We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rummana Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rummana Boutique Resort
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had a great time at the Rummana Resort. Its right next to the Beach. Lamai Beach is a great location, its very quiet. The Resort is very lovely, staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, lots to chose from, we went there once for dinner and had a Thai Set - lots of delicious food, it was great! Family Mart and 7 Eleven right around the corner. To Lamai its a 10 minute walk, which was great. In Lamai there are lots of Restaurants, Bars and Shops. Its nice to spend the evening there. Also try food from the sellers on the street, its delicious.

We also went snorkeling to Koh Tao, which was great. But rather book a more expensive tour at your travel guide from your travel agency than at a cheaper store in Lamai, the boats are crowded, we saw one boat it looked bad. We had a great snorkeling tour.

The only thing we would recommend to the Manager is that the pool needs a renovation. Some tiles are broken and I guess they should be replaced because once we cut ourselves a little bit. But the hotel is a great choice, we would definetly come back!!!

Room Tip: We had a room closer to the beach/pool which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    65
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
38
106
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I have just come back from staying at Rummana and we were very impressed. From the moment they picked us up at the airport, check in with welcome drink (very refreshing) at reception, they sat us down at a little table to fill in forms, not standing at a counter like some others. It was our 30th wedding anniversary and our bungalow had the towels done like swans and flowers decoration on the bed, soo nice. Our bungalow was just perfect, clean and tidy and airconditioned.
How anyone can say this is a "backpackers" is wrong. Breakfast is good, a chef waiting to cook your eggs any way you like, coffee is strong but this is all over thailand, I had green tea each morning. Staff very pleasant and always willing to help. The food we found to be very good. We had no issues. Booked all our tours with front reception as prices were the same.
Ok this is not a 5 star with a gym etc, but hey I did early morning walks along the beach watching the sun rise (who needs a gym) you are on holidays. Very much worth a stay and would definately stay again.
Many thanks to all staff and the Manager who made our stay memorable.
From Annette and Bjorn

Room Tip: We stayed about in the middle of the resort, which was great. Half way to get to the beach and recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annettej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Just came back from this lovely place on lamai beach,i think we couldnt choose any better.we loved our little bungalow,and very much enjoyed our stay in rummana.Staff is very friendly and welcoming nothing is to much trouble.Food is very good

Room Tip: They all good,but the best ones away from main path
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrjandMisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stay there twice a year. Perfect place close to the beach and lots of local beach front restaurant around. Friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

It's late December. South Africans, Australians and British travelers abound. We get to Rummana Boutique resort Hotel and it's all well OK.

Everything is basic and simple without too much to write to TripAdvisor about.

We got the beachfront pool villa which is just a little different to the deluxe villas and right behind the resort pool and next to the restaurant area. Privacy is a little sketchy but after a while it actually didn't seem to be too much of a problem.

The room was clean, large enough for two and the bathroom was great with a dual sink and a separate toilet and shower as well as a large bathtub for two!

The intimate pathway between all the rooms is a little off-putting but it is also not worth complaining about.

They do need to maintain the Koi ponds and water features as these are starting to look murky and full of algae. Not much oxygen for those Koi!

The staff are really friendly and helpful.

All in all it's been well average but we're on holiday so we had really high expectations and it just didnt happen. But at the same time we're on holiday so we just took it in our stride and we're enjoying it even though the weather has been awful since we got here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThabangSkwambane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I stayed for two nights in December.

The rooms and property are stunning. Very peaceful. The pool was nice and everything was in general well maintained.

The beach was too rough to really swim in and relax. The seasonal winds kicks up a lot of waves and sand was course. The beach-side bar and massage stands were closed...I suspect they're never open during the windy season. I recommend looking into the seasonal winds and how they affect this side of the island--I was expecting a calm beach.

It's a 10-15 minute walk into the main street area from the hotel, but there's enough right there so you could avoid going in all together. There are a few convenience stores, massage places, travel agencies, restaurants right outside the resort driveway.

I didn't get a chance to try them, but I later found out some of the best spas are located in the Lamai area (The Spa Resorts, Tamarind, Elements).

Room Tip: All the rooms are villas...hard to choose a bad one. They all looked more or less the same to me wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BST10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Rummana Boutique Resort is located on the southern end of Lamai Beach near Grandfather Rock. The resort is a series of semi detached and detached bungalows set along a winding path with tropical gardens and water features. The bungalows themselves are well designed and roomy, with airconditioning and room safe. The resort has a nice restaurant located overlooking the beach and a good size shaded pool. Our accommodation package included breakfast and no complaints there, with a large variety to suit both eastern and western tastes alike. The main hub of Lamai for shopping, restaurants and nightclubs is around a 10 to 15 minute walk depending on your fitness. You can walk either along the road or the beach to get there. I would recommend that you take in the 'Walking Street Markets' which are every Sunday at Northern End of Lamia (50baht in taxi). The markets cover around 6 streets and are a feast of food shopping. So cheap and heaps of choices.
I would also recomment the night food stalls located opposite McDonalds and right next to the 'girlie bars', we ate there a few times and the food was always good and cheap. If you need a drink (alcoholic or otherwise) there are two shops right next to stalls.
Another good idea is to hire a moped for a couple of days and take in the island. Don't forget to wear your helmut, not a great look but will save you a fine in the end. The Fishermans Wharf area is well worth a visit.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Rummana Boutique Resort and the delights of Lamai.

Room Tip: Detached bungalows are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveW226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#34 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 km away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#30 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.8 km away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#18 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.7 km away
Samui Jasmine Resort
Samui Jasmine Resort
#6 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rummana Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rummana Boutique Resort

Property: Rummana Boutique Resort
Address: 124/10 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rummana Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rummana Boutique Resort, a little goes a long way. Masterfully designed in every aspect, choose from our "Island Chic" Deluxe Villas or Rummana Suites for a perfect stay, private, peaceful, well-equipped and fully stocked, you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rummana Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rummana Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rummana Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing