We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a holiday! We'll take it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rummana Boutique Resort
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's a holiday! We'll take it...”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

It's late December. South Africans, Australians and British travelers abound. We get to Rummana Boutique resort Hotel and it's all well OK.

Everything is basic and simple without too much to write to TripAdvisor about.

We got the beachfront pool villa which is just a little different to the deluxe villas and right behind the resort pool and next to the restaurant area. Privacy is a little sketchy but after a while it actually didn't seem to be too much of a problem.

The room was clean, large enough for two and the bathroom was great with a dual sink and a separate toilet and shower as well as a large bathtub for two!

The intimate pathway between all the rooms is a little off-putting but it is also not worth complaining about.

They do need to maintain the Koi ponds and water features as these are starting to look murky and full of algae. Not much oxygen for those Koi!

The staff are really friendly and helpful.

All in all it's been well average but we're on holiday so we had really high expectations and it just didnt happen. But at the same time we're on holiday so we just took it in our stride and we're enjoying it even though the weather has been awful since we got here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThabangSkwambane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    71
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
122
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I stayed for two nights in December.

The rooms and property are stunning. Very peaceful. The pool was nice and everything was in general well maintained.

The beach was too rough to really swim in and relax. The seasonal winds kicks up a lot of waves and sand was course. The beach-side bar and massage stands were closed...I suspect they're never open during the windy season. I recommend looking into the seasonal winds and how they affect this side of the island--I was expecting a calm beach.

It's a 10-15 minute walk into the main street area from the hotel, but there's enough right there so you could avoid going in all together. There are a few convenience stores, massage places, travel agencies, restaurants right outside the resort driveway.

I didn't get a chance to try them, but I later found out some of the best spas are located in the Lamai area (The Spa Resorts, Tamarind, Elements).

Room Tip: All the rooms are villas...hard to choose a bad one. They all looked more or less the same to me wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BST10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Rummana Boutique Resort is located on the southern end of Lamai Beach near Grandfather Rock. The resort is a series of semi detached and detached bungalows set along a winding path with tropical gardens and water features. The bungalows themselves are well designed and roomy, with airconditioning and room safe. The resort has a nice restaurant located overlooking the beach and a good size shaded pool. Our accommodation package included breakfast and no complaints there, with a large variety to suit both eastern and western tastes alike. The main hub of Lamai for shopping, restaurants and nightclubs is around a 10 to 15 minute walk depending on your fitness. You can walk either along the road or the beach to get there. I would recommend that you take in the 'Walking Street Markets' which are every Sunday at Northern End of Lamia (50baht in taxi). The markets cover around 6 streets and are a feast of food shopping. So cheap and heaps of choices.
I would also recomment the night food stalls located opposite McDonalds and right next to the 'girlie bars', we ate there a few times and the food was always good and cheap. If you need a drink (alcoholic or otherwise) there are two shops right next to stalls.
Another good idea is to hire a moped for a couple of days and take in the island. Don't forget to wear your helmut, not a great look but will save you a fine in the end. The Fishermans Wharf area is well worth a visit.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Rummana Boutique Resort and the delights of Lamai.

Room Tip: Detached bungalows are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveW226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is our third visit to Koh Samui & the first stay in Lamai. We booked last minuite & was not disappointed. (although it was advertised as 5 star, when should be more 3 star) we still enjoyed our stay. Villa was larger than other rooms I have stayed in & cleaned everyday with fresh bed linen & towels. Staff very friendly.
We have always made friends with the beach sellers, treat yourself to a foot scrub & Thai massage & the delicious sweetcorn snack. (expect a little pain with your massage lol!)
The hotel is at the quiet end of Lamai beach & only a 15 min walk either by beach or road into Lamai.
We hired a moped for 150 bhat a day & travelled independently around the island ( wear a helmet) the roads are crazy & watch out for the dogs crossing the road. If you drive carefully you will have no problems.
Eat in the local markets, the food is just as good, if not better than the restaurants, if you don't mind the setting of plastic tables! Pad Thai or green curry 50 bhat!
This is the 2nd time I have been in September & the weather has been amazing, the occasional thunder storm, but is over within the hour.
We can not wait to come back !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Loved the special touches at Rummana. Flower bracelets upon pick up at airport, coconut drink upon arrival. Fruit in room. Bungalows very very clean! Lovely winding sheltered walk from bungalow to beach and restaurant. Many water features along the way. Clean! Clean! Clean! Lovely gardens along the walk to the pool area. Enjoyed the resident cat and dog. Staff is exceptional! So attentive to our needs! Went out of their way when my partner lost his passport. (It was eventually found at the airport and brought to the hotel by the hotel driver) Turning beach umbrellas for us to keep the sun off. Massages in spa and in the pavillion near the beach are amazing. Wonderful breakfast with lots of variety. Best mango shakes in the world! Quiet gem of a place, every detail looked after. Will definitely stay at Rummana again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 007Steph14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Rooms are smallish, though adequate for two people.

Bedlinens and towels are all very clean - replaced everyday which is nice. The bathroom has an candle / oil burner to keep it nice and fresh. Rooms are well cleaned every day, with a little note to say who had cleaned it and what time!

Aircon is a tad noisy, but you do get used to it.

Shower is not brilliant, as it's non-thermostatically controlled - quickly going from warm to hot then cold then back to hot. Not nice if you've got a bit of sunburn!

The room comes with breakfast. Breakfast consists of a continental breakfast spread. You'll get juices, fruits, cereal, salad, bread, pastries, omelette, bacon, and some local food every day.

Only ate a couple of times at the restaurant, but the food really was excellent - tasty, well presented. Not cheap though!

Lamai town is about 15 min walk from Rummana up the hill then down into the town.
Chaweng town a 20 min taxi / tuktuk ride.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Lots of shops nearby - 7-11, Familymart and cheap restaurants right outside, along with car rental / bike rental, tour operators, massage etc etc.

Rummana provides deck chairs, umbrellas and beach towels at the beach. PC at the restaurant provides free internet access. Can get busy. In-room wifi is expensive.

This is the quiet section of the Lamai beach as it is near Hin Ta Hin Ya. Beachbars / restaurants a 15 minute walk away. Beach was not particularly clean is we were there a month after the floods.... got noticably better whilst we were there though. Too many dogs, too much dog poo on the beach.

What it needs:
1. Improved showers
2. Free internet access via wifi
3. Flat screen TV in the rooms
4. Quieter aircon

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We loved this hotel and didn't want to leave. The rooms are like bungalows but they're big (or maybe it's just that the space is used well) with a little living area built in, and a nice bathroom. Great care is taken, and on arrival you get flower bracelets and the room has flowers all sprinkled through and welcome spelled out in petals on the bed. We took a photo, it was so charming :-) Air con was good and not too loud, so we slept the best we had the entire trip. The bungalows are set out between little paths and bridges etc that run through the grounds with lots of plants. It's a bit of a maze through a little tropical paradise to get to the pool and the restaurant and beach. Hotel is right on the beach and the pool and restuarant lead right on to the beach. Restaurant and beach bar are good, very nice food. Free internet on a computer in restaurant. Tons of staff so everything is efficient and they all seem very happy in their work so are very friendly. You don't even notice your room get turned over - it's like pixies come while you are out, even if only for a short time! Would recommend this hotel to people looking for a relaxing hotel in a peaceful part of Samui.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caztravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
2.6 km away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
371 reviews
1.6 km away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
663 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
747 reviews
1.1 km away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
535 reviews
0.9 km away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rummana Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rummana Boutique Resort

Property: Rummana Boutique Resort
Address: 124/10 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rummana Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rummana Boutique Resort, a little goes a long way. Masterfully designed in every aspect, choose from our "Island Chic" Deluxe Villas or Rummana Suites for a perfect stay, private, peaceful, well-equipped and fully stocked, you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rummana Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rummana Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rummana Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing