We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're definitely going back!”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We were recommended cocobay by a colleague, and will be eternally grateful for such a wonderful recommendation. We went to cocobay for 2 weeks of ultimate relaxation which was impossible not to achieve. The resort is beautiful, clean and spacious, with absolutely everything you could ever want/need. The rooms were lovely, big with a great view. The food was amazing including table service for a 4 course meal at dinner, and the staff were some of the friendliest people I've met abroad, who seenu to go out of their way to help you relax!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saminicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,360 - 1,366 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

The moment I set foot at the resort,I knew I had made the right choice, The atmosphere is what one could expect from resort of a different era; intimate, calm and authentic. Nothing fancy. The property and grounds are well-kept. The view was so amazing from cottage 20. From a woman's perspective, I would have appreciated better lighting and a goog mirror in the room. Also, it would have been nice to have water, and soft drinks in the fridge. The cottages are rustics and some don't have AC. The beaches are stunning and views to die for. Staff is friendly and efficient. I tend to agreed with other reviews concerning the food selection. I personally don't eat cheese and seafood and almost every dish had cheese in it. Everything I ate was delicious and food presentation was impressive. The pasta with mushroom was soo good! Service is prompt and courteous. Starting at 7am, you can sign in for diner. Seatings are limited by in each of the time blocks. Unfortunately, by 7:30 am, all seatings for 6:30,7:00 are gone. This might not be a problem for most but since I was traveling alone, this was inconvenient. During my stay: March 15 to 21, they were installing covers to the new beach beds. This is excellent as it will make the experience more enjoyable. It was cloudy all week I was there but when the sun was out it was scorching. Overall, the resort offered everything I was looking for. It exceeded my expectations. A good vacation is when your needs are met. As this time around, I was looking for an unpretentious, authentic resort with a god beach, amazing views and good food, the resort fit the bill. I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachloverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

just got back from a two week stay at cocobay antigua and what can i say, if u are looking for total relaxation and stunning views then this is the place to go but if you require a little bit of night entertainment then i would suggest you go some place else,dont get me wrong i dont like noisy hotels and that is why i picked this place but the evening entertainment consisted of the same group playing the same songs for about three times a week and then that finshed at 9.30pm the bar also shuts at 11.00 but believe me with nothing to do you are quite ready for bed by this time. The hotel staff are wondeful, they are polite and happy all the time and if you want anything they are more than happy to get it for you. There are a couple of down points when it comes to the food, the selection is very limited, i went with my husband and parents and we are not fussy eaters but unless you like fish and pork u are basically on your own, the evening meals are a joke, especially for grown men when they say a breast of chicken what you actually get is two slices, also the local beer is awful and there is not a pint glass in sight but if you are a spirit drinker you have it made.I dont want it to seem as tho we didn't have a beautiful time because we did but if the hotel would just tweek a few things this place would be able to get at least a 4.5 star rating.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are perfect and absolutley no need for ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah_S_12503915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Amazing service, incredible surroundings with a totally relaxing feeling across the whole resort. Beach is a stroll, and one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been on. There is little bad to mention at all, it was virtually perfect. If I had to gripe, then I would say the place needed an option to also eat more traditional caribbean food. But Dennis' Restaurant on the other side of Ffyfes Beach more than suffices. Throughly deserved *****

Room Tip: Don't buy a plunge pool room, no one uses them. Just get a sea view cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex22P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just spent a week at the Cocobay Resort and had an overall very good experience. Great beach, sand and water. Food was good;had fresh fish every day. Grilled sandwiches by the pool were delicious and a nice alternative to the lunch buffet. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Accomodations were fine. My only complaint is that the resort needs some refurbishing. Beach towels and life jackets are in bad shape. Bed mattress, although comfortable, looked old.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AprilNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had the most spectacular time at Cocobay Resort. It is really a very special place. From the moment you arrive the staff treats you like family. Everyone there is friendly and knows your name. Special thanks to the following staff members who made our holiday so special Phyllis, Saydie, Vincia, Oriel, Sonja and Robert. We had a seaview cottage without a plunge pool and found the accomodations magical. The food was really fantastic. From fresh made omelets made with a smile by Sonja to the lovely lunch buffet to a four course dinner every night. The infinity pools are quite stunning. The beaches are so serene. Chairs , towels and drinks are provided beachside by the ever cheerful Robert. There was entertainment at night with steel drum bands and jazz players.
So if you are looking for a very intimate resort with little cottages on a hillside surrounded by beautiful flowers then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luvnatlparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had a fantastic time at this resort. All the staff took the time and trouble to remember our names which made us feel we were special guests rather than just a number. The rooms were spotless and the food excellent. (I maybe would have preferred more buffets in the evening as opposed to al a carte, but it was excellent food all the same, but then with a small hotel I guess it is easier to do a menu rather than trying to lay on a varied buffet for a small number of guests).
I highly recommend getting a seafront room with plunge pool… it was superb! We couldn't have asked for a better holiday. We would highly recommend this resort and we will return again ourselves at some point in time.

Room Tip: I recommend the sea front rooms with plunge pool and air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,912 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
491 reviews
20.8 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,047 reviews
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
854 reviews
1.3 km away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: $571 - $1,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing