We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Don't Want to Leave!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Chapel

Old Chapel in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Chapel in summer
Old Chapel in winter Old Chapel in spring
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Old Chapel in summer
Old Chapel in winter
Old Chapel in spring
Sitting room
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Dining room
Study/Bedroom 2
Bathroom with new shower
Very quiet neighbours! One of the gravestones from the wood behind the chapel
The garden outside the dining area
The view from the Chapel
Vegetable garden from the wood
In the wood
The lavender path in May
The Chapel is called the 'City of Refuge'
Towards the orchard
Another front view
A frosty morning in January
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fulbourn, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
SueAnne D
Fairhope, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Want to Leave!”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have loved every minute at The Old Chapel. I highly recommend staying here for anyone who wants to have a country setting while exploring the city of Cambridge. It was wonderful to come back to such a peaceful place every day after the hustle and bustle of the university town. The Chapel is situated in a huge garden with chickens and cats and muntjacs. Inside, the cottage is painted a buttery yellow that brings in even more light from the many windows and doors. Everything you could possibly need is there, and the kitchen sink overlooks a tiny graveyard full of blooming cow parsley - a beautiful sight.
The owners are warm, friendly, accommodating, and professional. You can't go wrong staying here. The overall feeling at The Old Chapel is one of peace, tranquility, and rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely rental”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We enjoyed staying here. The house had loads of character and a beautiful garden. I really wanted to give it 5 stars, but there were a few things that just brought it down.
Kitchen - well equipped, however the gas stove took some getting used to. The kettle was covered in limescale, which we managed to mostly sort out. Lots of cutlery available, but unfortunately dirty. It hadn't been washed up properly (this may have been a previous tenant), and had been thrown into the drawer anyway (there is no dishwasher).
The bedrooms were very nice, the main bed had a "firm" mattress, which we got used to fairly quickly.
Finally, it is worth mentioning that the French doors have no curtains or shutters on them, so downstairs privacy is not absolute.
Overall, it was clean, warm, lovely and comfortable inside. Fantastic gardens for kids. A great spot to stay when visiting Cambridge.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Dear Bob,

Thanks so much for your kind review and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We normally check all the pots, pans, crockery and cutlery between guests, so we’re extremely sorry that somehow the cutlery didn’t get thoroughly checked this time. We’ve descaled the kettle since your stay and we're looking at the curtain situation so that we can improve that. For anyone future guests reading this, please do contact us straight away if anything is below the standard you would expect as we want all our guests to have a brilliant stay.

Thanks again
Denis & Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
g w
harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay here, very clean and spacious. Ideal location for visiting this area.
Made to feel very welcome, lovely eggs and cinnamon the cat paid a few visits too.
This is a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cosy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieTas...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Chapel. It is in a little village just outside of Cambridge with shops and what you would need for your stay. The cottage was set in a lovely garden and it was clean and welcoming. Our boys spent most of their time outside playing soccer on the lovely lawn. Dennis was very kind to offer us some eggs produced by the chooks in the yard. We could have easily stayed longer and explore what is around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for long weekend visiting Cambridge”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent 4 night stay - Peaceful village location within easy reach (10 mins drive) of Cambridge. Comfortable cottage with everything we needed. Friendly cat too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you so much, We're glad you enjoyed staying here.
Hopefully see you another time.
Ruth and Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21CJ_B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very comfy cottage in an ideal location for visiting Cambridge and the surrounding area.
The bus to Cambridge stops just outside and Fulbourn village is within easy walking distance for local pubs and shops.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing