We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,538)
Filter reviews
1,538 results
Traveller rating
992
388
102
42
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
992
388
102
42
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool asian restaurant cretan breakfast al fresco pool bar main restaurant animation team piano player star hotel hotel area main pool beautiful hotel special thanks small children kids club dress code big smile
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,538 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2018

Just got back from this wonderful hotel, opened 6 years ago, but you would think it opened this year. The cleaners are very thorough cleaning the rooms every day.
Great Buffet selection, changes every day. Waiters and waitresses were very professional and on the ball.
Receptionist, porters and concierge were very knowledgeable and very helpful.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room tip: Overlook the pool
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emiliopanayi2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avra_Management, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your brief but praiseworthy review.


It is well-known that vision is “We always care’’ and reading your review we seem to have delivered on this promise from the time you arrived to the time you departed. It is really satisfying to hear that you have been particularly impressed with our aftercare and cleanliness as well as with the range of meal options. Please be assured that your candid comments will be shared to the entire team.


We would like to thank you once again for your wonderful review and recommendations and hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you to our premises again next summer!


Warm regards,
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a week - hotel was great, clean, well managed. The room was spacious and cozy. The bathroom was lacking some towel hangers and mount for shower head was pretty low. Food was delicious and choice was big. As a non smokers we wished there was an outside place where smoking was prohibited - only way to avoid smoke during dinners was to stay inside. Staff was professional and kind. Overall - still a great experience.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vvltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avra_Management, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Dear guest,


Thank you so much for sharing your thoughtful observations about Avra Imperial Hotel with TripAdvisor community. It is gratifying to read how much you enjoyed yourselves and recognized all the effort we put into providing high cleanliness standards and an exceptional service and assuring a memorable stay to all our guests. Your constructive comments will be mentioned to our management team.


We do hope we can welcome you back to Avra Imperial Hotel, in order not only to meet but if possible to exceed your expectations.


Warm regards,
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

Top Hotel
Absolutely the Best. Now , one could argue that what is best for one is not the same for another . I guarantee you will NOT be disappointed. Affordable . Right by the beach . No need to take extra towels or even toiletries . You will find anything you need right there and very affordable . Beautiful Hotel , Beautiful people.
We met so many gorgeous , helpful staff that we could talk about each and everyone one of them just nice things. Thank you guys at Avra Imperial from Antoni, Ksenia, Spyro, Jimmy at reception (what a team)
VOULA at the hair salon (tops)
Evita and your fresh smile every morning at breakfast . The guys at the lunch bar and and the girls at the night bar and at the spa (what a Spa) and the cleaning staff, so many of you.
Everyone of you made our stay memorable.
Yuuummy yuuummy food‼️ Recommend to try all the restaurants at the hotel.
We were there last week of September and the weather was still warm .
A NUMBER ONE FOR A HOTEL.
Not your usual 5star resort that is too big or too much going on . Relaxing , Sexy , Friendly but not overbearing.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sugababe242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

We had a wonderful time at Avra Imperial early in May, in a standard double.

The room was spotless on arrival and every day, after a visit by the kind housekeeping staff. The bathroom is well equipped and spacious. WiFi was excellent - actually the first time in a large resort where it has been this good. Should you like it, you can bring your Apple TV or Chromecast as the TV has a HDMI outlet easily available.

The staff was very forthcoming in general, didn't have any bad experiences. Special thanks to the young man at the beach and the hostess in the restaurant who gave us the biggest smile twice a day. The man at the rental car desk handles everything perfectly, as isn't always the case when renting a car abroad.

The beach was well kept - we didn't stay near the pool but everything looked as it should be.

Situated nicely in Kolymbari with a few good restaurants, it combines quiet surroundings with everything you need close by.

We found the food excellent, and if you want a more local experience don't hesitate to have breakfast every day in the Xatheri restaurant: much more calm and more local cuisine.

But although everything was very good and you should definitely book your holiday here, we won't be coming back. This is mainly because the hotel is filled with families with very young children. It looks like a great place for them: lots of animation, details like a lower buffet for kids are a nice touch, but if you want peace and quiet you couldn't find it here: screaming children in the restaurant and at the beach, practically all day. We know we didn't book adults only so we don't hold anything against the hotel, but it's worth mentioning.

So if you are a couple and all you want is peace and quiet, I would recommend going elsewhere. If you don't mind an abundance of children or if you are a family, book righjt away.On the other hand, I think small changes would have made a big difference: an 'adults-only' part of the terrace, a quiet part on the beach or at the pool...

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomverf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avra_Management, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire Avra team, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at our resort with the rest of users of TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your praise for our staff members, as they work daily with lot of enthusiasm in order to turn our guests’ stay into an unforgettable experience.

Having said that, considering that Avra Imperial is a family friendly hotel the number of families should come as no surprise. Indeed there are several quiet areas ideal for dining, relaxing and entertainment such as Xatheri Restaurant, the beach Bar and the lounge bar.

It would be a great pleasure to see you again in the future and have the chance to provide you a romantic and pleasant stay.


Warm regards,
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

We came here in May for 7 nights and we had a lovely stay here!
The food in the buffet restaurant was always good with a big selection, some of the staff in here were brilliant, but there were some who weren’t always friendly, and would take a long time to bring drinks and clear plates. When they were setting the tables I quite often got a chair smack me in the back which they didn’t apologise for!
The Italian restaurant was amazing and we loved Nola!! She couldn’t do enough for us!!
The Blue Dong restaurant was okay, but the staff in here were arguing with each other and not very friendly, our food was cold when they brought it out too, they took it back and brought it out cold again!
The pool bar was very slow and forgot our drinks entirely once, the staff were friendly though.
The bar at night was very slow, Vicky was great but she was one of the only waitresses serving!
The rooms were clean and spacious, we had a private pool which was lovely! There was a faint smell of drains towards the end of the holiday but we could deal with it! Also we were meant to have a deluxe double and we had 2 twin beds pushed together, again we didn’t complain as not a huge issue, but not what we booked.
We travelled with my 4 month old niece and the room was set up with a cot and there were bottle making facilities.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank C09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avra_Management, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Avra Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for effort and time you put in reviewing Avra Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

Avra buffet is indeed exceptional as it features so many options that all tastes may be covered and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it! It is also gratifying to read that you appreciated the hard work of Avra team, which is always on hand to assist.

Nevertheless, your kind remark about the performance of our staff and your feedback on Blue Dong Restaurant is essential for the improvement of our services.Please rest assured that we will most definitely attend to the points you raised, including the sewer system, with the appropriate departments, in order to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. Last but not least, it is truly unfortunate that your request for a double bed hasn't been addressed in a timelier manner, as we would have arranged it accordingly.

We hope to see you again in our resort during your next visit in Crete.


Warm regards,
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews