We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

obviously got this for a bargain at the time via Groupon ,golf + BB for £93 for us both . An absolute bargain .
On arrival , there happened to be the European Blackball (pool) Competition ongoing in the hotel which added to the buzz of the place . Our room was spacious ,clean and very presentable.
The golf course is challenging ( was to me even with 2 birdies + 3 dings ). Weather was dry which always helps to enjoy a round even though there were tediously slow players in front of us.
But I have to say the food was devine and to be totally honest I don't believe I have ever had a better breakfast .
Added bonus there is no drone of passing traffic , it's just so peaceful and relaxing
A special thanks to young Zoe in the Golf Shop

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mealiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Starting with the Good the holiday homes are very spacious ours had 4 bedrooms, main bathroom & en-suite, nicely kept and where we were was ideal for young children being gated and with a large play area and what appeared to be activities for Children. The Lounge bar at the hotel was really good always fairly busy but with attentive and rapid service and reasonable prices. The staff at the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. The leisure centre was quite nice if a little tired in appearance and had the unusual requirement that you had to wear a swimming hat in the pool available with the resorts logo for just €3!

Now the less good.... In the house it appeared that there had been a change of mind between building and furnishing. The furniture was cheap and did not really fit the house. There was a huge dining area with a pitiful dining table which could only just accommodate 6 at a push. There were however 2 other chairs for those who failed to find a place at the table. Kitchen was fine if basic but the cutlery was mix and match, there were only 2 mugs and a limited amount of crockery. It took a while to get the boiler working and the dishwasher also had a mind of its own. 3 Double sofas and a small tv with some form of satellite TV.

We took the early bird menu in Fredericks restaurant. The food was very poor quality and whilst I accept that rib of beef has more fat than normal cuts there was substantially more fat than meat. I would suggest the Longe bar in preference or indeed the Riverside restaurant down the road in Tullow.

Overall it seemed the best place locally to stay and the golf course looked spectacular. I think it is very reasonably priced and would be especially good for those with young families. But I would avoid maximum occupation.

But that it just my opinion!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Hi, Have just returned from a week stay at the brill mount wolseley lodges with 3 kids age 7-16, and def will be back! We stayed in the Manor (16 lodges) directly beside the hotel, which was so accessable and very quiet- all had a great nights sleep. If you are travelling with small children and wish to avail of the playground, you would be best advised to book into the lodges called 'The PARK' (50+ lodges). They have good sized enclosed back gardens (manor have small garden- not enclosed). We timed the walk from the playground to the hotel 7mins!! You cannot see the hotel from these logdes, they are positioned just as you enter the grounds of the hotel-but you cant have it everyway I GUESS!! Mary the supervisor very welcoming and has lots of great advise and a pleasure to deal with. The pool is a good size , but female changing facilities cramped, especially at peak times (really busy)!! Food in the hotel fab- my only gripe would have been with the bar staff on our first nt. We went to the bar for food and at 20.50pm ( we were hoovering waiting on a vacant table prior to this), were told very sharply by a staff member that we had 10mins to place our order. On handing us the menus (reluctantly), we were asked within a couple of mins to place an order. I asked for a few mins as we hadnt had chance to see it properly. She was back within a minute and said 'now are you ready to order' in a very sharp tone. Food was good, but no one came back to check if it was okay, and we were presented with the bill and not asked if we wanted either dessert or coffee- very poor for a 4 star hotel. Needless to say we were put off eating there any other night during our stay!! A big pity as otherwise restaurant , pool staff, staff on reception so helpful ad friendly. Kids had plenty to do- we didnt avail of the kids club, but only because we went touring during the day. Once again, houses great so big and spacious-loved them!! Peaceful and relaxing stay- thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shaz01131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

i stayed here for a weddin the hotel is fabalous however i thought the houses were big but found spiders in the bed and woke up to bite marks and scracthes on us the car park was covered in flys to then one of the people that i stayed with got locked in the bedroom after locking the door for 5 hours and she was pregnant the rooms are huge and with lots of space i think if i was goin to this hotel again i would stay at the hotel

Room Tip: think stay in hotel pay that extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soniaw977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Excellent hotel, beautiful bedrooms, clean and properly serviced. Food was super, tried the main restaurant and the lounge. Wine list was superb. Breakfast had a great selection daily. Staff were very helpful and lovely to deal with. Lovely pool and well equipped gym. Didn't make use of the golf course. Highly recommend and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munsterlassxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We've just returned from a weeks stay at these homes. Definitely not what we were expecting. On arrival the house was quite grubby. The seats of all the chairs were worn, dirty and damaged. The bedrooms were dusty. Overall the place could do with a makeover. We booked the house as we have 2 teenagers and the kids activities were stated for 4-16 year olds, not so. On asking at reception what was planned for teens was told there were not enough numbers to warrant running activities for teens. How they could tell this is unbelievable as there were no opportunities for the teens to gather. Then they put up a very small notice for the teens to meet that day from 3-5 (when most people who are on holidays would be out and about.) Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conaldavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conaatatu, General Manager at Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

Further to your stay with us here at The Mount Wolseley Hotel Spa & Country Club,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. We consider all comments received to be an invaluable source of information on guest satisfaction. I assure you that all comments play an immeasurable part in our goal to achieve only the highest level of service.

Firstly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience or annoyance caused as a result of our shortcomings. At the hotel we have 66 holiday homes and during the off peak times a maintenance programme is put in place. From your details it is impossible for me to know and therefore comment on the decor of the house and I can only presume that the house you stayed in has not yet received its winter maintenance. However, I was particularly interested in your comments regarding activities for your children. Both on our own website and on that of our booking agent, Dream Ireland it clearly states that activities take place Monday to Friday and end for the season on 31st August. While organized activities may not have been available for your children there are a number of on site activities that your children could have used, such as Spa Treatments for teenagers, leisure centre, gymnasium, free use of bicycles, tennis court, basketball courts, Wii Stations, Xbox, Pool, Snooker and Golf.
Once again sincere apologize for and inconvenience caused and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club in the not too distant future.


Yours sincerely,




Odhran Lawlor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stayed in the hotel lodge in August 2010. Nice hotel and lodges well located close to hotel with playground facilities for kids. Whilst the location and standard of facilities was good overall - there were some areas of the hotel which could do with a lick of paint not least the pool. Also our lodge could have been cleaner on arrival hoover did not work, mop was in a poor state and the brush could have been cleaner. Good value for money but no excuse for dropping standards of cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DamianD2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullow
0.6 km away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
14.3 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
36.2 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
The Millrace Hotel
The Millrace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bunclody
3.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
16.1 km away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
15.0 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club

Property: Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club
Address: Ardattin Road, Tullow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Tullow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tullow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Wolseley Holiday Homes at Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing