We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Club Palm Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Palm Garden
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Been to Sri Lanka 3 times and stayed in different hotels and venues. We usually travel 4 or 5 star so The Club Palm garden when first entering looks well used, BUT is very clean. They are closing in April for a complete refurbishment and will then be upgraded 4 star. BUT you will get no better services than you are getting now - the service was excellent. Everyday the sheets and towels replaced. The food is excellent, they cater for both English & Sri Lankans. The staff are very courteous and nothing is too much trouble. Of course at the end of the day everyone wants a tip - we tipped the pool man, the room boys, and a poor man on the beach who had no arms and one leg (by the way he wasnt begging - we gave without him asking) we gave 1000 rupees (about £6.50) to each of these people - please bear in mind that they only earn £65.00 a MONTH and have to work like crazy. We also gave another 1000 each to the beach boys - who arranged a 2 day trip to Yala (game reserve) for us. Considering what the Sri Lankans endured in 2004 we were more than happy to be able to help just a few people. A beautiful country with lovely people.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryandvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    71
    41
    23
    24
See reviews for
60
105
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We arrived at this hotel after a 6 day tour of Sri Lanka staying in 5 different hotels all of which were of a very high standard yet only 3 or 4 star. For some reason the travel company (they will remain nameless for now) that booked our entire holiday who describe themselves as Travel agents for the discerning traveller let themselves down badly with the Club Palm Garden. This hotel is awful - possibly the worst I have ever stayed in.

After a longer than usual wait in reception we were taken to our family room right at the end of one wing of the hotel, on the third floor. Before we reached the room we couldn't help but notice the heavy amounts of construction work going on in the building next door which was no more than 8 metres away from the third floor. Clouds of dust and the noise of heavy machinery emanated from the building site.

Once in the "suite" which was divided by sliding doors that didn't slide, the overall condition was un-cared for and very dated. Tsunami damage was still evident 6 years on. Nothing worked properly. Both ceilings fans were dangerously wobbly and not properly attached to the ceiling. The air conditioners looked ancient and only had one setting - "on". The control switch for the air con in one room fell out of the console when used. The sliding doors out to the balcony were in a poor state with sharp screws sticking dangerously out of them and the balcony outside looked like it had had no attention at all with peeling paint on the tiles and balcony railing. Unfortunately the balcony on one side overlooked the beach bar from where a constant buzz of hideous Euro-pop music blared and on the other the Kitchen slop-room and communal toilets for the residents at the pool.

The bathroom was absolutely disgusting. The hand basin tap would not turn off , the once white bath mat was grey and dirty, the bath had been painted with emulsion and had peeled off in large patches and the plug hole was almost blocked with bits of peeled paint. If I had been stupid enough to get in the bath it would have been pointless as the old plastic plug had a hole in it the size of a 1p coin. The paint around the edge of the bath looked like it had been applied by a three year old who more than likely was asked to do the grouting as well.

We decided to leave any complaints until after we had had dinner. The food was mediocre and the service terrible. When finally approached for drink orders our waiter informed me that if I wanted a Vodka and tonic or any spirit drink I would have to leave my table (and my food) and go to the bar upstairs to get it! Eventually I managed to persuade the restaurant manager to arrange to have my tonic heavy V&T brought to the table.
On returning to our room to avoid the advertised "entertainment" the building work was still in full flow. We decided to try one of the games rooms to get away from the noise and dust of the building work - if there had been a TV in the room we probably wouldn't have heard it anyway. All the games equipment was so old it was falling apart and on retrieving a stray ping pong ball discovered a large cockroach under a table. We braved returning to our room and by 10.30pm we had had enough of the continuing building work next door. I picked up the phone to complain but it didn't work so I made my way to reception and demanded to see the duty manager. He eventually appeared and apologised for the noise of the building work and said he would see what he could do about it. I then asked if he had ever been in Room 332 and if he felt that it was in a fit state to put guests in. I invited him to have a look but he declined. After running through the long list of complaints he said that the hotel was fully booked and that he would not be able to move us to other rooms until the following evening. I told him that that was unacceptable and after considerable pressure he assured me that we would be moved after breakfast the next morning. I returned to the room and finally - at around 11pm - the building noise stopped.

At 4pm the next day we were finally given one of two adjoining rooms - the other would not be ready until 5.30pm - on the opposite side of the hotel despite hourly visits to reception to ask what had happened to the after breakfast deadline. The new rooms were a considerable improvement but still not worthy of a 3 star rating. Even the communal areas were in a state. Most of the sun loungers were broken, there were broken and missing tiles in and around the pool and a rather disgusting greasy rim mark all the way around the pool just above water level which I discovered when my back stuck to it. I could go on but I think I've gone on long enough.

It came as no surprise to learn that the hotel is closing down next month for a year long refurbishment. Unfortunately, even if it was upgraded to 4 or 5 star status I would never stay here again. It's only redeeming feature is it's proximity to the beach. The whole place should be knocked down and rebuilt and given a new name. It's a shame as it ruined what had been a fantastic holiday until we checked into the Club Palm Garden Hotel - a hotel that lets Sri Lanka down badly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeytoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beruwala hotels

bangalore, glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Awesome service, Very friendly personnel,
The Waiters were very friendly with us Indians too!
In other hotels we were not treated well at all.
Huge Resort, nicely spaced out! Lotta European Crowd, barely Asians (which was surprising)... VERY MUCH AN UNDISCOVERED PLACE

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me_nishil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We loved Sri Lanka and it's people. Club Palm Garden is tired and in need of the planned renovations but we had a great time. The staff set up sun beds for us every morning without us having to ask. The animation staff were tireless and kept us entertained from 10.00 a.m. with water arobics and then throughout the day if we wanted to get involved. They always tried to include us but no pressure. Most evenings they put on a show, very amature but great fun. The buffet meals were good but you had to be quick or the food ran out. There was often hardly any salad available. The all inclusive drinks were very limited and if you wanted wine you had to pay for it. The room was clean and spacious, shower was terrible but we managed. We asked for a mosquito net and the hotel provided plug in anti mosquite tablets. The room cleaner changed thebed every day and decorated it with flowers.
It is about a 30 minute walk into the village or you can get a tuk tuk which is great fun. We found a really good jeweller just along the beach from the hotel called Topaz. They will make any jewellery you ask for with no obligation to buy it if you decide you don't like it. I had a lovely amethyst bracelet and earings made and they were beautiful. Friends with us also had jewellery made and they were really pleased.
We had a most amazing 4 day trip doing most of the cultural triangle, a bit rushed, really we needed more time. We arranged this with one of the beach boys and it was very good.
We did get fed up with the beach boys and the people who tagged on to us wherever we went. but they were always polite and not threatening in anyway, just a nuisance.
We will definitely return to Sri Lanka as we don't feel we have seen it all yet.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanaespana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

After a rainy week in the North of the island we were realy looking forward to a few days on the beach, but unfortunately our choice of hotel was a disaster. The hotel is realy run down , the staff unprofessional and the sewer smell on the stairs to the dining room was realy awful. The food at breakfast and dinner was very bad and limited and so was the service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KATHLEENgREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar,
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

A very nice resort set on a very long stretch of a wonderful beach. Its one of the best views which one can get for a beach and I loved every bit of it. At New year eve it was pricy, but should be OK otherwise. Though the New year programme was pretty below par but the activities arranged by the animation team during the day keeps all young and old occupied. Lots of sports like tennis, table tennis, Billiard, golf, Water Polo, Archery, Darts, Beach Volley Ball, Bocia, Badminton etc. Rooms were clean and spacious. Slightly tip expecting staff is a bit upsetting. Good pool and nice buffets. Daily good evening cultural events. All in all fun for happening people, No space for Boredom.
Amitabh

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We have just come back from 2 weeks in Sri Lanka, one week on a tour and one week at Club Palm Gardens. The hotel was good value for what we paid, although we thought the hotel needed a refurbishment , which i believe will happen next March, the rooms were cleaned everyday, sheets & towels changed everyday, there was plenty of food available so we could find something that everybody would like.The staff were friendly & couldn't do enough for us, they entertained us during the day, and at night put on a some sort of entertainment, overall we had a good time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southenderUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.0 km away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Beruwala
800 reviews
0.0 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,632 reviews
0.0 km away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#5 of 10 in Beruwala
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.0 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bentota
825 reviews
0.0 km away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Garden

Property: Club Palm Garden
Address: Moragalla Beruwela Beach, Beruwala 80070, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Palm Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Club Palm Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Palm Garden Hotel Beruwala
Hotel Palm Garden
Club Palm Garden Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing