We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning Setting!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

From the minute you step onto the island you are greeted by huge smiles and friendly service. We were on our honeymoon and Mel & Justin generously upgraded us to a Palms Villa which was absolutely stunning and such a nice gesture! The outdoor bathroom with two showers was absolute luxury! Although it rained for most of our stay (it was a very wet "wet season") there is still plenty to do. The mountain hike was spectacular and highly recommend to everyone! All the staff are so great and my wife and I really loved the values of Blue Lagoon Resort as it was big on supporting the village through the Scholarship Foundation which you can donate to. Food was great, would however recommend more selection on the lunch menu as it gets quite repititive after 5 days. Other than that, can't fault the place. Great management, thanks again guys!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caleb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
There are newer reviews for Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon and Octopus resort in February 2012. Both are beautiful, if I had to choose between the two I would pick Octopus. Blue Lagoon resort is quite new, the building are pristine and the gardens need to grow a bit and really bed in.

We stayed in a Garden Villa which was very spacious and clean, the outdoor shower is lovely. Mosquito nets are not supplied in the room so we did get bitten. We also found little red bugs in our bed on the first night (not bed bugs). The food is very good, there is an ample breakfast buffet and we picked our choice of lunch from a menu. Dinner is served at a set time either buffet style or to tables so you are sharing food with the rest of the table, there is plenty to go around!

We experienced the tail end of a typhoon which meant there was a strong sea breeze and a fair bit of rain. This resort suffered far more than Octopus due to its location and the staff not tidying up here. The sea out the front was brown and washed up rubbish, seaweed and other detritus on to the beach. The front of the resort up the beach was kept clean and tidy by the staff there and looked nice, our resort beach front looked like a bomb had hit it! The staff at our resort only seemed to tidy up (raking up leaves, tidying away seaweed from the beach front and mending the broken palm umbrellas outside the beach front villas) just before the manager returned.

We love snorkelling but couldn't snorkel out of the front of the resort and after asking the dive guy arranged an additional snorkelling trip, many thanks. The additional snorkelling trips should automatically be put on if the sea out the front is murky. The snorkelling equipment is included on the snorkelling trips and is otherwise FJ$5 a day. We also decided to do the hill walk unguided and the staff very helpfully pointed us in the right direction, I highly recommend this for the stunning views but make sue you take your mosi-repellent!

This is a nice resort only spoilt by the lack of care in cleaning up the beach/resort pathways. If you are going May-Nov (guaranteed good weather) this resort would be lovely, if you are going during the rainy season go for Octopus resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SouthernLassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blbresort, Manager at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

We do feel for this reviewer as they did experience some unusually bad weather during their holiday to Fiji, which would be disappointing when you have been looking forward to your trip for a long time. Due to numerous tropical depressions, Fiji experienced the most rain in the last 40 years and due to the wind direction at the time, our lovely resort did get battered for a week or so. However this is only 2 weeks of bad weather compared with 50 weeks of sunshine and blue skies in the Yasawa Islands!

Due to the weather conditions the resort hired 4 additional staff members to work full time raking and cleaning the beach over this period and we are surprised that this guest did not see them each day. It is a relentless job to clean a 500m long beach constantly for 2 weeks, and our staff did an exceptional job removing the debris from the ocean and keeping the beach safe for our guests.

We scheduled as many activities as possible during this time, but unfortunately were unable to run snorkelling trips on some days as there was absolutely no visibility in the water throughout the region. We did however run alternative activities to keep our guests entertained during the rainy days such as fijian cooking demonstrations, Voi Voi weaving classes, movie afternoons, traditional fijian medicine lesson, coconut demonstration and basket weaving just to name a few.

We are glad that this reviewer thought that our Garden Villa was 'lovely'. We are disappointed that they did not let us know about finding insects in the room, as our housekeeping staff would have been happy to hang a mosquito net over the bed for them. We also provide mosquito coils in all of our villas and complimentary insect repellent is available in the restaurant for guest use.

As the many photos from other reviews will show, the beach at the Blue Lagoon really is an incredible place and we hope this reviewer will not let the unfortunate weather on this one occasion prevent them from coming back in the future to experience the amazing Blue Lagoon at it’s finest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and traveled as a herd with 3 children, 5, 9, and 11 and Grandma , so a wide age range to cater for. What you see on the website is exactly what you get here and more. From the moment we arrived the people at Blue lagoon went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The beautiful bar staff ,Mar her brother Luke, Amele, Ane, Em, Rio, and Paula made the effort to introduce themselves and learn all our names and spend time chatting and making sure our kids had a great time.Thanks guys. We had the lobster dinner and the dining staff (hopeless romantics the lot of them!) made it special. We had no problems with the food and the kids loved their meals, though I am sure the kitchen would be flexible if needed.Yes, the location is exquisite but it truly is the people that make this resort such a pleasant place to while away the hours. The emphasis on hospitality and customer service is a real stand out and you never feel like you are a bother or anything is too much trouble. No jaded and bored staff here! The easy going friendliness of the resort is a credit to the management team , Justin, Mel and Tim. We stayed in the Garden bure with its great open shower, lodge rooms and the brilliant Palm Villa. All rooms were immaculate and great value with the Palm Villa a real treat (highly recommended!) The lovely ladies went well beyond when cleaning the rooms and found Grandmas glasses which saved a lot of heartache. Thank you Kara. The kids and Grandma went on the cave trip, snorkeling trip, village visit with Vatalili and had a blast. Theresia showed the kids roti making and weaving, such a lovely lady! Hanging out on the beautiful beach , swimming, and snorkeling kept the kids busy as did ice cream cones! The marine life was great snorkeling , and better coral was easily seen further out. The coral is better and easier to access at octopus resort, but there is less fish, so fairly even I guess. We spent some time diving with Josh (such a reassuring man, thanks Josh!) and divemaster Jim, with Walu and kini driving the boats. We always had something different on each dive, wrecks, sharks, coral and marine life, caverns etc. Thanks guys. We can recommend this resort after dragging the kids around the world for work and holidays as great relaxing, beautiful place with the friendliest people on earth.
Vinaka Blue Lagoon!

Room Tip: Palm Villa for a touch of luxury, canopied bed, huge open shower, a/c private garden courtyard, sep...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciccos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

How to describe the perfect island getaway?

Starting with the location that is more or less the definition of your secluded South Pacific paradise? Having the wonderful Blue Lagoon right on your doorstep, the islands scattered on the horizon? Walking 500 m along the beach and having a small strip of sand nestled between some rocks all for yourself? Hiking up the hill for half an hour and being rewarded by a breathtaking view over the lagoon and the Yasawas?

Or starting with the staff that is the loveliest I ever had the pleasure to meet? To be greeted with your name from first day on, to actually meet them on the same level - not as master and servant but as friends to share this lovely spot of earth? To sit around the Kava-bowl in the evening, hearing Fijian songs and talk about anything that comes to your mind? (greetings to the band boys!)

Don't miss out the wonderful food, -everything's- fresh here, the pancakes and muffins in the morning, all the locally grown vegetables, the freshly caught fish and seafood, even the bread that comes with the soup in the evening - homemade. Water from a dispender is free!

The dorm is being cleaned daily and the best I've ever had (no bunk beds, actual wooden beds with fresh linen, towels, a nightlamp plus additional power plug for every bed, climate control!), the communal bathroom is also spotlessly clean (Hot water in the shower is hit-and-miss, but hey, it's your tropical island getaway and not the Ritz Carlton). During my stay I only heard good things about the villas either!

Given this is a small island right in the middle of nowhere the activities are nice as well - snorkeling trips or boat trips, hikes, basket-weaving, crab-race, Survivor-game - don't expect 24/7 action-programme, but there's always something to do! The guests are a lovely mix of backpackers, families with kids and elderly couples, I didn't meet anybody who didn't have a great time here!

Internet is available on a computer in the reception (fortunately no Wi-Fi, therefore not a dozen tech-zombies sitting in the bar in front of their notebook), Laundry service is cheap and so is the Babysitter-service (a lovely lady!).

Go there, you won't regret it! I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Best dorm in Fiji and probably one of the best worldwide - lodges (twin rooms that share the bath wi...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sascha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I have travelled quite a lot, never have we seen such beauty and friendliness from staff willing to do what it takes to make you happy. The weather during our stay was fantastic although sometimes overcast the temperature was fine and humidity nothing like the main island of Fiji. We did all the activities on the board that sits in the main dining area winning the International Crab race and participating in the Survivor contests, we relaxed and swam. The location is exquisite and has diving right off the main beach, in fact we did around 3 hours of swimming a day. The Limestone cave trip is worthwhile make sure you have a waterproof camera. The meals were fantastic with Chef Vi and his team doing amazing things to keep everyone happy. As a chef I am sometimes really disappointed with places that just don’t put in any effort, well here they go the extra mile. The management is a great team, Justin and Mel do a great job and I especially would like to thank Tim for making it just that bit more special. Sav behind the bar, and all the ladies that cleaned our room over the stay were all warm and friendly. I think you could bring children here and let them roam, swim and get up to mischief. If we had children we would take them along. We caught the Yasawa flyer out and was amazed at the scenery, we also caught the seaplane out and was blown away again by the sight. We met some great people on the trip and all of them agreed that this was a very special place. Do the activities, do the walks and talk to the mix of people and you will have a great stay at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort. Many thanks to the staff Justin and Mel, Tim, Sav, Vi, Luke and the Fisherman for such a great holiday. See you in 2014!

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were a Garden Villa and a Beachfront Villa. Both were exceptional. But if you...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaneRollas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

As the previous reviews suggest, this place is a paradise. The rooms are beautiful, the resort is stunning, excellent beach, the food was great, the trips were fantastic. And the hotel managers were super friendly. This was our favourite place in the six months of travelling.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxyGravets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Very beautiful place for excellent holiday. Me and my diving group we were very happy here.
I recommend :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiversDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacula Island
38.5 km away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
736 reviews
9.5 km away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
3.7 km away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya
536 reviews
0.2 km away
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
#2 of 3 in Nacula Island
189 reviews
36.3 km away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Beach Resort

Address: Nalova Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nacula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Price Range: $116 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new stylish resort located on one of the best beaches in the Yasawas. Right in the middle of the blue lagoon region, the resort is located on a white sandy beach with all tide swimming. Dive shop, snorkeling and many activities. Open planned restaurant and bar with espresso bar and live music nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Lagoon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Beach Hotel Nacula Island
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort Fiji/Nacula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing