We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
742
196
58
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
196
58
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean suite kids club tennis courts east restaurant indigo restaurant jetty bar beach service second bedroom fruit kebabs water sports spa treatments day bed main bedroom beautiful bay lunch and dinner guest services ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We love this place and looking forward to our 12th December visit for 2 weeks. The best hotel for that relaxed feel, boutique feel and worth the money in the Caribbean. Hopefully the standard will be the same as John the Manager last year was fantastic and they really took care of my husband.... we esp love the seperate of beach for kids and adults

Room Tip: Oceanview pay the extra
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kspb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamillaSukumaran, Executive Assistant Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear kspb1234

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments regarding your last stay at Carlisle Bay.

I can assure you that we are still striving for the highest standards in how we look after every guest, and are always looking for ways to ensure the Carlisle Bay experience is special.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your holiday in December.

Kind regards,

Camilla Sukumaran
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Our third time at this breathtaking hotel on the calm Bay. A beautiful picture perfect location with a hotel to match. Incredible food and a real chance to recharge your batteries. Water Sports are superior and you can scuba dive 5 minutes from the hotel. The staff go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Once you stay here it is very hard to find another hotel and location that measure up to this experience. The Carlisle Bay Antigua is a real luxury and a very special place. We are a family of four with two girls 12 and 14. We used the spa, beach, pool, all the restaurants which open up at various times throughout the week plus the main restaurant, Indigo, that is open for all meals. We used the water sports every day and did many scuba dives plus my 12 year old got certified as a diver on this trip with Azure Divers. We also visited the ziplining in the rainforest. One of our best nights was eating at the Jetty Grill eating homecooked Carribean food listening to the Steel Pan band drinking margaritas! We had a three-bed suite on the ground floor of the beach closest to Indigo restaurant and it was gorgeous - just like having a beach house on the sand with incredible room service and the entire suite was air conditioned which was bliss and could not be detected. Pure luxury!!

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank CaliLondonFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, Hotel Management at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Dear CaliLondonFoodie

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us at Carlisle Bay, we are delighted that you all had such a lovely holiday.

We are also really appreciative of such positive feedback and will share your comments with the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Carlisle Bay one day.

With best wishes,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

My husband, 14 year old son and I just came back from Carlisle Bay after celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. First, I want to begin by saying that it will be a long review but I want to write what was really nice about the resort and what needs improvement.

Pros:

Beautiful clear, calm beach with the convenience of nearly every suite being close to the water and having great views from most every room at the resort.

Most of the staff at the resort; especially Michael, from guest services, Urania (helping to reserve our chaises on the beach) and Reba (for doing a great job ensuring our special anniversary dinner on the beach went smoothly even though the bugs threatened to ruin it). Special mention needs to be made of Camila, the new manager, who had just arrived the week before we vacationed at the resort. She was truly exceptional in making sure our concerns were addressed and handled promptly. Camila was truly concerned our special celebration would be one we would enjoy and remember; going above and beyond the call of duty to make it happen. Brendaline, the resort concierge, was extremely helpful to my husband in arranging for a surprise private photography session at the resort and for the delivery of a lovely, fresh flower bouquet for me to carry on our anniversary day photo shoot.

The food at Indigo was good and not as expensive as others have mentioned in their reviews. East was exceptionally good! We were pleasantly surprised too that most restaurants outside the resort in Antigua were priced similarly to nicer restaurants in the Miami area where we live. Afternoon tea was a lovely perk to our stay and it was great to have an afternoon snack included in the price of the room in addition to breakfast. Pizza by the pool was also very good!

Food was served wherever we wanted it (in our room, the room terrace, the beach etc) at no extra cost.

I do have to mention that when we booked our holiday we thought the second room where my son would sleep would have a T.V. and it did not. My husband went to the front desk and spoke to management and the next morning a television set was set up in my son's room. The engineers completely rewired the cabling in our room to ensure T.V. reception in both rooms was good. That was truly amazing! Only at a Four Seasons hotel would that level of service happen! Thank You!!!!

I loved that beach staff would offer guests cool fruit popsicles and frozen jello fruit treats while lounging on the beach. That was a nice touch to cool off!

Cons:

The bathroom was horribly outdated and filthy. In fact, I have never gone to a resort anywhere, regardless of price, where I have had to complain to management about the uncleanliness and smell (like that of a dirty public toilet) of the bathroom . The shower floor was extremely slippery and bathtubs were too tall to get into or out of, and thus unusable. Showers should also have included hand held showers for guest use and to help staff clean the showers more effectively each day. Very poor lighting in the bathrooms. There are no extractor fans or A/C vents in bathroom area making it very hot in the bath after showering. Bathrooms are dark, even during the day, as they only have some very sad, old wood jalousie windows that can't be opened because privacy would be compromised. Mold smell is a problem too! Management did send someone immediately to clean the bathroom once we brought to their attention.

The room wood doors, door jambs and closet doors where also very nasty and old. The doors were so badly painted that you could see every brush stroke that was ever given to them throughout their very long life. Interior room doors (especially bathrooms) need to have locks for privacy.

Chaise lounges on the beach should be reserved, for each room each morning by beach staff, so that each guest remains near their room for convenience. We had to complain to management as some guests from across the resort were taking the chaises in front of our room. Management addressed the problem immediately and this was no longer a problem once we brought it to their attention.

Mini bar refrigerators were dirty which was disappointing as everything inside the refrigerator was complimentary.

There was a horrible smell of mold in the second room where my son slept. This may have been due to the ugly, wood jalousie windows inside the room needing to be closed at all times as then privacy would be compromised, if they were opened. After about 2 days of moldy smell, my allergies started acting up and I was forced to take allergy pills to control my sniffles and sneezing until we left.

At dusk, the sand flies come out to feed! The resort provides bug spray but even with it on you get bitten.

After about 9 pm, everything goes quiet at the resort and pretty much everywhere on Antigua, so expect to go and relax in your room quite early as nothing much happens after that time.

DVD movies were offered for viewing in the privacy of your room and we went to the front desk to check some out. Only 2 movies from the list were available. Of those two, both movies had deep scratches that prevented us from completely seeing them as the movies froze midway.

I noticed some beach/cleaning staff had ripped and dirty uniforms.

At Indigo and East tables were not ready even though we had made reservations. We were made to wait standing 20 minutes until someone acknowleged us and asked us our name. This was due to the hostess/host busing tables instead of waiting at the front to greet guests and take them to their tables.

A few times food orders at Indigo and with breakfast were incomplete or food orders were incorrect.

A few times, breakfast request menus were not provided at turn down and we had to call the front desk to get them.

Beware of the fresh water bowls on Villa terraces used for cleaning sand off your feet. I saw cleaning staff using the mop bucket used for cleaning the room and bathroom floors to pour fresh water into these bowls each morning.

Our last name on the special menus for our Jetty dinner were misspelled.

We did manage to enjoy ourselves even though some things didn't go as smoothly or as we expected them. Maybe, we'll give Carlisle Bay a second try in the future to see if things have changed for the better now that the resort has a new management team onboard. The new team seems to be very motivated to correct the resort's existing problems.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the beach but first floor terrace rooms are steps from the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GJS811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, Hotel Management at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Dear GJS811,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Carlisle Bay. Your comments are truly appreciated and we are so pleased that you had a nice holiday.

We are most encouraged by your positive feedback and your direction with areas where we can improve. We will share the review with our team and congratulate Camilla, Brendaline, Reba and Uranaia for making a difference to your stay.

I am sorry that we were unable to provide the service we should at certain times, and that the accommodation was not up to standard. Please be reassured that we are taking these points very seriously and each one will be addressed thoroughly.

Once again, many congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary - we really enjoyed looking after you and hope to be able to do so again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Our last day at Carlisle Bay - we thought we had found paradise in St Lucia last year but Antigua and the Carlisle Bay are right up there. We are yards from the beach with access to water sports on one direction and a lovely swimming pool just yards away in the opposite direction. The staff are very friendly and the food is excellent wherever you decide to dine.

Well done CB - you get a big plus vote from us.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Andy N,

Thank you for this wonderful review of your stay at Carlisle Bay!

We are so glad to see that you felt completely at ease and comfortable during your stay, and that you enjoyed our corner of the world.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

The service, the setting, the weather and the food are all outstanding. You will struggle to find fault with this paradise on Antigua

The staff go above and beyond to make your stay phenomenal. They all know you by name and will go the extra mile to help you. My husband forgot his SD card for our go pro so Johanna from reception travelled into town in her own time to purchase one for us. Special mention to Tony on reception who also made sure our stay was extra special for our young children too.

The kids club has excellent facilities and go on outings including the local animal
Park and Hobie Cat sailing. Our 5 and 2 year old boys were well catered for.

The beach is truly breathtaking with beach bed service for drinks and food.

Michelle at the Spa ensured my yoga and Pilates sessions were catered for and the instructor was great.

The food at all the restaurants was fantastic with special mentions for East and Indigo on the beach. High quality food and presented beautifully.

The pool is ideal for the kids.

The water sports and tennis on offer is also fantastic so all activities and interests can be well looked after.

Special mention to Winston who is truly a cheerful happy fellow to meet and greet you as you arrive and depart.

Visiting in low season also ensures a lovely quiet experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carlisle Bay and would highly recommend you experience it for yourselves!

My only comments to Carlisle Bay to improve would be to have more vegetarian choices on the menus and to stop using plastic straws

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlisleBay, Manager at Carlisle Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Caroline A,

Thank you for sharing your recent Trip Advisor review of Carlisle Bay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our team especially Johanna, Tony, Michelle & Winston as I know your it will serve as added motivation for them. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will inspire our team to continue to strive towards outstanding customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.


Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews