to love. I had an interesting conversation with the owner about the lack of TV's and couldn't agree more with his philosophy, but you'll have to stay there yourself to get the full story. I'd only get it wrong.
About 15 minutes walk away is the town of Duong Dong, site of the nightly Dinh Cau market where you cant eat yourself silly on rows and rows of freshly grilled seafood for the price of a couple of litres of milk back home. You don't head in until 5pm, because Cassia have complimentary coacktails for all the guests by the pool between 4 and 5 pm daily.
Then come back after dark and try one of the home made ice creams crafted with Cassia Cottages own spices, topped with a liqueur of choice. Belgian chocolate and Baileys...
Passionfruit sorbet and Malibu..the list goes on.
We made some great friends at Cassia Cottage and it's on the top of our list as far as places to return ASAP. I hear they are planning to add an international airport to Phu Quoc island one day, so it will be easier to get there. I kinda hope they don't..
Thanks to all the staff and management at CC, we'll see you again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Led00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Cassia Cottage was the final stop on our holiday after staying in Thailand and mainland Vietnam. We stayed at Cassia for 8 nights at the end of August, and had a fantastic time. When we walked through the gates we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

The setting is fabulous - lovely cottages set within a beautiful walled garden, all of them far enough apart for you to feel private - the mature and well kept planting is one of the resorts many features, as is the pool and beach.

We cannot praise the staff enough, very attentive and helpful. The staff work tirelessly to make the place special - and it pays off. Particular mention has to go to Ms Dao and Alex.

Finally the restaurant - The Spice House. We ate here on several occasions, every morning for breakfast, which was great with an excellent selection of food, but also several times for lunch and dinner. The food was the best we had on the island - we would recommend the calamari and fish curry which were wonderful.

If you want a chill out holiday venue with great service, this is the place. We will be back one day soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. It is a great pleasure to be the hosts for a continuing party of family and friends.
Glad you like our afternoon cocktails. The real angle is that we figure if we keep the guests drunk, they can not check out....
Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We booked a chalet for 5 people & were pleasantly suprised. We got Beach House Chalet 1 (there are 2) and both are really fronting the ocean. Think going to sleep at night with the sound of waves thundering on the shore and you would not be wrong. The 2 beach houses each have a huge balcony looking onto the ocean - big enough to fit 4 deck chairs, a wooden table, and wooden chairs. Inside the chalets is a common area/sitting room and 2 bedrooms. The chalets have a high roof with skylights to let in the natural light in the day. But it does get a bit dim at night The rooms are clean, and bedrooms are airconditioned. My only quibble is that the bathrooms are a bit dark at night there is only 1 lightbulb over the sink area (the bathing area is seperated by a bit of glass).

Overall and grounds tidy and well maintained. The setting is a well kept garden, with 2 gates leading to the beach.

The food at the restaurant there is great. The seafood is fresh. We tried a “famous” French restaurant along the road, the food was not as good, and it was pricy and there was no French food. After that we stuck to eating at Cassia Cottage.

The receptionist and restaurant staff are really friendly and helpful, and we had not problem getting them to confirm/change our flights, and arrange for our trips.

Our highlight of the day is the cocktails they serve us at 4 to 5pm. It is normally a long island tea or some pineapple drink with alcohol. Fantastic.

As we booked during the low season, there was a day where there was non stop rain for 24 hours. We were more of less confined to our chalet. I was glad that we did indeed have such a nice place to just hangout and chill.

We had a great stay. I would recommend Cassia Cottage to anyone.

Room Tip: Get the seafront rooms/chalets. Garden rooms might have lots of mosquitos.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews