We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,280)
Filter reviews
1,280 results
Traveller rating
939
261
56
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
939
261
56
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice housebeach housephu quocfree cocktailevery afternooninfinity poolthe cottagesoutdoor showeroverlooking the beachmosquito netnight marketlong beachsea viewsao beachrelaxing stayhigh seasonpho
Filter
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 1,280 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My son and I stayed for 6 days at Cassia Cottage and were made to feel extremely welcome. The rooms and pools are spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant is delicious. The rooms themselves are a little brick and concrete for my personal liking, I think I imagined more of a trendy beach bungalow. But I really cannot fault this lovely, if expensive, hotel right on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinagirlrocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2012

You can't imagine our joy when - after a month of dusty travelling - a cheery young fellow (thanks Tom!) walked us through the gorgeous tropical gardens at Cassia and into our own perfect garden bungalow. Our 4 day stay completely erased from our minds the preceeding year of sweaty toil back in London - we switched between swimming pools, shady hammocks, sunset cocktails, massages and lazing on the pristeen beaches - and the silly grins didn't leave our faces once.

Our sincere thanks to Cassia's very personable manager, Mark, who took the time to get to know us (and all of his guests!), and to all his excellent and friendly staff - particularly Miss Dao - who were so happy to please, and knew our names from Day 1. It was this personal service and attention to detail that made our stay at Cassia outstanding.

Mark even lent us his personal laptop overnight so that we could Skype our families on Christmas Day!

We had a fabulous Christmas dinner on the beach, and were genuinely gutted to have to leave, despite having a couple of days booked at the well-known La Veranda next door. What can I say - sorry La Veranda, but you are just missing that personal touch!

We can't recommend this hotel more highly - thanks Cassia!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cessandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hey, it is easy to make a good experience when we have guests like you. And - You were so desperate to get out of London, we could have had you sleep in the manger.
I do thank you for your kind words and appreciation of our little resort. indeed, it was just right for you, and I see it as simple: we made our resort to make some people completely happy. Those who want more built up with TV should go elsewhere so you can be happy with a compatible group.
When you decide to move out of the city, we have a place for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We really enjoyed Cassia Cottage - brilliant beach, great food, helpful staff, and great maintenance. If the price hadn't been so inflated I would give it 5 stars, but for what we paid, I would have expected something more prolific in terms of room size/layout. Phu Quoc is understandably busy this time of year, so perhaps it is simply the price of admission, but I think we would have been better off with a slightly marginally less impressive hotel at half the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puresummerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks for your feedback.
We enjoy looking after details, and you see our staff have fun in the garden and take care of guests with pleasure.
Our prices are high at Christmas: That's a matter of demand. We only take 30% of room requests during those weeks. And there are place for half the price - as well as for double. We try to give value for money, with Air-cons [ though it was cool last week] good amenities, Free Happy Hour at the pool. House guests get ten percent off at our restaurant and--- those less expensive hotels don't have one swimming pool, let alone our two!
we also pay our staff well, with social and health insurance, 8 hour shifts, paid overtime, FOUR weeks vacation a year for those who live off the island, meals, and that all goes in to our figures.
We'd invite you to return in low season, when prices are less, families travel with fewer children and we give a discount for returning guests.
Thanks again for choosing Cassia Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2012

After traveling through Vietnam, the beach was our treat. We stayed at lovely little guesthouses thoughout our trip, but wanted something a little nicer for our R&R time in Phu Quoc and Cassia was perfect. It reminded me of the Oberoi where we spent our honeymoon in Bali. The reason I loved the Oberoi and in turn Cassia is b/c of the bungalows. It feels so tropical. Being beachfront didn't hurt either. We arrived on Christmas Day to a Merry Christmas message made out banana leaves on our bed and fresh fruit.

PROS:
-Beautiful, well-kept property
-Location was tops. Could walk down the beach for tons of places to eat/drink
-Staff is great. There were two helpful young Aussie guys and an array of the sweetest locals
-Drinks are tasty (loved the Cassia Cream) and complimentary happy hour cocktail
-Motorbike rental on-site
-$20, one-hour Thai massage was great (Keep in mind that you can get a full hour Vietnamese massage. Mostly rubbing and oil application on the beach for $3-$4, which I did, but a Thai massage is more vigorous and requires a skilled hand, so I was happy to pay up)u
-Comfy beds. Mosquito nets are put up during turn down service
-Complimentary internet

CONS - not really cons, just FYIs, really :)
-Water pressure in shower was low
-Food was good, for a resort. I appreciated the Western dishes on the menu after weeks of rice and noodles
-Don't be scared of the road, off the main road that takes you to the resort. Very bumpy and narrow, but rest assured, it opens up to CC
-If you're looking to run on the beach, I'd avoid it. The beach is narrow and the pitch is difficult which makes for a tough run. Stick to running on the main road into town.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4a. Perfect location. Across from reception. Far enough from the pool to avoid kids playing.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoodlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2012

After 4 nights at Cassia Cottages, at the end of a four week holiday through Cambodia and the Mekong Delta, we didn't want to leave! We arrived on Phu Quoc Island after a horrendous day of travelling from Kep and were so glad to be warmly welcomed and shown to our lovely room.

Cassia is a lovely green oasis with beautiful gardens and a lovely beach front setting. The rooms are cool and inviting and ours had a lovely private garden - a relaxing and private spot to sit and relax. There are two pools with plenty of sun lounges and umbrellas, though we preferred to swim in the sea which was a lovely temperature with little current. The beachside lounges and umbrellas could do with upgrading and at times were all being used - it is unfortunate that some guests seem to "reserve" them by leaving their towels on the lounges when they are not using them.

The on-site restaurant food was very good, though a little pricey compared to other places nearby, and it can be delivered to your room if you like. The restaurant garden setting is delightful.

The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The ladies who clean the rooms are especially lovely - my husband had a small hammock-related accident and these ladies came from everywhere to help him. The on-site manager Miss Dao is a delightful person and is available day and night if required.

A couple of tips:
Taxis are very cheap, modern and clean - the hotel will call one for you or you can walk to the end of the lane at the back of the hotel to pick one up.
There is a little shop in this laneway with cheap drinks, snacks, etc. The proprietor will also do laundry at a rate much cheaper than offered by the hotel.

Cassia Cottages was by far the most expensive palce that we stayed during our 4 week holiday, but we absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Garden view room 9b was lovely and private.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeBee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews