We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Made to feel at home, lovely stay at these...”
other travellers have booked this property
Complete Villa, Apartments suitable for family's and friends holidaying together.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Complete Villa, Apartments suitable for family's and friends holidaying together.
The Pool with a Sea View Through the Gorge. Shower/Wet Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Complete Villa, Apartments suitable for family's and friends holidaying together.
The Pool with a Sea View Through the Gorge.
Shower/Wet Room.
The Pool, with Mountains and Olive groves in the distance.
A Fine Day for Building Sandcastles at Kastelli Beach
Spring rain in Afrata from the Balcony.
A Trip around Chania Harbour.
One of the relaxing, reading areas.
A Generous Lounge and balcony.
Curious goats above Gramvousa look for a free lunch. 20 minute Drive.
walking to the famous Gramvousa beaches 25 minutes drive.
Gramvousa famous Beach
Pool Lights On. time to relax with a G and T.
The Rodopos Peninsular from Polirhinia.
Gramvousa Sun Set
Group Booking.  Early morning Tia Chi
Mind and body in harmony
Bedroom with Patio Doors leading onto the large Balcony
Lunch at the 3000 year old Olive Tree and Museum, Ten Minutes from Robins Nest
Visit the Olive Tree said to be the oldest in the world, aged between 3000 to 5000 years
Local Kolimbari Market, fresh fish,vegetables and Greek linen every friday.
Locally grown vegetables and fruit.
Fresh Fish, ready too Barbecue for your Evening Meal
The Bar-b area
Back again, Really loving there holiday
New Gardens on the Terrace
Plaza Paradise Restaurant, kolimbari harbour. 5 minutes drive
Home made bread on the premises
Sun going down at the end of another day
See you all next year
Picking figs in the gardens
Flying your kite at Naya Beach
Great days round the pool
Lazing round the pool in the morning
Castle at ancient aptera
Views from ancient aptera
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kolymbari, Platanias, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LYNDA1502
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Made to feel at home, lovely stay at these apartments”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just got back from staying at Robin's Nest Apartments. Sue and Robin made us feel so welcome and could not do more for us. The apartment was lovely and very, very clean and a fantastic view from our room over the pool and beyond to the lovely views across to the sea. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed.

Sue and Robin recommended a local Taverna in the village and also another 1 in Koylmbari called Edem which is excellent.

We chose to have the transfer service and they were waiting to pick up up on arrival and took us back to the airport, thank you.

The Breakfast were excellent and we had a different second course each day after the fresh fruit (from their garden fruit trees, very nice) yoghurt, cereal, fruit juice, coffee and Toast. The pancakes, cakes, biscuits and homemade breads and Jams are delicious, thank you Sue! Robin's service at breakfast was great.

We recommend these apartment to anyone who wants a stunning quiet location. 5 minutes drive to Kolymbari if you want more activity in the evening.

Thank you Sue and Robin and we hope to see you again.

Lynda and Mick

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and made to feel at home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and your welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11Steven1...
Great Bentley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Scenic and outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Beautiful scenery, you could walk for hours through the mountains surrounding Afrata.
The owners, Sue and Robin, couldn't do enough for us, Sue's home baking is just sensational, I could have lived off her carrot cake for the entire week. Morning fry ups cooked by Sue would consist of produce all farmed in Afrata and were the perfect way to start each day. Robin even took me out on his sailing boat on one of the days which was a great experience. Taking a trip into Chania is a must, sitting in one of the restaurants by the harbour watching the world go by over lunch and a few beers then walking through the market areas looking for bargains.
The end of our trip could so easily have been spoilt when Easy Jet cancelled our flight home and did not offer us another flight for a further 5 days, we were a little panicked but Sue and Robin were marvellous, allowing us use of their home phone to organise our flight as well as informing work and family at home, they then found space for us to stay the extra days, despite having more customers arrive as well as their family visiting from England. Sue and Robin invited us to join them and their family for evening meals for the rest of our stay and we spent our bonus nights sitting on the patio by the pool enjoying a few bottles of wine and Sue's delicious home cooking with great company and many laughs. We cant wait to go again this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thank you, Steve and Emily for your wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to have you and your family here and we look forward to you returning this summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine C
West Berlin, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great potential...poor hospitality”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Perhaps our hosts were "burnt out", at the end of a tiring tourist season, but whatever the reason, we did not feel welcome. The property is in a magical location, which we enjoyed very much, but it was tarnished by our reception at the property. The place was not as clean as would be appropriate, and having to ask for bathroom tissue should not be necessary. We were amazed that the apartment was not equipped with even a small coffee maker. Unfortunately it was necessary to sit outside the apartment in a common area in order to gain even a weak wifi signal. This was certainly inconvenient for trying to research travel plans or keep in touch with family at home. Sadly, while in a beautiful location with tremendous potential, I would be unable to recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
It is regrettable these clients felt unwelcome during their stay at Robin's Nest. On receiving these elderly clients, who were obviously exhausted after a strenuous journey from Canada, we made sure they were settled in and offered any further requirements.
Prior to their arrival the apartment was fully serviced, the floors steam mopped, inclusive of wet room and kitchen. All surfaces, door handles,shower head, taps and light switches cleaned with sterile wipes, the toilet cleaned and bleached. N.B. a packet of wipes are left in all apartments. The towels and bed linen had been freshly laundered and steam pressed, the bed made and turned down. "Place was not as clean as would be appropriate," this phrase begs the question, what is appropriately clean when my wife is meticulous in hygiene and cleanliness.
Each apartment is equipped with an electric kettle, cooker hob and a traditional Greek coffee pot which goes beyond standard expectations in Greece.
Toilet tissue is checked and replaced on each service, unfortunately this couple used the tissue before the next service however we were happy to give another roll when asked.
Our WIFI system has a powerful amplifier which is used some seventy meters away by neighbours we can only suggest their computer processor was inferior and not up to the job.
It was difficult to interact with this couple as, during their stay, they left early each day and did not return until late, spending little time on the premises other than to sleep.
If a client has a specific problem or dissatisfaction in any form we cannot improve our service if this is not bought to our attention and it is regrettable these clients chose to air theirs on the internet.
On checking out they assured us they had a good time and made no complaints.
This is our first dissatisfied client so we will chalk this one down to experience!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P B
1 review
“Wonderful place to holiday”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

In a lovely place beside Afrata - peaceful, scenic, and quality accommodation in a rural setting. Rooms were pristine clean and serviced daily. It was a pleasure to feel so welcomed by Robin & Susan - breakfast by the pool every morning set the tone for the day. A particular mention for authentic restaurant ‘Kali Kardia’ – most enjoyable dinners there and a must to visit a few times. A car is advisable for convenience and Robin recommended a rental company in Kissamos who looked after us very well.
Highly recommended if you visit Crete.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you both for your review, we welcome you back any time.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theakerst...
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“What a Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We are so happy that we stumbled upon Robin's Nest. The owners are fantastic hosts! Try Susan's Greek salad. It was the best we had on the island. Our room was clean and spacious with a great view overlooking the sea and the tiny village of Afrata. The views overlooking the Mediterranean, on the drive up to the village, after passing through Kolimbari, were absolutely spectacular.

The small beach down the hill from our apartment was also a little gem. It's a pebble beach (not a sand beach) so if you have tender feet bring some sandals. Its a cozy little beach with free umbrellas, sun chairs and a small taverna for snacks and drinks. Good for snorkeling too. The local taverna called Kali Kardia is a must for dinner. It was a five minute walk from the apartment. Excellent local food and atmosphere. We had a blast and returned there for dinner several evenings during our stay. Have Robin walk you up and you will be well taken care of.

Tip: We recommend renting a car. We got a good deal with Sixt at the airport. Cash is key in Crete so plan on bringing and paying with cash almost everywhere. There is an ATM in Kolimbari, about an 8 to 10 minute drive from the apartment. Most of the supermarkets take credit cards but the tavernas and most other places only take cash. Remember sunscreen and bug repellant.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and look forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Your review was very kind and truthful, and would be glad to see you both in the future.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcander...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We can endorse this...and more”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

This is a gem of a place in probably the most picturesque part of Crete. The hosts are both so helpful and so discreet, it was like being in a self contained little property. Last year was our second visit and frankly we can't wait to get back later this year. We also recommend the little village taverna called Calicardia; you can't get more authentic than that!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and our hosts
Liked least: Nothing negative to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
We remember you both well and it was nice to have conversations about your days out in the evenings. Your both very welcome to return any time, and our incentive is your satisfaction.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin P
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We had 10 lovely days at Robins nest in June last year and will definitely go back in the near future. We planned to do lots but loved the tranquility so much spent much of the time relaxing and reading by the pool! Although if you do want to get about a hire car is a must!The owners were great and very knowledgable, on their advice we visited rethynmon which is gorgeous Venetian town, chania harbour at sunset and georgipoli for horse riding and 'pedalos' on a lake which was like an oasis in the dessert. We planned to walk the Samaria gorge but decided it was too hot. Most other days we popped out to a few local towns - castelli. Plantainas (busier nightlife) and Malame but then back to the apartment to read by the pool. The locals were very friendly and food at the local taverna (walk up some stairs) was very good and I found a new liking for mythos! Would recomend the owners food, especially their breakfasts, home made bread and cake. The apartment was very clean and we had a great view from the balcony. The nearest beach had a small cafe which was nice and quiet, great for snorkeling - only downside wAs that it was quite stony.
Best bit about staying here, felt welcome and part of the village more than just a tourist which made for a lovely holiday. Worst part - tried some local 'village wine' - if we ever run out of petrol I think that would be a good alternative!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you soon.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing