We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Servatur Green Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Patalavaca
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a few years ago. We booked it as a last minute cheap and cheerful holiday. The rooms were pretty basic but clean. There was no air conditioning back then which made sleeping quite difficult but the balcony and the view were amazing! We spent many a night drinking cheap alcohol and debating life. Its a lovely walk along to the Anfi Del Mar which has a cracking beach and nice bars and restaurants too. Would recommend for a cheap stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JuneMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the second time two weeks in February 2012. The lobby is spacious and nice and the receptionist was very efficient. Our room was on the same floor as the lobby, which turned out to be a problem. It was right below the bar and restaurant and after two nights of music, dancing and partying above our heads, we asked to be moved to another room. No problem and we got a room at the other end of the corridor.
This hotel has no sound insulation so be aware if you get a room on the 8th floor. Our first and noisy room was 811. The room we moved to was 830, which was good. No loud music above our heads in the evening any more. We could still hear our next door neighbour sing in the shower, but that was not a problem at all!
Rooms are OK in size. Big bedrom with wardrobe, good size bathroom. The bedroom has two separate beds and they are really placed far apart! Easy to move together, I guess, but we did not try. But all is worn and in need of renovation/redecoration. They are in the process of redecorating the rooms, but what we had were the old ones.
The hotell, the rooms, the garden and the pool area were all very clean. Restaurant: We had one dinner and one breakfast there and it was good, nothing to complain about. Staff is nice and friendly.
We did not attend any entertainment - apart from involuntary the first two evenings - so I can`t comment on that. Don`t think we missed something from what I heard from below.
One main compaint that I have is hotels with no free WiFi for the guests, not even in the reception area. This is a must these days! You could buy access for your room, but it was very expensive and very unstable (our friends did and were not happy about it at all).
Last but not least: The view from the balcony is simply wonderful, nothing but the hotel garden between you, the sea and the beautiful sunsets right in front of you.

Room Tip: Many (but not all) rooms on 8th floor can be noisy because of bar and restaurant in 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Staid with my wife and baby, the apartment was clean and with basic, but very complete equipment (coffee machine, toaster, etc, no microwave or oven). Almost all the apartments have sea view, the view is incredible specially the sunset. The rooms where cleaned daily, except for holidays. Maintenance of the pool area is also very efficient, they start daily before 8 to have everything ready (pool, showers, kid's pool, floor, etc are cleaned daily). The reception personal, the room waitress and in general all personal seemed very friendly and helpful. The pool is great with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, the hotel has direct access to the beach of Patalavaca, in my opinion much cleaner and quiet than the nearby Puerto Rico or Amadores. Arguineguin and Anfi resorts are a close walk away with a good offer of restaurants. Try to avoid the local holidays for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pablo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Please beware of review sites. Remember that more people will complain about a hotel or apartment that will make the effort to praise it. Therefore if you see about a half and half mix, it's likely that unless you're really choosy and picky, you'll be ok. Also please remember that Med or Canarian all inclusive holidays are not quite as "all inclusive" as Caribbean ones which tend to be much more diverse and have much more choice and/or quality. It would be good if someone could introduce a tiered system so you know exactly what type of "all inclusive" you've just paid for. We stayed here for 2 weeks.

Location: About 35/40 mins from Las Palmas, we booked a minIbus online, and it cost about £150.00 return for 7 of us. You can however book a hire car to collect at the airport on arrival for about 90 euros for the whole week giving you the freedom of the island! (we've done this before)The hotel itself is about 10 mins from Puerto Rico, the nearest big resort, Argeneguin itself does have a nearby Spar supermarket, Chinese, and a few local shops within 5 mins walk of the Hotel. Tip: the chinese nearby will deliver to your apartment at the hotel and provides excellent value food. Take a few AI drinks to your apartment and you have a meal and drinks with a sea view for a fraction of the price! (if you're fed up with the hotel food, which whilst ok, will get you just through repetiveness in the end)

Also, do visit Puerto Rico, use the bus stop nearby it's only about 1.5 euros return from memory. Most indian restaurants here will also deliver to your hotel, grab a few menus on your walks (just give them the room number, you're getting an idea of how bored I got with the restaurant?)

Hotel itself clean, good spot, sea views from every room, you are frontline here, nothing but the Atlantic in front which makes for wonderful views and sunsets. Nice pool, kiddies play area was good, entertainment is there, you just have to be willing to join in. Get a couple of lunchtime drinks down your neck and you'll be in a european tournament of some sort, everyone will have a laugh with you, no matter where they're from but you need to get involved. Evening entertainment - don't expect too much and you just about scrape through, drink as much a possible (responsibly?) as quickly as possible and you'll survive.

You can walk to an exclusive almost private-looking beach and marina in about 15 minutes, spend the day there, very nice, probably one of the best on the island (called Anfi)At breakfast simply grab some rolls, some ham (that's always on offer) and some fruit, and you'lll not have to spend on lunch there at all. On the way there was my favorite fishing spot, another little bay, caught some weird tropical fish which was good. A family of stingray live in this bay, and they're big, very big, be careful where you tread, my sister stood on one and screamed like a baby. These stingray are really friendly and come right up to shore, burying themselves in the sand. I prayed they wouldn't go for my bait for fear of losing my rod, they really are a sight (mainly at low tide - take your camcorder/camera)

Hotel food: This is tricky, plenty of fresh salad, breakfast can vary between fried eggs, bacon and beans, to chips, hot dogs, and chicken nuggets. They always have toast, croisants, cakes and hard boiled eggs, so again, unless you're really fussy you'll manage.

Lunch and dinner is chips, potatoes, salad, fish, some meat, or cold meats - its all ok it's just really hard: 1. To eat at the same place everyday, and 2: Eat roughly the same stuff every day. You'll cope but you'll really look forward to the Indian or Chinese you've ordered you'll be eating on your balcony later! The thing about this all inclusive is that we calculated that just our drinks bill alone would have totalled the whole AI price, therefore all the food you eat over and above that adds extra value to it. If you've got kids AI is a must. This particular hotel is not an "ice creams free all day" venue so beware, but if you can fill up at breakfast, surive till 1pm, kids can get chocolate milkshake, coke, lemonade and periodic cakes to keep them going anytime so don't worry. Ice cream time is at about 4pm - 5PM

I recently had another AI experience in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote and couldn't decide where to stay (because, would you believe of mixed reviews, so I stayed at 4 hotels over a 2 week period) all within 3 mins of each other, and all of them were a good bit better than this place ( and i saved £250.00 doing it this way oddly) This said, I would stay here again, the beach next door 2 mins walk away has some great waves (buy a lilo, its good fun) and the hotel has some hard-to-come-by-at-this-price 5 star views.

People have such varied expectations, reviews are so hard to interpret for the reader. Spanish people generally are ok, hotel staff sometimes seem rude, please use manners, Hola, gracias or por favor cost nothing to say - we've always done it - try to have a joke about a rude receptionist, don't lose sleep and report it on these sites! Anyway, if you'ved booked, you'll be ok here, think of the dullness of England and you'll soon have some perspective!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jezmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

I stayed here in August 2007 for a week with my friend. We are both aged 21.

The weather wwas amazing, not 1 cloud all week.

The location was nice aswel, it's next to a really nice sandy quiet beach within walking distance of a few shops and bars. Try the chinese by the roundabout near the hotel (just up from the main front hotel entrance). Food was lovely and so cheap!

Puerto Rico was a short taxi ride and only costs around 7 euroes which I would recommend if you do not want to go to bed straight after dinner as the entertainment was truely awful.

For the size of the hotel, and the fact we visited in peak season (August summer holidays), you would expect a minimum level of entertainment. I'm very glad i didn't take my children to this hotel as there was absolutely no children's entertainment at all. They occasionaly did the odd activity in the day but nothing atall in the evening.

There was a snake show 1 evening, lasted an hour and and finished at about 9.30 pm. 3 nights of the same diabolical keyboard player attempting to sing english songs, It was rare that you could guess which song he was trying to sing though as his english was terrible. Other nights there wasn't any entertainment at all. Not even any music was played by CD or anything.

The pool area was lovely and caught the sun from the moment it came out in the morning until when the sun went down so you never had to move your sunbed, they also had umbrellas if you prefer the shade. I never had a problem getting a sunbed, used to go down to the pool at around 10am and there would always be plenty and this was in August so I don't expect this is ever a problem.

The rooms were amazing, all had gorgeous direct sea views with massive balconies, and the rooms themselves were very big. Be warned though if you don't like walking up stairs as there are only 2 lifts and sometimes you can be waiting ages, and the restaurant is on the 9th or 10th floor, that's lovely though as it's overlooking the sea.

Food was ok, just your average all inclusive really.

All in all I had a great holiday, Just preapre yourself for the lack of entertainment and the idea of going elsewhere if you do want entertainment and you'll love the place.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jennyxxxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

The hotel I could not fault, nice clean and tidy room, fantastic unspoilt views, and good food (we went all inclusive).

However, there is a big BUT - the entertainment (or lack of) was diabolical.

There was one spanish girl who spoke very little English and she was the Animation TEAM !!. Day time activities were detailed on the board, and there was quite a lot on the board, but we saw nothing of her during the day, apart from one time (which may have been due to the time of year) when she asked my husband to play darts, he did, and guess what he won - cos he was the only one there !!.

The evening entertainment was worse - yeah I know. There was a 'dancing competition' yeah how excited was I until I noticed that 90% of the guests who were Spanish and al came with SAGA holidays, were at the Green Beach T Dance - all fighting for who was gonna win the waltzing competition!.

Back to the hotel, it is right on the beach and apart from stumbling over a few rocks - within about 30ft your on a lovely little bay with some great waves, it was not too busy - but I imagine at high season to be very busy - there is another beach at the Anfi Del Mar (which is imported sand from the carribean so does not get too hot to walk on) but this is very busy. Although only a 10 minute stroll away.

One word of warning do not eat in the pirate restauarant on the other side of the road from the hotel and higher up into the cliff.

Thankfully we did not venture there till our last day - it was pasta which was like mush and a bolognese sauce which looked and tasted like heinz tomato paste - and not cheap either - so aviod like the plague. Please check out some photos of the view from our room (602) and the beach.

A nice hotel in a very quiet location but only 4 euros into the lively puerto rico. PS great pizza place just opposite the supermarket - about 200 yards from hotel.

Enjoy (but bring your own entertainment with you :).

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ScotlandOzzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Meliale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarderada, RECEPCIONISTA at Servatur Green Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patalavaca
2.5 km away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,322 reviews
8.1 km away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
480 reviews
2.7 km away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Bull Dorado Beach & Spa
3.5 km away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,519 reviews
37.2 km away
RK Hotel El Cabo
RK Hotel El Cabo
#2 of 8 in Agaete
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Green Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Green Beach

Address: Avenida Canarios 23, 35129 Patalavaca, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Servatur Aparthotel Green Beach)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Patalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Patalavaca
Price Range: $98 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Servatur Green Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel consist of 232 apartments, all spacious and well decorated, with separate bedroom, balconies overlooking the sea or the gardens. Excellent locations right on the seafront and on the south-west coast of Gran Canaria which offers the best climate; less wind and more sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Servatur Green Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Green Beach Hotel Patalavaca
Green Beach Hotel Patalavaca
Servatur Green Beach Patalavaca, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing