We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I booked a garden cottage room for 3 nights during our trip to Vietnam and Cambodia. We hopped around a bit and stayed in 6 total hotels - all a great experience, but Cassia Cottage made our Phu Quoc leg a highlight that we will remember for the rest of our lives.

The landscaping was extremely charming, and we LOVED the food... a great (not basic continental at all) breakfast spread included with the stay offering a mix of local and Western foods, and an extremely reasonable menu for lunch and dinner (a steal compared to US prices, and executed with high quality). They pulled off a delicious, elegant Christmas Eve dinner on the beach. The staff was very attentive and gave us recommendations on pearl shopping and motorbike rental (both are highly recommended), and we enjoyed our beachside massages. The room and ambiance completely matched the vibe of the island - easygoing and casual - but with a strong attention to detail (cinnamon-scented hand soap that was not cloying!). So wonderfully unpretentious. And we were able to eat breakfast before our early morning flight, which was greatly appreciated.

Thanks to the entire staff, but especially Mark and family for sharing so much with us about the island and the rest of Vietnam. We're already plotting our return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseygirl529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

My son and I stayed for 6 days at Cassia Cottage and were made to feel extremely welcome. The rooms and pools are spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant is delicious. The rooms themselves are a little brick and concrete for my personal liking, I think I imagined more of a trendy beach bungalow. But I really cannot fault this lovely, if expensive, hotel right on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinagirlrocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

You can't imagine our joy when - after a month of dusty travelling - a cheery young fellow (thanks Tom!) walked us through the gorgeous tropical gardens at Cassia and into our own perfect garden bungalow. Our 4 day stay completely erased from our minds the preceeding year of sweaty toil back in London - we switched between swimming pools, shady hammocks, sunset cocktails, massages and lazing on the pristeen beaches - and the silly grins didn't leave our faces once.

Our sincere thanks to Cassia's very personable manager, Mark, who took the time to get to know us (and all of his guests!), and to all his excellent and friendly staff - particularly Miss Dao - who were so happy to please, and knew our names from Day 1. It was this personal service and attention to detail that made our stay at Cassia outstanding.

Mark even lent us his personal laptop overnight so that we could Skype our families on Christmas Day!

We had a fabulous Christmas dinner on the beach, and were genuinely gutted to have to leave, despite having a couple of days booked at the well-known La Veranda next door. What can I say - sorry La Veranda, but you are just missing that personal touch!

We can't recommend this hotel more highly - thanks Cassia!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cessandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Hey, it is easy to make a good experience when we have guests like you. And - You were so desperate to get out of London, we could have had you sleep in the manger.
I do thank you for your kind words and appreciation of our little resort. indeed, it was just right for you, and I see it as simple: we made our resort to make some people completely happy. Those who want more built up with TV should go elsewhere so you can be happy with a compatible group.
When you decide to move out of the city, we have a place for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We really enjoyed Cassia Cottage - brilliant beach, great food, helpful staff, and great maintenance. If the price hadn't been so inflated I would give it 5 stars, but for what we paid, I would have expected something more prolific in terms of room size/layout. Phu Quoc is understandably busy this time of year, so perhaps it is simply the price of admission, but I think we would have been better off with a slightly marginally less impressive hotel at half the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puresummerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thanks for your feedback.
We enjoy looking after details, and you see our staff have fun in the garden and take care of guests with pleasure.
Our prices are high at Christmas: That's a matter of demand. We only take 30% of room requests during those weeks. And there are place for half the price - as well as for double. We try to give value for money, with Air-cons [ though it was cool last week] good amenities, Free Happy Hour at the pool. House guests get ten percent off at our restaurant and--- those less expensive hotels don't have one swimming pool, let alone our two!
we also pay our staff well, with social and health insurance, 8 hour shifts, paid overtime, FOUR weeks vacation a year for those who live off the island, meals, and that all goes in to our figures.
We'd invite you to return in low season, when prices are less, families travel with fewer children and we give a discount for returning guests.
Thanks again for choosing Cassia Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

After traveling through Vietnam, the beach was our treat. We stayed at lovely little guesthouses thoughout our trip, but wanted something a little nicer for our R&R time in Phu Quoc and Cassia was perfect. It reminded me of the Oberoi where we spent our honeymoon in Bali. The reason I loved the Oberoi and in turn Cassia is b/c of the bungalows. It feels so tropical. Being beachfront didn't hurt either. We arrived on Christmas Day to a Merry Christmas message made out banana leaves on our bed and fresh fruit.

PROS:
-Beautiful, well-kept property
-Location was tops. Could walk down the beach for tons of places to eat/drink
-Staff is great. There were two helpful young Aussie guys and an array of the sweetest locals
-Drinks are tasty (loved the Cassia Cream) and complimentary happy hour cocktail
-Motorbike rental on-site
-$20, one-hour Thai massage was great (Keep in mind that you can get a full hour Vietnamese massage. Mostly rubbing and oil application on the beach for $3-$4, which I did, but a Thai massage is more vigorous and requires a skilled hand, so I was happy to pay up)u
-Comfy beds. Mosquito nets are put up during turn down service
-Complimentary internet

CONS - not really cons, just FYIs, really :)
-Water pressure in shower was low
-Food was good, for a resort. I appreciated the Western dishes on the menu after weeks of rice and noodles
-Don't be scared of the road, off the main road that takes you to the resort. Very bumpy and narrow, but rest assured, it opens up to CC
-If you're looking to run on the beach, I'd avoid it. The beach is narrow and the pitch is difficult which makes for a tough run. Stick to running on the main road into town.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4a. Perfect location. Across from reception. Far enough from the pool to avoid kids pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoodlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

After 4 nights at Cassia Cottages, at the end of a four week holiday through Cambodia and the Mekong Delta, we didn't want to leave! We arrived on Phu Quoc Island after a horrendous day of travelling from Kep and were so glad to be warmly welcomed and shown to our lovely room.

Cassia is a lovely green oasis with beautiful gardens and a lovely beach front setting. The rooms are cool and inviting and ours had a lovely private garden - a relaxing and private spot to sit and relax. There are two pools with plenty of sun lounges and umbrellas, though we preferred to swim in the sea which was a lovely temperature with little current. The beachside lounges and umbrellas could do with upgrading and at times were all being used - it is unfortunate that some guests seem to "reserve" them by leaving their towels on the lounges when they are not using them.

The on-site restaurant food was very good, though a little pricey compared to other places nearby, and it can be delivered to your room if you like. The restaurant garden setting is delightful.

The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The ladies who clean the rooms are especially lovely - my husband had a small hammock-related accident and these ladies came from everywhere to help him. The on-site manager Miss Dao is a delightful person and is available day and night if required.

A couple of tips:
Taxis are very cheap, modern and clean - the hotel will call one for you or you can walk to the end of the lane at the back of the hotel to pick one up.
There is a little shop in this laneway with cheap drinks, snacks, etc. The proprietor will also do laundry at a rate much cheaper than offered by the hotel.

Cassia Cottages was by far the most expensive palce that we stayed during our 4 week holiday, but we absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Garden view room 9b was lovely and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeBee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We recently stayed at Cassia, at first we thought we may have made a mistake but after arrival and a warm welcome we were soon happy. We celebrated my birthday there and upon return from breakfast the room was decorated and all the staff wished me happy birthday. My girlfriend was also able to organize a cake too. Very relaxing place and the hotel restaurant right on the beach was great. If you want to chill and enjoy a book on the beach with the odd interruption of a cocktail being delivers I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
23 km away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
509 reviews
0.8 km away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 50 in Duong Dong
689 reviews
1.8 km away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
6 km away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#4 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
1,078 reviews
1.6 km away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#11 of 117 in Phu Quoc Island
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: $101 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing