We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We (4 of a family) visited Phu Quoc for 4 nights in May end. Cassia Cottage was chosen based on 3 considerations, first, property bang on the beach, greenery around the property and excellence in customer care. We had booked Beach Cottage No 1. However, to avoid getting disturbed due to ongoing repairs, the hotel provided us Rooms 167 and 168 alongwith 166 as a sitting room (all facing the beach, about 15 mtrs away). Must say hats off to the manager Pete Neto, who made sure that we were not disappointed with the changes. He was present in the restaurant to receive us and even offered us a complimentary meal as a welcome gesture. Just about everything in the resort is designed and presented to perfection. Be it the mild fragrance of Cinnamon (cassia incidentally means cinnamon), the cleanliness of the entire property, maintenance of the gardens and in-house vegetable nursery, the aesthetically placed decorative pieces in the garden, the clean beach, the free evening cocktails, besides the creatively crafted menu. The staff is super friendly. We also had the privilege of meeting the owner, Mr Barnett and listening to his stories about how he came to PhuQuoc (pronounced as Phuwok) to trade in Cinnamon and made it his home. We kept a day each of trip by taxi for North, South and Snorkeling near Sao beach. Must visits - Sao Beach, The snorkeling trip as also the day trips, were arranged with help form the resort . Most of the restaurants are walking distance from the hotel. The night market is about a km and half. Rory's restaurant along the beach was great. The sea food in Crab House was great too. Must compliment the staff at reception for a kind gesture. We happened to casually mention to the staff, the news of our sons exam results we got one afternoon. The next morning we were pleasantly surprised with a congratulatory cake for our sons success in exams. This is next level of customer delight, i must say. Felt sad while leaving the place. Wonder when we will visit again.

Room Tip: Beach House 1 and 2. Room 168,167 and 166 (all on first floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SanketPande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

Cassia Cottage is a short ride from the Phu Quoc airport. Once you enter the grounds you are in paradise.
Check in is a very short distance from the rooms. The staff at check in was friendly and the process went more quickly than in some other Vn hotels.

I had the premium deluxe room which I highly recommend . The room is immaculate with a double sink in the bathroom and an outdoor shower. There is mosquito netting around the bed which housekeeping spreads out during the late afternoon. It was not necessary as I did not encounter a single mosquito either in my room or on the nicely landscaped ground. The room has no TV. It also is not necessary. You don't come here to watch TV.
I had breakfast each morning in the Spice House restaurant. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the selections which change slightly each day were tasty and certainly ample.
Each afternoon the restaurant serves a gratuitous cocktail. There are excellent appetizers to accompany in.

From the restaurant you overlook the gorgeous infinity pool and then the beach. The beach is clean and swimming areas are roped off.

Cassia Cottage offers rental motor bikes. We rented one and rode into the town of Duong Dong. there is little to see or do there. To tour the island it is better to hire a taxi.

The Malabar bar, on the beach, serves good drinks and it is pleasant to sit there during the evening.

I cannot recommend Cassia Cottage more highly.

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassiaCottage, General Manager at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Woow

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

I go home slightly emotional that I am leaving Cassia Cottage after an amazing 6 days there. I am unable to pinpoint exactly where the "specialness" comes from; perhaps a combination of simply the greatest staff who cannot do enough for you, the beautiful grounds and its placement right on the beach, with the most glorious sunset imaginable, or the sense that you feel part of a family as the resort is small enough to meet new people but large enough to have all the facilities you need. I was pleasantly surprised by the standards of the new rooms facing the beach after reading other reviews about a lack of (somewhat) consistency between different areas of the resort (I was in 166); they are large, clean and well equipped. I do believe there is refurbishment occurring on the original grounds so am sure that this will bring the other rooms in to line. I felt The Spice House, Cassia's on site restaurant, nailed the balance between western and eastern tastes - I loved the fact that a lot of the food is sourced and grown locally, they didn't use any artificial ingredients and that much of their menu is home made. Whilst the pricing is slightly more expensive compared to other restaurants on the island, it was completely worth it considering the quality and cost of import (much of their Western offering is imported, i.e. Australian Beef). Cassia, for me, was a home away from home but also a place where I have made great memories. I cannot recommend you staying here enough; this is a place you just have to experience if you're looking to get away to Phu Quoc island.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 163-167 if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHR-Speedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassiaCottage, Manager at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Hi LHR-Speedbird

As you like to be known on TripAdvisor! It was an immense pleasure for the team and I to host you here at Cassia Cottage. A big hug from the guys and gals in the restaurant and do follow us on our Facebook page.

See you soon!



Best

manager@cassiacottage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

This place is just beautiful. Incredible views and so relaxing - free daily cocktails brought around the pool were a nice perk! We stayed in one of the larger rooms, which was lovely and the outdoor shower was fab. The staff were great throughout our stay. Breakfast had a good selection and we also ate here for lunch some days. Loved the beach BBQ and there are lots of other places along the beach choose from too, or just a short taxi ride to the town/night markets. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassiaCottage, Manager at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Dear Gemma L

Your 'Perfect' review of Cassia Cottage is much appreciated by the team here. Seems that you stayed here just a couple of months ago and I should mention the The Spice House menu is currently being refresh for a re-launch in July. It will include all the favourites with the addition of some new creations by our Chef Thuy and a few Mediterranean influences.

All the best!


Regards


manager@cassiacottage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived in phu quoc expecting a tropical paradise. The weather was average with rain, wind and thunderstorms.

The pollution on the island was horrible and there was rubbish EVERYWHERE! ! in the water, on the beach and on the road..EVERYWHERE.

However Cassia cottage was amazing. The staff were great, facilities were good and we had a great time whilst staying there. Good value for money in the restaurant and bar - would recommend.

However, I am unsure if I would recommend going to phu quoc island to anyone. It may have been the weather but if you are happy to stay in your resort and not go looking around you will be happy. There isn't much to do on the island.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nivana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassiaCottage, Manager at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Nivana J

Thank you for your review. You have written some very nice lines on Cassia Cottage and the team here, for which we are very grateful.

In regards to what Phu Quoc, as a destination, has to offer, there are many great things happening here, and some as you have pointed out, need to be worked on. The island is a very recent addition to the travel map, less than 10 years ago this was a fishing and pepper production community and since it has been designated a tourist destination, the development has outpaced the infrastructure in ways. The local government, lobbied by the Hospitality Industry, is now taking strides in dealing with the garbage and recycling issues. In a way the carriage was placed in front o the horse, but that is changing. The island also has a number of tourist attractions not to mention diving, snorkelling and squid fishing. I would hope that you return in 2-3 years time and compare your notes then.

Have a good holiday.



Best

manager@cassiacottage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, right by the beach, great pool, excellent rooms, really good food in the restaurant and a bar right by the beach to watch the sun go down. Also hired a motorcycle for the day, which was well worth it.

Minor gripes: could do a better job of offering drinks around the pool & the food at breakfast isn't up to the high standards of the kitchen during the rest of the day. Had an issue with the smoke alarm in my room beeping as if the battery was low - was dealt with very quickly and was moved to another room for the night but slightly concerned that the fix the next day was removing the smoke alarm, so the room didn't have one!

Overall an excellent hotel for the price and would definitely stay there again

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank skybluesi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassiaCottage, Manager at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear skybluesi87

Greetings from Cassia Cottage in Phu Quoc! Hiring a scooter is a great way to see all the sights and discover what the island has to offer. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the beeping smoke detector procedures have been revised. Thank you for the review and see you sometime in the future.


Best

manager@cassiacottage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Just one night there but no other way to describe than wow!. Arrival was quick, smooth, welcoming...person who checked us in escorted us to the room.. amazing room! Ocean view, huge balcony and nice ocean style decor. We went to the pool site, superb people.. nice music, good drinks - do i need anything else?! Well, dinner was... one of the best I have ever had! Taste like home made, served like 6 star restaurant.. couldnt be better - i would recommend new dish - cabbage rolls are more than good...chicken curry and than lava cake mmm, special thanks to Darry who was looking after us.
Due to the lower season breakfast is not displayed as a buffet but dont worry.. their a la carte selection will make every hungry guest super happy! Bread was amazing - like at home!!!
Would love to come back and you know what ? I will do it!!!! Thank l you Cassia Team!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Krzysztof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassiaCottage, Manager at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Krysztof S

Greetings from Cassia Cottage!

There isn't much I can write, a simple 'thank you' for your raving review will suffice. It was a pleasure to meet you both while in-house and trust we will meet again in the future.

Regards

manager@cassiacottage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
23.0 km away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
461 reviews
0.8 km away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 49 in Duong Dong
611 reviews
16.3 km away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
1,211 reviews
0.5 km away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
6.0 km away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: $135 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing