We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, food and stay”
Review of Hotel Zum Loewen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zum Loewen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Duderstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Hello. We live in the US but held our Anniversary Party at the Zum Loewen in Duderstadt. We could not have been happier with the ease of the party planning from a distance (they arranged for virtually everything and our guests had a blast!), the quality of the food and our hotel room (we got the junior suite). The hotel is impeccable in every respect, the staff are diligent/ accommodating, and the location is perfect-right in the middle of a beautiful part of Duderstadt but very quiet, with tons of shopping at your doorstep. Yes its on the pricey side for the area, but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Junior suite was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2015

My family stayed at the Zum Löwen for 10 days while my wife was getting medical treatments in the town. We all had a wonderful experience from start to finish! I have stayed at hundreds of hotels over the years across the world, and I have never had such a wonderful experience staying at a hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly, thoughtful, responsive and helpful. Reception, restaurants and cleaning staff all helped make our stay as comfortable as possible. They had wonderful recommendations for things to do with kids, places to see and helped with any request we had (including calling around to find more baby formula for us). The rooms were immaculate and amazingly quiet. Breakfast was outstanding. The best example for the top level of service was after we checked out of our rooms, their hotel staff went in immediately, checked that we hadn’t left anything, and caught me to give us our passports that we had left in the hotel safe! They saved me a 6 hour round trip back that evening. Thank you everyone at the Hotel zum Lowen for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We had a great memory at a business dinner, invited by OttoBock staff.The restaurant is closer to five stars, the menu is exquisite, the waiters young students doing a start in hospitality jobs, which is great.The restaurant atmosphere can be improved with some music or with a special coaching for the kitchen dishwash worker, too noisy for special moments.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank alienturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

This old but completely renovated hotel in town center is great value for Money.
The Sauna and pool are nice fancy but very relaxing.
Our room in a very high standard but bed a bit hard.

Only problem is what are you going to do in this small town ?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebra_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014

Came here as a stop over on an business trip. Did not expect such a high standard. It must have been recently refurbished. Hotel is really perfect - nice rooms with big TV screens (only downside perhaps - no carpets from memory). Good spa area with some historic artefacts. Dinner was also good. Friendly staff who lent me their own personal iPhone charger. Obviously very quiet as in the middle of town. No hesitation to recommend.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

The hotel is a real gem. The staff, restaurant, rooms and leisure facility are superb. Duderstadt is a historic pretty town with a pleasant walk around the perimeter. My visit was for business in the area but I would love to re visit with my wife for a long weekend break.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Stayed here for 11 days whilst having medical treatment nearby, was not sue what to expect as price very reasonable compared to this quality of hotel in the UK. Arrived at 10 pm after a very long journey desperate for food. The lovely receptionist & kitchen staff (about to close) said food was not a problem and served us a wonderful hot meal. That positive customer service continued for 11 days.
We were upgraded without request to a lovely apartment, lovely homely bar, restaurant & breakfast/function room. All very clean, quiet street despite being in the main picturesque square. Spent quiet afternoons in the fantastic spa & pool, or cycling & walking around this pretty small city. A special mention for Yvonne who served our breakfast most days, so friendly and with the biggest smile ever! Look forward to returning when required, would thoroughly recommend this hotel, management & staff.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karen1962_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duderstadt
3.4 km away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Teistungenburg
16.1 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel am Vitalpark
Best Western Plus Hotel am Vital...
#1 of 2 in Heilbad Heiligenstadt
164 reviews
24.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Gottingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hotel zum Kronprinzen
Hotel zum Kronprinzen
#1 of 1 in Fuhrbach
21 reviews
2.0 km away
Ferienparadies Pferdeberg
Ferienparadies Pferdeberg
#3 of 4 in Duderstadt
3 reviews
25.1 km away
Hardenberg BurgHotel
Hardenberg BurgHotel
#1 of 2 in Norten-Hardenberg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Loewen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Loewen

Address: Marktstr. 30, 37115 Duderstadt, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Duderstadt
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Duderstadt
Price Range: $181 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Zum Loewen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zum Loewen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing