We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Route Game Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Albertinia Hotel(Albertina)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Hotel(Mossel Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portao Diaz(Mossel Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Country Inn(Klein Brak River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
802
287
52
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
802
287
52
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reservegame lodgecape towngarden routesafari experiencebuffet stylebreakfast and dinnergreat experiencereptile centrewild animalsfood was greatwatering holereptile housemale lionsafari parkhot chocolatewaterhole view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here on route back to Cape Town, what an amazing place. We did the day safari (morning drive) and it was brilliant. We were so close to the animals and learnt so much about them. Our guide for the morning was Cobus and he was great and very knowledgable. The reserve itself is really nice and just what we were looking for. The staff are very friendly and he gift shop has plenty for everyone. Highly recommend this safari when visiting South Africa.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mightypink6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmGRGL, General Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning mightypink6

Thank you for taking the time to review the Garden Route Game Lodge. Cobus is a fantastic young man that has a passion for the wilderness and this passion is easily noticable when spending a little time with him in our reserve. We have a wonderful team that does their absolute best to ensure our guests have the most memorable experience possible. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful place in the middle of the beautiful park. Apart from the beautiful lodge and place are the people who work there, they make the difference to other places. Their hospitality and kindness. I would recommend it to everyone.
We only stayed for 1 night. But if I knew this before I would definitely stay for at least 2 or 3 nights.
Thank you for our perfect stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janetttcuppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmGRGL, General Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning Janetttcuppen

Thank you for your review. I must agree 1 night is always too little to make the most of any destination. I will most certainly pass on your wonderful comments on to our team. Great comments are always appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next 3 night visit.

Best wishes and kind regards
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay here was outstanding.

The attention to detail and all the little extras that the lodge do (toy box, card and safari bedtime story for children in room, bath robes in correct children’s sizes, water and the most delicious cordial on tap in reception are just a few of the small personal touches that make a big difference) make the whole experience super special. My children aged 7 and 4 (and us) were made to feel like VIPs.

Our room was spacious and clean.

The staff were all friendly, welcoming and eager to help.

There was a great variety of food to choose from. There was something for absolutely everyone and we loved that we could have a little of everything we wanted to try. It was all delicious and much of it was cooked in front of us to our liking. My son had allergies that we had listed in our registration forms and when the waitress came over, she introduced herself and immediately went through what options were available for him. This makes a big difference.

The facilities were all great.

We loved the game drives thanks to our brilliant game ranger, Leonard. He was brilliant with the children (and their parents). My boys thought he was the best. He definitely went the extra mile to make the experience extra special for all of us. The evening sundowners and snacks were a real hit too.

There is nothing that I could fault about our stay here.

Basically, for us, happy children equal happy parents and our children loved our time here. It is a safe, fun child friendly place to have a great family break.

Our highlights were definitely Leonard (our game driver). He and all the little personal touches the lodge put into place made this holiday so wonderfully memorable for our whole family.

Excellent value for money. It’s like flying first class when you’ve paid for economy which makes it even more amazing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank PaulaRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmGRGL, General Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning PaulaRSA

Many thanks for such a wonderful review. Im so glad to hear the kids had such a blast and that Leonard made it all the more amazing. Being children friendly we are realluy geared up to ensuring the have the most amazing time and usually when kids are around im pretty certain the guides have just as much fun. You may be interested to know we are doing some very significant improvements this year to the facilities and reserve, just incase you were considering returning.

Best wishes and kind regards
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The game (with Abri five starts) was amazing. The room (new lodges) and game installation as well, but they must improve the food and beverage services. It's not in the same line than the rest of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmGRGL, General Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning Jorge C

Thank you for your review. I will most certainly pass on your great comments to Abri and im glad you enjoyed you room and facilities. My apologies that our food and beverage service didnt meet your expectations. I will most certainly be taking your concerns up with the food and beverage team.

kind regards
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Knowledgeable guides (Leonard is awesome!!!),
comfortable accommodations, surprisingly great dining buffets with a great wine selection within a relatively close drive from Capetown.

Had a blast, would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shingtini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmGRGL, General Manager at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning Shingtini

Thank you for you wonderful review. You are absolutely correct Leonard if a fantastic guide and always puts his best foot forward. A good wine selection always makes that holiday just a little more indulgent and im pleased that ours exceeded your expectation. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

Best wishes and Kind regards
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews