We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,572)
Filter reviews
2,572 results
Traveller rating
1,731
555
164
60
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,731
555
164
60
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco bay mr gore the cottages plunge pool lower pool waterfront suite breakfast and lunch rum punch sheer rocks deluxe cottage our honeymoon paninis lobster sea view plantation house mosquito net buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 2,572 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2017 via mobile

We usually do a vacation rental, but decided to make a change and try this non-chain hotel. Very happy with our choice! The entire experience was great, from the initial booking to our reluctant farewell.

I would recommend booking directly, if you become a member before you book, you get an immediate discount, as well as the perks of a complimentary airport pick up, great cottage location and no supplement for steak, lobster dinners.

The staff are what really make this place, and why we chose it, based on the previous reviews. From the grounds crew right up to the general manager, O'Neil who warmly greets each guest, everyone who works here really cares.

Breakfast is buffet style, which works for us. Lunch can be buffet, daily features or panini by the pool. Dinner is where the kitchen shines. Really well presented a la carte courses, that change daily. Quality spirits and wines available. Nice touches included fruit and sorbet brought around in the afternoon for a refresher.

Pools are lovely, and the beach is gorgeous. Our cottage, Sleeping Indian has an amazing view across the bay to the rock formation for which it is named. Loved it.

And should you choose, though AI, a gratuity to your server, bartender, or housekeeper is, though not expected, genuinely appreciated and never taken for granted.

Hope you enjoy your visit - we certainly did!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank twospotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Hello Twospotdog,

Thank you for your review.

It is extremely gratifying to know that you enjoyed your cottage - sleeping Indian - its location and amazing views, the lovely pools and beach, good food and beverages, and all topped up with afternoon delights. Our friendly staff led by O'Neal our Resort Manager are exceedingly appreciative for having been given the opportunity to look after you.

We too were very happy that you decided on a change. You discovered a "Gem"!!

Do visit with us gain the next time your plans bring you back to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Property good but evening meal always deep fried whatever you order and certainly very limited selection of food. Most staff very helpful ,but only one person working on the beach who was not the most helpful and everything seemed too much effort for him . Despite premium sea front villa view of sea very limited!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Hello Sian66,

Thank you for sharing candid feedback following your recent Cocobay stay. We are truly sorry to learn that you were disappointed and we deeply regret not meeting all of your expectations. It's delightful to know that the property was idyllic and that for the most part our staff members were very helpful. It's obvious however that we need to work even harder to ensure that we provide each of our guest with offerings and hospitable service which they so rightfully deserve.

Once again please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings. Do consider visiting with us again in the future.

Respectfully,

O'Neal
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Check-out: It might seem odd to start a review with the check-out process, but it's worth mentioning because it's so important - it's your final impression of a resort. And top marks to Cocobay for this - our flight was in the evening so we had the whole day there before leaving. Despite this, we were able to have breakfast, lunch, tea and drinks there all day (with no extra charge), and they allowed us to use the showers down at Sheer Rocks to clean up before we headed home. This is a really nice touch as so often once you've checked out of somewhere you are left in limbo with no food, drink or washing facilities. This meant that our last few hours there were really nice.

Food: I'm puzzled by reviews complaining about the food here - we thought it was great value. No, it's not cordon bleu cooking, but it's pretty good. I liked that despite breakfast and lunch being buffet-style staff would still bring you tea, coffee, or drinks from the bar. Breakfast was great - eggs freshly cooked to order, plenty of other hot food, pastries and fruit. It was only busy once at breakfast when there was a small queue for the egg section.

Lunch was good too - we usually ordered one 'special' to share and then supplemented it with the buffet. Often the special was 'inspired' (aka made from) by what they had leftover from dinner the night before - for me this is a sign of a good and inventive kitchen. We had a great lamb burger (kofte lamb and pitta bread) and a really good smoked pork hash with an egg one day. The buffet is solid, with a special mention for the fresh fish cooked to order. Every day the fish varied (shark, marlin, kingfish) and it was all delicious. Plenty of salads, pasta and meat dishes also. You can have a choice of desserts, too - ice cream, waffles, etc.

Dinner again is very good. Portion size for us was nicely judged. Not everything works (baked chicken livers are a no!) but in general it's all pretty good. We had great soups (especially the lobster bisque) and the pasta specials were often very tasty and sensibly made use of leftovers. Service was fast, friendly and efficient. The house wine is nothing to write home about, but it's perfectly drinkable.

Staff: very good. Check-in was a little flustered and busy, but from there on most of the staff were fantastic. At one point our toilet stopped working - we called reception and withing 3 minutes someone popped round and fixed it. Staff working the breakfast, lunch and dinner services were particularly good - they work hard to make you feel welcome and looked after. Of course, the wonderful Mr Gore deserves a special mention.

Entertainment: most nights there was live music, and also some rum tasting. The music was very good in terms of variety and quality - we were impressed. Drinks are fine but not exceptional - the cocktails were ok (not just pre-made sugary mixes) and they were generous with drinks measures.

Accommodation: It's a little rustic and tired, but it's fine. There are no frills in the cabins (well, not in ours!) - but everything is clean. The shower was under-powered but everything else you need (air con, mosquito nets, hammock on the veranda) is there.Bed was comfortable and clean towels and beach towels were provided every day. The grounds of Cocobay are well looked after and it's very beautiful.

Water and Wifi: Our two main complaints. Other reviewers have mentioned confusion about the water situation, and we'd have to agree. It's frustrating because their policy of encouraging you to re-use water bottles by getting them refilled at the bar is an excellent one on environmental grounds. That being so, it would be helpful if they actually explained at check-in how guests can get water. It's really important! On our first day, we were sent round in circles between the bar and reception - once we worked out that you can go to the bar and get water from there it was fine. They supply it from the soft drink gun, so it's cold and perfectly drinkable.

As for wifi: arghhh. Please, just increase the nightly rate and be done with it. Wifi is a necessity these days, no matter your thoughts on whether we should be disconnected from it on holiday. A day rate for it feels excessive and like a rip-off, and the wifi signal wasn't great, either. It's a hassle to set up for individual guests - just increase the price a bit and give it to everyone. Please.

The beach: We really enjoyed it. It was busy but not ridiculous. One warning - the charming palm-leaf sunshades are not totally sun-proof. Nice clean beach, perfect for swimming. We used the kayak once day and also rented a jet-ski. The jet-ski guys and the souvenir stall sellers are fine - they will want to engage with you, but they are friendly and helpful and don't hassle you unnecessarily. We felt that the trips were pretty pricey compared to what we'd pay in Europe.

The pools: really lovely - clean, great views, plenty of sun loungers.

Overall this resort is good value for money, with the attentive and helpful staff and pleasant surroundings and good food making up for the slightly underwhelming accommodation. Keep it up!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Hello Velocireb,

We truly appreciate your detailed and informative review following your Cocobay stay. Thank you for taking the time to share positive comments and constructive criticisms. We are truly committed to ensuring that all of our guests enjoy a great Caribbean holiday at extremely good value for money. To this end, we continue our quest towards meeting and exceeding guests' expectations in every possible way.

As we have always realised, it's the little things that make a big difference. We take customer feedback very seriously as our business is all about "looking after" you our guests. We are listening.......Wifi is now FREE to all Cocobay resident guests and so too is a daily replenishment of bottled water which is placed in your in-room mini-fridge.

Hopefully, you will return to visit with us soon. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Respectfully,

O'Neal
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017

We loved, loved, loved Cocobay Resort! The staff were warm and friendly. The accommodations (our own cabin) were comfortable, quiet and private (and with A/C our room was nice and cool!).
We primarily spent our mornings on the beach under a big shade tree and our afternoons at the infinity pool.
The food was fabulous - both at the resort and at the AMAZING Sheer Rocks Restaurant on property. One of the friends we met had food allergies and the Cocobay staff were very accommodating to her and made her custom meals.
We had some relaxing, couple alone time and we also met some great friends we plan to keep in touch with through FB.
We highly recommend Cocbay Resort. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferAPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Hello Jennifer,

Thank you for your review.

We are so glad to know that you "loved, loved, loved Cocobay Resort" We enjoyed making your honeymoon visit a comfortable and memorable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!!

sincerely,

Manuella
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017

We have reached the end of our holiday and are sad to leave. Staff are very friendly and the ladies at the front desk are great and always happy to help.

The resort is very clean and picturesque.

I emailed ahead to say that my mum might find long walks in the heat a challenge and when we arrived we'd been allocated cottage number 2 which was a great location for us. Also I'm a strict vegetarian ( I'm fairly demanding about food!) but the kitchen has gone out of its way to look after me.

Be aware that you do have to pay for wifi which I was suprised about, but everything else has been catered for so no complaints here

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gail1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuella H, Guest Relations Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Hello Gail,

Thank you for visiting and for your feed back.

Our aim is for complete guest satisfaction and it is re-assuring to read that we came through for you and your Mum. You will be pleased to know that WiFi in now complimentary.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Manuella
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews