We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
381
209
72
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
209
72
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar italian restaurant main restaurant all inclusive hotel restaurant manager shared pool direct access to the pool sister hotel evening buffet the bus tennis courts head waiter pool side per day all inclusive package a la carte end of september
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 699 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2018

I will dive straight in and outline what l believe to be the small, but no less important negatives and they are but few. We were located in the row of rooms 401 to 423 which also had a row of shared swimming pools which was just an add on luxury for us but sad to say the surrounding grass was in dire need of a mow and many of the patio slabs were weed infested and more to the point broken. Furthermore, adjacent to the rooms and pools is a large open sided " exercise " building with 2 tennis courts by its side and if you care for peace and quiet, do not venture into the aforementioned rooms. All day long heavy base beat music is pumped out for the numerous keep fitters which also overspills onto the tennis courts. Not what l paid for. However, the hotel as such lives up to its reputation in producing a bountiful selection of food of high culinary taste which was indeed a delight for an all inclusive hotel and hard to find as a rule. Exemplary service from all the staff at all times and it is quite evident that the management has invested heavily in staff selection and training, which , dare l say it , should be expected from a 5 star rated hotel. How many times have we all experienced and reported a few problems and queries in various hotels only to find a lack in follow up ? Not this hotel by any means l assure you. As for the overall site itself, clean from top to bottom and the public rooms a relaxing ambience. The spa was a little disappointing in that the pool etc was too cold for any length of enjoyment and perhaps the reason for scarce numbers of visitors. Finally, it was gratifying to be in a hotel where the English were in a minority and if you like mixing with mainly nordics and Danes, this is the hotel for you.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Barnaby R,
Thank you very much for choosing to spend your summer holidays here with us and for your kind words.
We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay here with us.
The management and the staff of our resort area already informed about your feedback.
It will be our honor if you give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

Excellent stay in a lovely hotel. Friendly efficient staff from first checking in Michaelis was helpful and knowledgeable; to the staff in the restaurant who were friendly, efficient and helpful - ably supervised by Antonis; and the staff around the hotel were always there with a smile.

Our room was excellent with direct access to a pool shared between just four rooms. The pool water was cold (as seems the norm in Mediterranean hotel pools). The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

Food in the restaurant (self service) was excellent with plenty of choice - fresh fruit, vegetables and a wide range of choices of cooked food at each meal. The restaurant was not too big so the ambiance was good. I suspect in season there are more seats outside and the place is busier but when we visited the restaurant was never full.

The bus to Chania town runs every 15 minutes or so and the bus stop is on the main road a few minutes walk from the hotel and takes 40 minutes to reach Chania along the coast road. Cost each way is 2.80 (Euros) and the return bus leaves from the same stand at the bus station. Kolymbari is about half an hours walk (or again you could take the bus). The hotel is a little isolated but being near the bus stop and the frequency of the buses makes this a good location if you want a quiet holiday away from nightclubs and nightlife.

the hotel is trying to make an effort and save on plastic so there are plenty of places around the hotel to refil water bottles with mineral water rather than just using them once and throwing them away.

Wine and drinks are served to you in the restaurant and topped us as required. The bar serves local wines, cocktails and beers as part of the all inclusive package.

A lovely week in an excellent hotel - even with the weather not being great and there being plenty of rain - that didn't spoil our holiday to this area of Crete.

Room tip: Rooms with private pool access get the morning sun only.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SuefromCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear SuefromCarlisle,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to spend your summer holidays here with us.
The environment protection is one of our top priorities during our resort’s operation. For that reason we keep the existing methods for the environment protection up to date and we try to find new ways to improve them. We are very proud when our guests participate in this effort.
We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

Previous reviews showed how thjs hotel does not manage numbers and so like our 5 couples taken to sister hotel ""5 minutes away ""in the end was over 10 miles away in heavy traffic
.
Inferior rooms like a block of flats on the hillside

On our return the next day given similar rooms to booked and free room drinks but spoilt our anniversary

Could havr had some info on walks in fact put off by staff supposed to be health note.but not everyone wants to do circuit walking running

They missed the plot and have got to manage numbers and stop repeating failures see previous events

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Ray V,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us.
Firstly we would like to apologize for this one night relocation to our sister hotel due to a technical failure, and for any inconvenience this situation caused to you.
However we have done our best in order to compensate you and we hope that you had a pleasant rest of your stay.
We hope that you will give us a second chance to seeing you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018

Stayed at this hotel for a week in October. Sea view from our 1st floor room was very good. Swimming pool was just right depth. Pebble beach was awkward to walk on, but all free sun loungers and parasols available. Self service meals were good, plenty of variety both of meats, fish & salads. Staff were very good, Christina in Reception was very helpful, and a big thank you to Jannis, a Director of the hotel, for sorting a very serious problem we had, nothing to do with the hotel, but as there were no holiday reps from Broadway Travel available, Jannis came to our rescue.

Room tip: You pay for what you get. I went sea view, some went pool side, also with a sea view. B & B, B,B,& EM, Full Board, or All Inclusive.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Keith B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us.
We are happy to read that all of our facilities and service were satisfied your needs.
As you notice, we are always doing our best in order to provide a personalized service and care to each of our guests.
We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

Ni I’m mr Neil Collison , Cavo Spada was just perfect. My wife and I stayed in room 610. Over looking the sea we could not fault this place. So clean and tidy. Food fantastic. Nice people looking after you. Not to mention Christina and Katerina. Who were always keen to help with a lovey smile . The pool was excellent. Very relaxing lots going on. Keep fit if you wanted to. Fish. And. Meat. BBQ s too. Highly entertainment. We fell in love with the place and would love to go back. Kind regards Neil.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mr. Neil Collison,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for all of your kind words and compliments!!!
The management and the staff of our resort wish you all the best and we are already looking forward to seeing you again!!
Best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews