We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Antigua
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, but...”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great location. Beautiful beach. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. BUT, units desperately need updating. Kitchen and living room were uncomfortable and ill equipped. Furnishings were old, wobbly and extremely uncomfortable. Our two bedroom timeshare in 'Caribbean Dreams' Building had a huge balcony but overlooking a busy and loud road.
I would return only when rooms are updated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guccikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    175
    72
    28
    25
See reviews for
147
166
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We just came back from a fantastic holiday in Antigua and we spent 2 amazing weeks at Tranquility Bay. Traveling with a toddler, we found the suites extremely comfortable and spacious with a fully equipped kitchen and a very large bedroom. The room service was good and they came to clean the flat once a day. Also the staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The location is great with a big white sand beach just few meters away and the facilities from the jolly beach (including water sports and tennis) are also included. we couldn't ask more! we also asked for a late check out and we used the room until 7pm at the fantastic rate of USD 42. my only advise is to ask for a flat in the blocks near the beach (either "caribbean dream" or "sunset delight").

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tulip013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We are frequent Caribbean travelers and have been to Antigua several times; English Harbour and Falmouth Harbour a favorite, but the location at Tranquility Bay/Jolly Harbour is superb. We had a penthouse two-bedroom and enjoyed thoroughly the peace and quiet of the resort. The beach and ocean were beautiful; we were there late summer 2011, so very quiet compared to winter months. The staff was gracious and helpful; the daily cleaning service a real plus. Each unit has a kitchenette and washer dryer which made the accomodations very convenient. Centrally located and only a few seconds walk to the beach. Great restaurants in the surronding harbor area as well. Considering purchasing some time share there our experience was so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

It only gets better at the Tranquility Bay!
The water sports are included! We also rented bikes at the Harbour shop and had a blast!
It was the best vacation ever. We are definitely going back. The people at the resort are the best!!! Many thanks to Felmina Davis and Dawne Gomes for making our vacation so special!!!

Room Tip: Get a 2BR. 1BR is tiny!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vnayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We just returned from a week stay at Tranquility Bay in Jolly Harbour. We exchanged a timeshare through Interval International. According to Interval's rating system, this is not a 5 star resort so we weren't sure what to expect, but we were pleased and enjoyed our stay. The Tranquility Bay check-in is just a tiny building, but they do have free Internet access which is nice if you need to check on news from back home. Everyone at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. We used the front desk to book a rental car and a tour to Stingray City & Zip Lining through Pelican Tours. Both were booked without any issues. The front desk also helped us by advising us that we could take the bus to downtown St. Johns rather than attempt to drive and park ourselves. We used the bus and didn't have any problems. In hindsight, we probably didn't need the car as the roads are in poor condition and it is not very easy to navigate around. We should have used that money to book more tours instead of trying to drive ourselves around. But live and learn. Our room was on the 2nd floor and it was a one bedroom unit in the Sunset Delight building which is closet to the beach. Our kitchen was very small and only had a toaster oven and no dishwasher, but the toaster oven worked for some quick meals. The T.V. was also very small and it was in the bedroom only. We also had some drainage issues in our bathroom where we needed to make sure the water in the shower wasn't running full blast or it would flood our bathroom floor. But being steps from the beach made up for these minor annoyances. And the beach is really the 5 star highlight of this trip. It was approximately 100 yards from our room to the beach. This beach was the best we saw in Antigua as it has beautiful blue water, white sand with shells to collect and very few rocky areas. The beach has vendors who try and sell you things, but that adds to the charm of the island and made it easy to get souveniers without leaving our hotel. We booked a dropline fishing tour with a salesman named Plastic Fantastic and a 3+ hour island tour with Myron. And Dawn braided our hair with beads. Both tours were very good. The only drawback with booking on the beach is they are cash transactions rather than charging the credit card so we ran low of cash toward the end of the trip. But there is a supermarket within walking distance from the hotel and they have an ATM machine there. The hotel is also within wakling distance of Jolly Harbour where it was fun to see all the yachts parked at the bay. Jolly Harbour also has some shops and restaurants there, but that area seemed very deserted for much of our stay. It might have been because we were there during the week before Christmas. There is also a closed down casino right in front of Jolly Harbour. If the casino building was in use, the area would seem much more vibrant. But when it is closed and boarded up, the area seems rundown and depressed. Hopefully they can find a new owner for the building soon. We ate most of our meals at Castaways which is right on the beach and had good food, although we thought the prices were high since a burger (albeit a large burger) was $14 US. And a fairly high tax and tip were added to all our restaurant bills. They had a happy hour from 4:30 to 6:30 where beers were $2 US and the tax was waived. Also, the Jolly Harbor Beach Resort that Tranquility Bay is affiliated with is all inclusive and you could purchase day or week eating and drinking wristbands to use there. We did the $27 US drinking band one day. Jolly Harbor Beach Resort also had nightly entertainment. We went to the bonfire show on Monday night at 9:30. It had young dancers and was very entertaining. All in all, it was a peaceful and relaxing trip. Antigua is filled with tree frogs that start chirping every night. We felt safe at our resort and when we saw other beaches on our island tour, we realized we were staying on one of the best beaches. We met another couple who was staying at resort that was 3 years old, but they had to be shuttled to the beach. If I had to chose, I would rather select an older resort on the beach instead of a new resort where you had to be shuttled to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gretchen_ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We spent a week in Antigua. Had a low key, no hastle vacation. The beach is fantastic with off white sand and pretty blue water. Pool and bar on the beach and choice of sun or shade as there are plenty of palm trees. They have free Hobbie cats, wind surfers and kayaks available to use and the bay is a great place to try this out with a steady breeze. Loved it and would go back any time.

Room Tip: thrid floor "deluxe" was big with really big deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mt14494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This was our first trip to Antigua but not to the Caribbean. Although the Suites at Tranquility Bay do not enter the extreme luxury end of the market, the location offers everything you need to have a really enjoyable holiday. On our part this was a 2-week Interval International exchange visit from our home resort in Scotland.

Both the Tranquility Bay staff and the local population extended a warm welcome to ourselves wherever we went. All the tours we booked, both on sea and land, were very well organized, informative, safe and immensely enjoyable.

Tranquility Bay Resort is immaculately kept and the beach so large that at times we felt lost on a deserted island. If you need some shade there are plentiful Palms. The Bay is safe to swim, the sea is a gorgeous nylon blue (even on grey days) and for Tranquility Bay guests there are freely available beachside Hobiecats and Kayaks. Every alternate day we took advantage to practice our sailing skills on the Hobiecats , which are great fun and fairly easy to sail.

Sunset are gorgeous, from time to time we sat down on the beach with newly made friends from the UK, Canada and the USA to enjoy one or two glasses of G&T and or, cool Champagne. The only downside to the beach was the sand flies, which were particularly bad this year. However with a good dose of mosquito spray we kept the blighters at bay.

To actual the apartments, well ours was immense. We had a two bath shower/rooms, a washroom with washing machine and tumble drier, plus a lounge area and kitchen. The kitchen area itself could have had a few more utensils but was adequate for our purpose. The maid came everyday, we had fresh clean towels everyday and the bed linen was changed three times a week.

As to trips out, we took the No 20 bus to St John's for the day- that was fun. We made an inland tour with Pelican Safari's who were very good, and also two Catamaran trips . One to Bird Island which included a beach side BBQ with a max of 20 persons and the other was the Circum-Nav a must do, that included lunch and couple of stops for snorkeling and or swimming.

On food and beverages. We had read and heard poor reports on the Jolly Harbour Hotel food front so we declined the all-inclusive packages on offer. There are plenty of restaurants in the locality of Jolly Harbour, some good, some indifferent. There is also Bolans Supermarket which supplies most things you need. We would recommend the roast chicken on Sundays - most delicious. Be there before noon, before they have sold out.

Overall this must rank as one of the very best holidays we have enjoyed overall

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Servicised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
12.8 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
4.1 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 km away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.7 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.9 km away
Sugar Ridge
Sugar Ridge
#2 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Antigua

Property: Tranquility Bay Antigua
Address: Jolly Harbour, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquility Bay Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility Bay, is Antigua’s only all-suite resort. Located on a breathtaking, mile-long stretch of white sand beach on Antigua’s southwest coast, Tranquility Bay boasts spectacular sunsets, majestic views of Montserrat, Redonda and St. Kitts/Nevis. Spacious suites, large balconies and calm blue waters make Tranquility Bay a haven for those craving peaceful moments away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Create a vacation as relaxing or active as you wish. You’re just steps away from water sports, golfing, tennis, spa, fishing, dining, entertainment, kids club and more. And, we’re just 30 minutes away from the airport and capital of St. Johns. Experience Tranquility Bay and you will never vacation in an ordinary hotel room again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tranquility Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Antigua Hotel Bolans
Tranquility Bay Antigua Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing