We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samui Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My friend and I stayed for 2 weeks in December 2011. The resort is situated in a great location at the south end of Lamai beach next to the Grandfather rocks. A fabulous 10 minute walk along the beach to the bars of Lamai.

There are so many aspects of this resort to recommend it by. It has a great location, staff, facilities etc. The biggest asset are the owners and in particular Remco who is the on-site manager.

There were a number of guests who had stayed several times before which is probably the best indication of the resort.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    142
    53
    21
    29
See reviews for
37
199
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Situated in south side of Lamai Beach (Maret) near Granfather and Grandmother this hotel is managed by nice dutch guy Remko - helpfull and jesting. Same about all stuff. We stayed in deluxe double room - it's half of beach house - clean, cool and with large bed. Shower can be hotter and with water pressure. There is a shady bloomy garden between houses, very cute The hotel is directly on beach, you can eat your breakfast with seaview and then take massage just in two steps from restaurant.

Room Tip: Highly reccomend you to book deluxe double - these rooms are situated in separate houses (1 room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alebaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Booked to stay at Samui beach resort on the internet for 2 days, there was a special offer on. ended up staying for 7 days.
the room was clean, they have own balconies (and cleaned every day, with fresh towels, tea, coffee, kettle.
it is right next to beach and has own swimming pool
there are a mixture of ages, people on holiday also travellers.
the owner and staff are very helpful and cheerful

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bournemouthJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Incredibly close to the beach with a nice pool and bar area and attractive green surroundings. However, we stayed for 6 nights and room was only cleaned once and don't think it would have been at all if we hadn't asked! Bathroom/wetroom was a bit smelly and you end up with wet sand on the floor because it doesn't drain away. Quieter location suited us but there aren't many restaurants within walking distance and hotel bar food is a bit overpriced. We enjoyed our stay but would definitely recommend paying more for an air conditioned room as we only had a fan and these rooms were a lot poorer quality.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for AC, bit grim with just a fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahfbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Booked 3 nights stayed 7. It's right on a beautiful beach with recliners and umbrellas. Fresh beach towels every day. Great pool with comfy recliners and shade. Free wi-fi on the beach, around the pool, and in the rooms. Nice bar/restaurant with good food (a little expensive for our backpacker budget, but probably reasonable for most travelers). The staff was friendly. We'll definitely be back and highly recommend this place.

Random notes: Downtown Lamai (if you want to call it that) is a 15 minute walk or nothing on a motorbike. The best place to eat is at the night market which is a block past Mc Donalds on the lefthand side. Try the Pad Thai for 45B of the Masaman curry for 50B. Also, the guy at the end of the market sells great fruit shakes for 25-35B.

Room Tip: Forget about the room, relax on the beach all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during our recent trip to Thailand.

The bungalow which we stayed in was big, we had a problem with the hot water in the shower but the owner soon got an electrician to sort out the problem and on our return it was fixed. The room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels.
The hotel has its own private beach and very safe sea.
Note this hotel is a little out of the centre of Lamei but there are good resturants and bars within walking distance, also a very good massage parlour at the top of the street.
The staff here are very friendly as is the manager Remco.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hoot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Dear readers,

I stayed her in the December of 2010, christmas until new years eve. And we came back in Januari of 2011 in the same holiday. That is for a reason! And I will explain you why.

We arrived very exhausted from Cambodia, we were already traveling for like a month had a lot of expierce with differt hotels and hostels. We know what we could expect! this was different because of the relaxed athmosphere, friendly staff en great service was noticable at the very beginning. The owner came directly to us after checking in. Showing us around the place telling what we can and should do in the area. Great tips and advice what you follow when you are there. We also met a other owner of the place a realy friendly and outgoing guy who will do everything to make you stay as comfortable as possible, Didn't see this before in my whole trip trough Asia. Maybe it's because the owners are not locals, but more western orientated? you tell me? The staff is really open trying to connect with you and telling you about their culture, if you are open for that. We went with on of the staff members on is day on a road trip to the places you had to see when you're there. If you will ever read this thank you for this you are a great guy!

The bar was most of the time crowded with a lot of people. Nice place to meet other people if you are traveling alone. Not just the people from the resort came there but also other people from others resorts, just because of the relaxing en friendly athmosphere! They have a great cook over there his english is not up to the max but is willing to try. If you don't feel like eating thai food, no problem! Great pizza's by the way;)


The beach is next to the bar.. A really relaxing beach not that crowded so you can pick your own spot. same as the swiming pool. But why swim in the swimming pool if you got a great sea just in front of you? For people with little children its a great and safe place to let them swim.

If you want to explore the island, they have scooters for rent. If you want to do same kind of trips first ask te owners or one of the staff members what are normal prices and good organisators to go top.

The room we had was comfortable with a nice flat screen and to many channels. But on the other hand why do you need a screen if you got the the best nature and culture al around you. I've given the sleep quality not to the max because we had a room wich the airco made a crazy noise. When we told it to the administration they were so kind to give us a another room. But honest is honest. I also have putten the selection of Room Service empty because we've never used it. I'm not even sure if it is possible?

We left this place to travel to other countries. But after a while we were tired and felt like just chilling and relaxing for the end of the holiday. That's why we want back to this place and just chilled out. You know the commen sentence:"It's never as fun as the first time". I warned myself for this. I this case it wasn't true. We again had the time of over life but more in a relaxing setting, chilling at the beach drinking some beers, you know what I mean.

Conclusion: Price compared in what you get is more than great, great place to stay for short long stay. Great staff . And the owners know how to make it comfortable for the travellers. At the end that is the only thing you need when you on holiday

All the best!

Room Tip: Supirior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafoxnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.0 km away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.8 km away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 km away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.8 km away
Blu' Beach Bungalows
Blu' Beach Bungalows
#30 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Beach Resort

Property: Samui Beach Resort
Address: 124/11 Moo 3 | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing