We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“more than one way to look at this” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Palm Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Palm Garden
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Beruwala
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“more than one way to look at this”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

we actualy stayed here 2009 and I must admit that I arrived here ill with root canal on my tooth so for the 1st week just wanted to relax and take my antibiotics well lets get to the nitty gritty the food it was good just not for us too much curry breakfast lunch and dinner but if you asked the chef he would help you out they are not used to western tastes but try there best yes the rooms smelt damp especialy the rigtht side of the building rooms looking at the beach but this was a couple of years ago we advised our son not to come here as he was due to stay here a couple of weeks after us also we asked if we could change hotels as we were not happy with things here the pool tiles the smell of the damp the food etc but when we did the other hotel was not very good either we then changed again and found a nice hotel but we also then realise we should have stayed where we was
Lets look at this again there was a sunami it devasted the country we all felt pity for here we saw the devastation that was brought to here how long does it last though when did we forget that the wanter reached up to the 2nd floor the hotel next door when we went was still full of mud the people were still hurting and tried to get the hotels open again as soon as possible to bring money to the people so they could work for a days pay and start to rebuild this country by there own hands not just by charity the prices were low as everyone says we only paid for one week get one week free the best price for a long haul destination and all inclusive. so if we have to have a bit of a damp smell and we have to put up with paint pealing and it is in need of updating yes it is a buetifull country the people are fantastic they make you part of their family often introducing you to them you release the baby turtles that they are protesting and realeasing and they show you an unforgetable esperience with the elephants but know lets knock them down again or should we not look under the paint to what is underneath a lovely country and a great nation.

Room Tip: ask the management for there best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    70
    41
    22
    24
See reviews for
60
103
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

I can only describe this hotel as horrific, almost (only almost, mind) comically so.

We had booked a private tour of sri lanka and our tour organiser decided to 'upgrade' us to this hotel on our last night.

After a long drive there, it took half an hour to check in, because reception were inefficient, rude, and our room was not ready in spite of us arriving 3 hours after check-in opened.

When we got to our room it was dirty, full of stains, and had spectacular damp up the walls. The hotel assistant told us this was 'the painting style' of the hotel, and not damp, in spite of the fact that the wall was actually wet to touch, with sections coming away. Some of the lights didn't work, the air conditioning looked, quite frankly, toxic and so we chose not to use it, and the bed sheets did not look new, and were peeled back with anticipation of bugs.

The real joys started when we ventured out of the room (with our compulsory 'hotel guest' wristbands on) to discover that the hotel is entirely full of sunbathing germans, and old people. In fact to our amazement, the hotel garden (which is huge) was so full that we couldn't get a sun lounger at first. You have to request towels, and check them in and out on a timed-sheet, which makes you feel as though the hotel suspect you are going to steal them.

The pool was dirty, and the beach just beyond the complex was also dirty, and over-run with touts in a way that many other touristy parts of sri lanka simply are not. We found it impossible to watch the sunset without being asked to buy things every couple of minutes.

The hotel food also leaves something to be desired, and is buffet style, which means that you have to form an orderly queue, of say 40 people long, in order to get to the luke-warm, often unidentifiable food, which you then eat in a darkly-lit room with the other 300 people staying there.

Essentially, this is the hotel for you if you want to go to Sri Lanka and not experience any of what the country is really like, if you like your hotel to be dirty, stained, and a bit like Butlins for Germans (I am half german, i really have nothing against the germans at all - it was just astonishing how many hundreds and hundreds of them were there) and if you want terrible service.

In many ways, i have genuinely never stayed somewhere so awful.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose_Carmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beruwala hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Like trippers before, we found that the hotel was in need of some tlc. It is due to merge in 2011 with a couple of other hotels, when it is expected that it will be receiving some remedial attention. Having said that, while we were there some "painting" of the building was taking place - it's to be hoped that they are going to do more than that! Generally speaking this was amongst the worst hotels I've probably stayed at - limited choice of food at all meal times and the hot food frequently wasn't - then again if you insist on placing it under the air conditioning units it's hardly surprising. This was fairly typical of the hotel management, such as it is, being fairly clueless about what to do and how to do it - then again as many of the staff were having to re-apply for their jobs under the new incoming regime, perhaps they just didn't care - don't expect to see too many of them if I ever risk going back! All in all, the new owners have their work cut out to bring this part of their new resort up to scratch.
As far as location is concerned it is a considerable drive from Colombo airport - approx 2-3 hours subject to time of day (and level of lunacy of taxi driver). The hotel is so near to the larger and better known resort of Bentota that presumably it is only in Beruwela due to some local boundary issues. Not that being in Bentota would do much for it - it is a reasonable walk into Bentota town, approx 20-30 minutes, but not too much trouble and there is a regular market and a number of shops there - although it is down the main road mostly. If you like to go out and about it is perfectly safe and generally speaking you will get a good deal on trips etc. - don't book via the hotel rep. etc. unless you are not a particularly confident traveller - avoid booking with the beach boys (do get a price from them if you've got any ideas of where you want to go) - have a chat with the tuk tuk drivers out on the main road and you'll probably get them to take you for about half the price the beach boys quote - do haggle over price, they expect it and will mostly give in or at least meet you on price. We went to Galle in a tuk tuk for the day (a really good day out and costs approx 3000 RS / £17)- via a few "obligatory" stops on the way (don't worry about these, the tuk tuk driver knows the guide at most places he stops - temples, ayurvedic gardens, turtle farms etc. - all very pleasant and costing just a 100 RS / 60p or so at most stops). We also had a run out for the afternoon in the local area with one of the beach boys in a tuk tuk for about 300 RS.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Been to Sri Lanka 3 times and stayed in different hotels and venues. We usually travel 4 or 5 star so The Club Palm garden when first entering looks well used, BUT is very clean. They are closing in April for a complete refurbishment and will then be upgraded 4 star. BUT you will get no better services than you are getting now - the service was excellent. Everyday the sheets and towels replaced. The food is excellent, they cater for both English & Sri Lankans. The staff are very courteous and nothing is too much trouble. Of course at the end of the day everyone wants a tip - we tipped the pool man, the room boys, and a poor man on the beach who had no arms and one leg (by the way he wasnt begging - we gave without him asking) we gave 1000 rupees (about £6.50) to each of these people - please bear in mind that they only earn £65.00 a MONTH and have to work like crazy. We also gave another 1000 each to the beach boys - who arranged a 2 day trip to Yala (game reserve) for us. Considering what the Sri Lankans endured in 2004 we were more than happy to be able to help just a few people. A beautiful country with lovely people.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barryandvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We arrived at this hotel after a 6 day tour of Sri Lanka staying in 5 different hotels all of which were of a very high standard yet only 3 or 4 star. For some reason the travel company (they will remain nameless for now) that booked our entire holiday who describe themselves as Travel agents for the discerning traveller let themselves down badly with the Club Palm Garden. This hotel is awful - possibly the worst I have ever stayed in.

After a longer than usual wait in reception we were taken to our family room right at the end of one wing of the hotel, on the third floor. Before we reached the room we couldn't help but notice the heavy amounts of construction work going on in the building next door which was no more than 8 metres away from the third floor. Clouds of dust and the noise of heavy machinery emanated from the building site.

Once in the "suite" which was divided by sliding doors that didn't slide, the overall condition was un-cared for and very dated. Tsunami damage was still evident 6 years on. Nothing worked properly. Both ceilings fans were dangerously wobbly and not properly attached to the ceiling. The air conditioners looked ancient and only had one setting - "on". The control switch for the air con in one room fell out of the console when used. The sliding doors out to the balcony were in a poor state with sharp screws sticking dangerously out of them and the balcony outside looked like it had had no attention at all with peeling paint on the tiles and balcony railing. Unfortunately the balcony on one side overlooked the beach bar from where a constant buzz of hideous Euro-pop music blared and on the other the Kitchen slop-room and communal toilets for the residents at the pool.

The bathroom was absolutely disgusting. The hand basin tap would not turn off , the once white bath mat was grey and dirty, the bath had been painted with emulsion and had peeled off in large patches and the plug hole was almost blocked with bits of peeled paint. If I had been stupid enough to get in the bath it would have been pointless as the old plastic plug had a hole in it the size of a 1p coin. The paint around the edge of the bath looked like it had been applied by a three year old who more than likely was asked to do the grouting as well.

We decided to leave any complaints until after we had had dinner. The food was mediocre and the service terrible. When finally approached for drink orders our waiter informed me that if I wanted a Vodka and tonic or any spirit drink I would have to leave my table (and my food) and go to the bar upstairs to get it! Eventually I managed to persuade the restaurant manager to arrange to have my tonic heavy V&T brought to the table.
On returning to our room to avoid the advertised "entertainment" the building work was still in full flow. We decided to try one of the games rooms to get away from the noise and dust of the building work - if there had been a TV in the room we probably wouldn't have heard it anyway. All the games equipment was so old it was falling apart and on retrieving a stray ping pong ball discovered a large cockroach under a table. We braved returning to our room and by 10.30pm we had had enough of the continuing building work next door. I picked up the phone to complain but it didn't work so I made my way to reception and demanded to see the duty manager. He eventually appeared and apologised for the noise of the building work and said he would see what he could do about it. I then asked if he had ever been in Room 332 and if he felt that it was in a fit state to put guests in. I invited him to have a look but he declined. After running through the long list of complaints he said that the hotel was fully booked and that he would not be able to move us to other rooms until the following evening. I told him that that was unacceptable and after considerable pressure he assured me that we would be moved after breakfast the next morning. I returned to the room and finally - at around 11pm - the building noise stopped.

At 4pm the next day we were finally given one of two adjoining rooms - the other would not be ready until 5.30pm - on the opposite side of the hotel despite hourly visits to reception to ask what had happened to the after breakfast deadline. The new rooms were a considerable improvement but still not worthy of a 3 star rating. Even the communal areas were in a state. Most of the sun loungers were broken, there were broken and missing tiles in and around the pool and a rather disgusting greasy rim mark all the way around the pool just above water level which I discovered when my back stuck to it. I could go on but I think I've gone on long enough.

It came as no surprise to learn that the hotel is closing down next month for a year long refurbishment. Unfortunately, even if it was upgraded to 4 or 5 star status I would never stay here again. It's only redeeming feature is it's proximity to the beach. The whole place should be knocked down and rebuilt and given a new name. It's a shame as it ruined what had been a fantastic holiday until we checked into the Club Palm Garden Hotel - a hotel that lets Sri Lanka down badly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeytoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore, glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Awesome service, Very friendly personnel,
The Waiters were very friendly with us Indians too!
In other hotels we were not treated well at all.
Huge Resort, nicely spaced out! Lotta European Crowd, barely Asians (which was surprising)... VERY MUCH AN UNDISCOVERED PLACE

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me_nishil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We loved Sri Lanka and it's people. Club Palm Garden is tired and in need of the planned renovations but we had a great time. The staff set up sun beds for us every morning without us having to ask. The animation staff were tireless and kept us entertained from 10.00 a.m. with water arobics and then throughout the day if we wanted to get involved. They always tried to include us but no pressure. Most evenings they put on a show, very amature but great fun. The buffet meals were good but you had to be quick or the food ran out. There was often hardly any salad available. The all inclusive drinks were very limited and if you wanted wine you had to pay for it. The room was clean and spacious, shower was terrible but we managed. We asked for a mosquito net and the hotel provided plug in anti mosquite tablets. The room cleaner changed thebed every day and decorated it with flowers.
It is about a 30 minute walk into the village or you can get a tuk tuk which is great fun. We found a really good jeweller just along the beach from the hotel called Topaz. They will make any jewellery you ask for with no obligation to buy it if you decide you don't like it. I had a lovely amethyst bracelet and earings made and they were beautiful. Friends with us also had jewellery made and they were really pleased.
We had a most amazing 4 day trip doing most of the cultural triangle, a bit rushed, really we needed more time. We arranged this with one of the beach boys and it was very good.
We did get fed up with the beach boys and the people who tagged on to us wherever we went. but they were always polite and not threatening in anyway, just a nuisance.
We will definitely return to Sri Lanka as we don't feel we have seen it all yet.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanaespana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.0 km away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#5 of 9 in Beruwala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.0 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 9 in Beruwala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.0 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.0 km away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.0 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Garden

Property: Club Palm Garden
Address: Moragalla Beruwela Beach, Beruwala 80070, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club Palm Garden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Club Palm Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Palm Garden Hotel Beruwala
Hotel Palm Garden
Club Palm Garden Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing