We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Havercrofts heaven!”
Review of Havercrofts

Havercrofts
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Stanford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed December 30, 2017

Sublime food with a world-class menu, quaint setting with idyllic mountain views, and a powerhouse husband and wife team, with Brydon at the helm in the kitchen and Innes ensuring her guests only get served the best of the best. This is no ordinary dining experience - Thank you Havercrofts, we will absolutely be back for more of those delectable Devilled Kidneys!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BiancaC2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 397 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2017

Should have guessed when I was asked for a deposit when making the booking that I would be told we don't take credit cards, so bring cash. The whole booking arrangement is a complete nonsense, with multiple Whatsapps, and transferring cash by eft.
Considering that this restaurant(sic) uses the less expensive ingredients (see the pic of their blackboard menu still unchanged), there is no excuse for it being one of the most expensive in the area, having not found higher prices anywhere else. The owners response to a similar complaint was "if you think we are expensive then a toasted sandwich at the local farmstall is more akin to your taste and pocket", might well try that next time. Having said that, the food though limited is well presented and deserving of three stars. Limited menu and wine list with a hurried service with little or no ambiance.

Thank IntrepidGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brydonhavercroft, Owner at Havercrofts, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2017

It is perfectly normal at this time of year to request deposits for bookings, and it is a simple process. The only time we have to send whats app messages or call guests after the initial request is to chase up the payment of the deposit to secure a table, our guests pay a deposit without an issue at all. Clearly in your case it sounds as though we had to chase you for payment as we have other guests waiting to see if tables are available. With regards to our ingredients, how on earth you can say that they are less expensive (less expensive to what one asks!!!) is complete and utter nonsense. Not sure where you shop but it is definitely not the quality places that we source our ingredients, local artisan suppliers predominantly who take great care and attention in producing their goods. You have certainly NOT eaten in comparable restaurants in the area and we can guarantee that we are NOT priced above them, in fact we are priced lower than quite a number. We note that on your profile there are NO other reviews for restaurants in the area!!!! With regards to the picture of our menu unchanged - have no idea what you are talking about, the devilled kidneys will stay on the menu and has done for 15 years now, cant take it off. Two other starters are new during the last two weeks so cant work that one out. We have changed 3 main courses in the last two weeks also only retaining the fish curry which again, is a dish we cant take off. All very bizarre to be frank. We are delighted that you will rather go to the local farmstall next time, quite clearly we are not for you. Oh and a very happy christmas to you - scrooge certainly has a place at this time, we can hear the chains clanking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Great food, great location and excellent service. Hosts are very enthusiastic and ensure that you have a good dining experience. Highly recommended and worth the travel to get there

Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017

After many repeat visits I have run out of superlatives.
Havercrofts really is a proper restaurant,a very friendly welcome with the chatter and banter of the diners who are mostly local in the background.

No scrutiny from a lady at a computer to see if you have passed the complex booking procedures.

Superb food prepared by the owner Brydon,whose wife Innes at the front of house,playfully calls him a cook not a celebrity chef. The offerings beautifully described and presented by her.

Havercrofts is one of the best restaurants in the Western Cape and one leaves having had a wonderful lunch and best of all it is so much fun.
Brian W.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brianwA9534FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2017

Good food - slightly limited menu options. Service good. Innes is a bit overwhelming so don't expect a quiet lunch! Also - restaurant kitchen needs more extractor fans.

Thank hlw005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brydonhavercroft, Owner at Havercrofts, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Oh how very disappointing! My wife was a 'bit overwhelming'. She is normally totally 'overwhelming' with an incredible sense of humour and intelligence - you missed out, shame on her. I will address this on her next evaluation - must try harder being the note! We are celebrating 15 years to the day that we opened our doors. Overwhelm I say, you must be doing it right my wife, thank you for your wonderful front of house, it just would not be the same if you were not you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Havercrofts also viewed

 
Stanford, Overstrand
Stanford, Overstrand
 

Been to Havercrofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing