We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place ROCKS!”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a fantastic time at Cassia. If you go to Phu Quoc, stay here and you won't be disappointed.

The staff is phenomenal, the food was always great (best on the island) and they made every effort to make our stay the best experience.

They scheduled tours for us, we has multiple massages and ate lunch and dinner at Cassia many times - along with breakfast every day.

Our flight cancelled and they helped us regroup and make the best of it.

We'll be back in 5 years and will stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM_Scannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed for 4 days after a two week group tour of Vietnam from Hanoi to HCMC. It was the perfect place as a couple to unwind after a hectic and very interesting trip. Quiet and romantic.
Beautiful rooms, lovely beach, nice pool, friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast was really great, the restaurant for dinner or lunch is also good.
We had a wonderful time there. We also liked very much the ecological approach- something that has become more and more important in traveling.

Room Tip: Sea view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woefsterinthebeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

If your dream hotel is 5* opulence, then Cassia Cottage is not for you. If you’re looking for a vibrant night-life, you’re going to be disappointed.

Cassia Cottage is the perfect place if you want to chill out in beautiful surroundings. The garden is quite outstanding; the beach is beautiful, almost empty, and stretches for miles and miles. The staff, most of whom are the sons and daughters of local farmers and fishermen, are dignified, friendly, polite, efficient and endlessly helpful. (I must mention in particular the much praised Miss Dao and Tom, Alex, Thuy, Sao, and Nimh. There were others whose names I never knew.) The food for the most part is excellent, locally sourced, and there is plenty of choice. You won’t find a better place to unwind and refresh.

I endorse all of the positive comments about Cassia Cottage in the other reviews and I find the few negative comments quite unjustified.

Yes, the Spice House restaurant is more expensive than the night market stalls in Duong Dong, but it’s still a lot cheaper than an equivalent in the UK. You won’t get an overdose of monosodium glutamate at the Spice House either, where the food tastes fresh and unadulterated. By contrast both my husband and daughter got “Chinese Restaurant Syndrome” after eating in an otherwise excellent night market stall.

Ignore the comments about the narrowness of the beach – it’s only too narrow when monsoon wind whips up the waves and when you wouldn’t want to lie on it anyway.

We had a lizard in our room too – I wouldn’t bother to mention it if it weren’t for the negative comments – but we welcomed it, as lizards eat mosquitoes and ants. There was a gecko in the open air dining area – wonderful! Some people might find the numerous butterflies irritating.

We went in the low season, so were prepared for monsoon weather, which we got for some of the time. If you’re bothered by humidity and mustiness, then go in the dry season. It’s silly to complain about that in a hotel review.

Phu Quoc itself is full of interest and relatively unspoilt. However, an international airport is being constructed and there are plans for two 18 hole golf courses. There are major developments along the coast in progress, so GO NOW if you want peace and quiet, as the character of the island will undoubtedly change after the airport is completed.

Just to prove that this is an objective report, I should mention some shortcomings: 1) the wifi reception in the beach house is intermittent and unstable, particularly in bad weather; 2) the water pressure in the showers is rather low; 3) the spicy sea food soup is too spicy for my taste; 4) the staff don't wear name tags so we didn't get to know all their names. Don’t let any of that put you off.

I’m writing this review in a 5* hotel in Hong Kong – bland, impersonal, characterless, all glass and marble. The wifi works perfectly, there is a power shower, there are no lizards or wild life anywhere to be seen, and I wish I were back in Cassia Cottage.

Room Tip: The beach houses have their own terrace so I would highly recommend this in the low season when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We checked into Cassia Cottage after 3 weeks of travelling north to south from Hanoi.
After the chaos of Saigon my jaw hit the ground when we got to Phu Quoc.
Gone were the thousands of beeping Hondas, replaced with a vibe something akin to Phuket or Lombok in the early days, before they became popular.
We initially chose Cassia because we'd heard the food was good, but it wasnt - it was amazing! In contrast to some of the bigger resorts, the whole place has a feeling of becoming one of the family and all the staff actually look happy to be there. The management are extremely attentive while not being intrusive, and Cassia currently have a pair of Tourism student placements, Thomas and Alex, who are more than happy to explain anything you don't quite get in more familiar terms.
The private beach is just big enough for the full compliments of guests to watch the sun set over the ocean, something you don't get to everywhere in Vietnam.
The rooms are more than spacious enough, and the absence of televisions is something we grew to love. I had an interesting conversation with the owner about the lack of TV's and couldn't agree more with his philosophy, but you'll have to stay there yourself to get the full story. I'd only get it wrong.
About 15 minutes walk away is the town of Duong Dong, site of the nightly Dinh Cau market where you cant eat yourself silly on rows and rows of freshly grilled seafood for the price of a couple of litres of milk back home. You don't head in until 5pm, because Cassia have complimentary coacktails for all the guests by the pool between 4 and 5 pm daily.
Then come back after dark and try one of the home made ice creams crafted with Cassia Cottages own spices, topped with a liqueur of choice. Belgian chocolate and Baileys...
Passionfruit sorbet and Malibu..the list goes on.
We made some great friends at Cassia Cottage and it's on the top of our list as far as places to return ASAP. I hear they are planning to add an international airport to Phu Quoc island one day, so it will be easier to get there. I kinda hope they don't..
Thanks to all the staff and management at CC, we'll see you again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Led00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Cassia Cottage was the final stop on our holiday after staying in Thailand and mainland Vietnam. We stayed at Cassia for 8 nights at the end of August, and had a fantastic time. When we walked through the gates we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

The setting is fabulous - lovely cottages set within a beautiful walled garden, all of them far enough apart for you to feel private - the mature and well kept planting is one of the resorts many features, as is the pool and beach.

We cannot praise the staff enough, very attentive and helpful. The staff work tirelessly to make the place special - and it pays off. Particular mention has to go to Ms Dao and Alex.

Finally the restaurant - The Spice House. We ate here on several occasions, every morning for breakfast, which was great with an excellent selection of food, but also several times for lunch and dinner. The food was the best we had on the island - we would recommend the calamari and fish curry which were wonderful.

If you want a chill out holiday venue with great service, this is the place. We will be back one day soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thanks for your kind words. It is a great pleasure to be the hosts for a continuing party of family and friends.
Glad you like our afternoon cocktails. The real angle is that we figure if we keep the guests drunk, they can not check out....
Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We booked a chalet for 5 people & were pleasantly suprised. We got Beach House Chalet 1 (there are 2) and both are really fronting the ocean. Think going to sleep at night with the sound of waves thundering on the shore and you would not be wrong. The 2 beach houses each have a huge balcony looking onto the ocean - big enough to fit 4 deck chairs, a wooden table, and wooden chairs. Inside the chalets is a common area/sitting room and 2 bedrooms. The chalets have a high roof with skylights to let in the natural light in the day. But it does get a bit dim at night The rooms are clean, and bedrooms are airconditioned. My only quibble is that the bathrooms are a bit dark at night there is only 1 lightbulb over the sink area (the bathing area is seperated by a bit of glass).

Overall and grounds tidy and well maintained. The setting is a well kept garden, with 2 gates leading to the beach.

The food at the restaurant there is great. The seafood is fresh. We tried a “famous” French restaurant along the road, the food was not as good, and it was pricy and there was no French food. After that we stuck to eating at Cassia Cottage.

The receptionist and restaurant staff are really friendly and helpful, and we had not problem getting them to confirm/change our flights, and arrange for our trips.

Our highlight of the day is the cocktails they serve us at 4 to 5pm. It is normally a long island tea or some pineapple drink with alcohol. Fantastic.

As we booked during the low season, there was a day where there was non stop rain for 24 hours. We were more of less confined to our chalet. I was glad that we did indeed have such a nice place to just hangout and chill.

We had a great stay. I would recommend Cassia Cottage to anyone.

Room Tip: Get the seafront rooms/chalets. Garden rooms might have lots of mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Cassia Cottage was our last stop on a two weeks long trip from North to South Vietnam. And our 5-nights stay at Cassia's was as pleasant as it could have been. We stayed here from 19 to 24 August. The resort is sorrounded by lovely palms and plants in a well kept and orderly manner. There is a small but nice and warm swimming pool which is accessible until 10 pm (at 4 pm they serve free drinks by the pool). We were greeted by Miss Dao, the real soul of the resort. She is charming and you definitely feel her professional touch in the way things are run at the resort. There are, largely, two types of accommodations, garden view and sea view rooms. Although the garden rooms are nice and secluded for added privacy the sea view rooms allow you to enjoy Cassia in a completely different way especially at sunset and at night when you can peacefully fall asleep by the sound of the waves. The rooms inside are basic but very functional, therefore if you plan to stay in a luxury 4-5 star resort type you better book somewhere else. Note that there is no TV or telephone in the rooms for added peacefulness, however, you benefit from free wi-fi internet througout the resort. Although breakfast is not lavish the jams offered (homemade) are some of the most delicious we ever tasted and the buffet offered is more than satisfactory. We also tried the restaurant in two occasions and unfortunately we were not really impressed although we believe in High Season it performs better. The overall judgment about Cassia is a more than positive one and although the island itself does not offer much Cassia can be the right place to unwind before returning to your stressful daily tasks.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewasroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
23.0 km away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
461 reviews
0.8 km away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 49 in Duong Dong
611 reviews
16.3 km away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
1,209 reviews
0.5 km away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
6.0 km away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: $134 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing