We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Castello di Gaiche is quiet, comfortable and in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Swimming pool
Gaiche
Indications to Gaiche
The church in Gaiche
The apartment
Entrance of the building
Entrance of the building - stairs
Entrance of the apartment
Stairs
Details
View from the room
Details
The bathroom
Details
Toilette
The origin of Gaiche
View from the room
The old map
Map to arrive to Gaiche
View of Castiglion Fosco from the garden
The old tower of the Castle
The old entrance of the Castle
Furniture in the swimming pool
Our gazebo in the share garden
The garden with the gazebo
Lunch in the gazebo
The garden
Sunset view
The sunset - view from the room
Details of the common area
Around Gaiche
View of the castle
The Oratorio of San Bernardino in Gaiche
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Piegaro, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
RodP231
1 review
“Castello di Gaiche is quiet, comfortable and in a stunningly beautiful spot hilltop - a great place to relax.”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Castello di Gaiche is in a lovely quiet position on top of a hill and easy to reach from Rome or Perugia airports. It is one of a number of apartments in a historic building - a castle no less - and the conversion has retained much of the character of the old building without compromising comfort or practicality. The grounds are pretty and there is an excellent swimming pool surrounded by vegetation. The only criticism we had of our apartment was that it felt 'cluttered' with a lot of decorative objects such as dolls and artificial flowers which would not be to everyone's taste. But apart from this and one of those shower heads which refused to stay in position the facilities are very good and as a family of three we found it easy to cook and feed ourselves when we wished to. We felt very welcomed there and I would recommend it strongly to a couple or a family with small children. Our English neighbours were very friendly too. We were able to visit some lovely places such as Assisi, Orvieto, Piegaro and Perugia, gems of Umbria all within easy reach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2017
Thank you Rod, hope to see you again in Gaiche.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visionabr...
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Live like a king/queen in your own castle for a week or two!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in this lovely, cosy apartment which was one of a few apartments contained in a beautiful, ancient castle in the lush Umbrian countryside.
We had shared use of a large garden complete with garden furniture and a wonderful, large swimming pool which was a short walk from the castle.
The position was atop a hill, giving amazing views of the surrounding fields and villages.
The apartment itself was well equiped and beautifully furnished.
My only two criticisms were that it was lacking a kettle.(An essential in view of the number of British guests.)
Luckily I took my travel kettle!
The other problem we had were some unwanted guests in the shape of hornets which were nesting under our bedroom window!
Daniela, the owner made sure the nest was seen to as soon as we mentioned the problem but we still had the occasional visitor afterwards.
Maybe moquito nets on the bedroom windows would help avoid the problem?
Overall, would definately recommend as a place to stay for a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, swimming pool, garden and cosiness of apartment.
Liked least: Lack of kettle, hornets.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of accommodation
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility and the views
Liked least: The hairpin bends on the steep drive to and from the castle.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views and quiet
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vero749
Monnetier Mornex
1 review
“Fantastic place! Beautiful Castle, amazing views, peace and tranquillity”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed at Castello di Gaiche with our 2 children. The castle is beautiful, the pool fantastic for the children and the appartment very well equipped, we didn't need to bring anything !! It is a great base to visit the North of Umbria and Tuscany, as it is just on the border of the two regions.
Thoroughly recommend it ! Great place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22marcoge...
Turin, Italy
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing