We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Lobster and Excellent Service”
Review of Amigo Restaurant

Amigo Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Amigo has earned a solid reputation over the years in Mauritius with 32 years of existence and has been established as one of the favorite destinations of Mauritius with the guarantee of embarking you in a unique seafood culinary experience. When you are in the mood for magnificently fresh fish and seafood be sure to come to Amigo restaurant. The restaurant has recently been renovated to offer a cozy and charming atmosphere. Numerous French personalities came to the restaurant such as Jacque Chirac, Julien Lepers, Emmanuelle Beart, Chantal Goya and more. We also offer a courtesy vehicle that can pick and drop you at your conveniences in the neighbouring area.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by one hotel staff where we were staying at. When we arrived at this restaurant for an evening meal it was very quiet as it was not the peak season it Mauritius. We ordered two lobsters and it tasted very nice and it was fresh.
The service was great and the owner played some very nice music while we were waiting for our food. I would definitely recommend a visit to this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aslam_Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavinen P, Owner at Amigo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear Aslam K,

We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience at Amigo restaurant. Your review has been shared to all members of our team.
We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again at the restaurant.

Culinary regards,

Kavinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 222 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

Nice restaurant and good service but it is very expensive.
The price for fresh fish and lobster is definitely too high as the restaurant has no nice views.
I cannot recommend to eat the Fish as it is too expensive.

We took the catch of the day and lobster. it was very good but as I mentioned, too expensive. the price would be ok if you sit directly on the seaside, but not in the middle of nowhere.

Next time I would choose some local meal...

Overall it was a nice experience as the stuff are very friendly.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavinen P, Owner at Amigo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Michele M,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. Our goal is to provide great service and delicious food at a 'good pricing relation to quality'. Henceforth we are very sorry if you found the fish to be expensive, the price of our fresh fish usually varies from Rs 300 to Rs 650. As you might be already aware, fresh fish and high quality ingredients have got a certain cost and we strive to make a good balance between the quality and pricing.

Culinary regards,

Kavinen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Quiet, lots of privacy, great service, wide range of menu items, especially seafood,open late. Great leisurely meal, not rushed by waiters, etc. On north end of island.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavinen P, Owner at Amigo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Dear alan,

We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience at Amigo restaurant. Your review has been shared to all members of our team.
We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again at the restaurant.

Culinary regards,

Kavinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Amazing food. warm and hearty welcome.peaceful atmosphere. felt and enjoyed the freshness of the seafood

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank segarenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavinen P, Owner at Amigo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear segarenv,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you liked your experience at the Amigo restaurant and we hope to see you very soon.

Culinary regards,

Kavinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

The entire experience from making the reservation through the final sip of Amigo's housemade rhum arrangé was world class! Being new to the Northern part of the island, I was searching online one morning for a dinner spot for my family for that evening. I stumbled upon a review of Amigo and followed it straight to their facebook page. After watching some of their videos, I knew this was a place we needed to try out.

I sent a short message via Facebook to reserve a table and immediately received a response. They provided directions and their phone number just in case.

When we arrived, we were greeted in such a friendly way which made us feel as though we were being received by friends at their home. They made us delicious cocktails and served us an appetizer on the house. What a treat! They are not interested in multiple seatings in an evening, and you never feel rushed. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere was matched by their attention to detail.

I really could go on and on about the freshness of the seafood, the originality of the dishes and the friendliness of the owners, who are hands on in every respect- but I would urge you to go and check them out for yourselves. You will be so happy you did!

Opt for the a flambé for dessert :)

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cherisaddul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavinen P, Owner at Amigo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Cherisaddul,

It is such as honor to read this superb review on Amigo Restaurant. We are very happy that we were able to make your experience at Amigo restaurant a success.

The team warmly thanks you for the kindness of your writing which encourages us to
continue our efforts in our quest for excellence.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Culinary yours,

Kavinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amigo Restaurant also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pointe Aux Piments, Pamplemousses District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Calodyne, Grand Gaube
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to Amigo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing