We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Oarsman's Bay Lodge(Nacula Island)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$483
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Botaira Resort(Naviti Island)
US$273
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Paradise Cove Resort(Naukacuvu Island)
US$543
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Naqalia Lodge(Waya Lailai)
US$99
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel(Lautoka)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gold Coast Inn(Nanuya Lailai Island)
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Yasawa Homestays(Nacula Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
1,148
249
60
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
249
60
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villacave tripfishvillage visitsea planethe yasawa flyerdive shopoutdoor bathroomcrabcommunal diningmeal planlocal villagekids clublodge roomsshark diveyasawa islandsnacula village
Filter
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon and Octopus resort in February 2012. Both are beautiful, if I had to choose between the two I would pick Octopus. Blue Lagoon resort is quite new, the building are pristine and the gardens need to grow a bit and really bed in.

We stayed in a Garden Villa which was very spacious and clean, the outdoor shower is lovely. Mosquito nets are not supplied in the room so we did get bitten. We also found little red bugs in our bed on the first night (not bed bugs). The food is very good, there is an ample breakfast buffet and we picked our choice of lunch from a menu. Dinner is served at a set time either buffet style or to tables so you are sharing food with the rest of the table, there is plenty to go around!

We experienced the tail end of a typhoon which meant there was a strong sea breeze and a fair bit of rain. This resort suffered far more than Octopus due to its location and the staff not tidying up here. The sea out the front was brown and washed up rubbish, seaweed and other detritus on to the beach. The front of the resort up the beach was kept clean and tidy by the staff there and looked nice, our resort beach front looked like a bomb had hit it! The staff at our resort only seemed to tidy up (raking up leaves, tidying away seaweed from the beach front and mending the broken palm umbrellas outside the beach front villas) just before the manager returned.

We love snorkelling but couldn't snorkel out of the front of the resort and after asking the dive guy arranged an additional snorkelling trip, many thanks. The additional snorkelling trips should automatically be put on if the sea out the front is murky. The snorkelling equipment is included on the snorkelling trips and is otherwise FJ$5 a day. We also decided to do the hill walk unguided and the staff very helpfully pointed us in the right direction, I highly recommend this for the stunning views but make sue you take your mosi-repellent!

This is a nice resort only spoilt by the lack of care in cleaning up the beach/resort pathways. If you are going May-Nov (guaranteed good weather) this resort would be lovely, if you are going during the rainy season go for Octopus resort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SouthernLassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blbresort, Manager at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

We do feel for this reviewer as they did experience some unusually bad weather during their holiday to Fiji, which would be disappointing when you have been looking forward to your trip for a long time. Due to numerous tropical depressions, Fiji experienced the most rain in the last 40 years and due to the wind direction at the time, our lovely resort did get battered for a week or so. However this is only 2 weeks of bad weather compared with 50 weeks of sunshine and blue skies in the Yasawa Islands!

Due to the weather conditions the resort hired 4 additional staff members to work full time raking and cleaning the beach over this period and we are surprised that this guest did not see them each day. It is a relentless job to clean a 500m long beach constantly for 2 weeks, and our staff did an exceptional job removing the debris from the ocean and keeping the beach safe for our guests.

We scheduled as many activities as possible during this time, but unfortunately were unable to run snorkelling trips on some days as there was absolutely no visibility in the water throughout the region. We did however run alternative activities to keep our guests entertained during the rainy days such as fijian cooking demonstrations, Voi Voi weaving classes, movie afternoons, traditional fijian medicine lesson, coconut demonstration and basket weaving just to name a few.

We are glad that this reviewer thought that our Garden Villa was 'lovely'. We are disappointed that they did not let us know about finding insects in the room, as our housekeeping staff would have been happy to hang a mosquito net over the bed for them. We also provide mosquito coils in all of our villas and complimentary insect repellent is available in the restaurant for guest use.

As the many photos from other reviews will show, the beach at the Blue Lagoon really is an incredible place and we hope this reviewer will not let the unfortunate weather on this one occasion prevent them from coming back in the future to experience the amazing Blue Lagoon at it’s finest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and traveled as a herd with 3 children, 5, 9, and 11 and Grandma , so a wide age range to cater for. What you see on the website is exactly what you get here and more. From the moment we arrived the people at Blue lagoon went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The beautiful bar staff ,Mar her brother Luke, Amele, Ane, Em, Rio, and Paula made the effort to introduce themselves and learn all our names and spend time chatting and making sure our kids had a great time.Thanks guys. We had the lobster dinner and the dining staff (hopeless romantics the lot of them!) made it special. We had no problems with the food and the kids loved their meals, though I am sure the kitchen would be flexible if needed.Yes, the location is exquisite but it truly is the people that make this resort such a pleasant place to while away the hours. The emphasis on hospitality and customer service is a real stand out and you never feel like you are a bother or anything is too much trouble. No jaded and bored staff here! The easy going friendliness of the resort is a credit to the management team , Justin, Mel and Tim. We stayed in the Garden bure with its great open shower, lodge rooms and the brilliant Palm Villa. All rooms were immaculate and great value with the Palm Villa a real treat (highly recommended!) The lovely ladies went well beyond when cleaning the rooms and found Grandmas glasses which saved a lot of heartache. Thank you Kara. The kids and Grandma went on the cave trip, snorkeling trip, village visit with Vatalili and had a blast. Theresia showed the kids roti making and weaving, such a lovely lady! Hanging out on the beautiful beach , swimming, and snorkeling kept the kids busy as did ice cream cones! The marine life was great snorkeling , and better coral was easily seen further out. The coral is better and easier to access at octopus resort, but there is less fish, so fairly even I guess. We spent some time diving with Josh (such a reassuring man, thanks Josh!) and divemaster Jim, with Walu and kini driving the boats. We always had something different on each dive, wrecks, sharks, coral and marine life, caverns etc. Thanks guys. We can recommend this resort after dragging the kids around the world for work and holidays as great relaxing, beautiful place with the friendliest people on earth.
Vinaka Blue Lagoon!

Room Tip: Palm Villa for a touch of luxury, canopied bed, huge open shower, a/c private garden courtyard, sep 2nd bedroom. Gorgeous!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciccos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 29, 2012

How to describe the perfect island getaway?

Starting with the location that is more or less the definition of your secluded South Pacific paradise? Having the wonderful Blue Lagoon right on your doorstep, the islands scattered on the horizon? Walking 500 m along the beach and having a small strip of sand nestled between some rocks all for yourself? Hiking up the hill for half an hour and being rewarded by a breathtaking view over the lagoon and the Yasawas?

Or starting with the staff that is the loveliest I ever had the pleasure to meet? To be greeted with your name from first day on, to actually meet them on the same level - not as master and servant but as friends to share this lovely spot of earth? To sit around the Kava-bowl in the evening, hearing Fijian songs and talk about anything that comes to your mind? (greetings to the band boys!)

Don't miss out the wonderful food, -everything's- fresh here, the pancakes and muffins in the morning, all the locally grown vegetables, the freshly caught fish and seafood, even the bread that comes with the soup in the evening - homemade. Water from a dispender is free!

The dorm is being cleaned daily and the best I've ever had (no bunk beds, actual wooden beds with fresh linen, towels, a nightlamp plus additional power plug for every bed, climate control!), the communal bathroom is also spotlessly clean (Hot water in the shower is hit-and-miss, but hey, it's your tropical island getaway and not the Ritz Carlton). During my stay I only heard good things about the villas either!

Given this is a small island right in the middle of nowhere the activities are nice as well - snorkeling trips or boat trips, hikes, basket-weaving, crab-race, Survivor-game - don't expect 24/7 action-programme, but there's always something to do! The guests are a lovely mix of backpackers, families with kids and elderly couples, I didn't meet anybody who didn't have a great time here!

Internet is available on a computer in the reception (fortunately no Wi-Fi, therefore not a dozen tech-zombies sitting in the bar in front of their notebook), Laundry service is cheap and so is the Babysitter-service (a lovely lady!).

Go there, you won't regret it! I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Best dorm in Fiji and probably one of the best worldwide - lodges (twin rooms that share the bath with the dorm) are a good alternative for couples. Villas are amazing, providing a huge open-air-shower - Garden villas maybe provide a bit more privacy than Beach villas (having the public - the main path - only in front of them, the Beach villas have the path behind them and the beach right in front)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sascha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I have travelled quite a lot, never have we seen such beauty and friendliness from staff willing to do what it takes to make you happy. The weather during our stay was fantastic although sometimes overcast the temperature was fine and humidity nothing like the main island of Fiji. We did all the activities on the board that sits in the main dining area winning the International Crab race and participating in the Survivor contests, we relaxed and swam. The location is exquisite and has diving right off the main beach, in fact we did around 3 hours of swimming a day. The Limestone cave trip is worthwhile make sure you have a waterproof camera. The meals were fantastic with Chef Vi and his team doing amazing things to keep everyone happy. As a chef I am sometimes really disappointed with places that just don’t put in any effort, well here they go the extra mile. The management is a great team, Justin and Mel do a great job and I especially would like to thank Tim for making it just that bit more special. Sav behind the bar, and all the ladies that cleaned our room over the stay were all warm and friendly. I think you could bring children here and let them roam, swim and get up to mischief. If we had children we would take them along. We caught the Yasawa flyer out and was amazed at the scenery, we also caught the seaplane out and was blown away again by the sight. We met some great people on the trip and all of them agreed that this was a very special place. Do the activities, do the walks and talk to the mix of people and you will have a great stay at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort. Many thanks to the staff Justin and Mel, Tim, Sav, Vi, Luke and the Fisherman for such a great holiday. See you in 2014!

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in were a Garden Villa and a Beachfront Villa. Both were exceptional. But if you want something special get the beachfront.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaneRollas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

As the previous reviews suggest, this place is a paradise. The rooms are beautiful, the resort is stunning, excellent beach, the food was great, the trips were fantastic. And the hotel managers were super friendly. This was our favourite place in the six months of travelling.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxyGravets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews