We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not our cup of tea”
Review of Club Palm Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Palm Garden
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Reviewed 14 January 2012

the facility is set next to a beach where you could swim "at your own risk"beautiful sand though,lots of people there trying hard to sell you something making even strolling on the beach unappealing
The hotel itself has seen better days,the service is atrociously slow even by Sri Lanka standards,the food is below average in quality even though there is quantity.
The place appears to cater to Russian families with low budgets and gargantuan appetites for spaghettis and pizzas,not our cup of tea altogether
The pool is the worst we encountered in Sri Lanka with only a small portion deep enough for swimming

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

I had stayed in Club Palm Garden in March 2010 and..... I met my husband there :-)

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sylwia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Had 1 week here for honeymoon in August 2010 and although the people were nice (some didnt speak much english) the hotel was very basic and needed updating. The food was always cooked nice and was some selection, the pool area was nice but the pool side itself was cracked and dirty in places. The hotel itself is guarded by police 24/7 with a perimeter fence around it. The rooms were never spotlessly clean.

Direct access to the beach at the back of the hotel but as soon as you leave the perimeter, local people on the beach hound you to buy stuff, they are not allowed onto the hotel grounds which is good but you cannot have a peaceful walk on the beach without being pestered - this was a real downer for us.

We had a lovely meal in the treehouse as it was out honeymoon with personal waiter service and a 6 course meal but it was an extra cost.

The bathroom was a real disappointment, toilet and shower was stained and accumulated stains by what seemed over several months; you cant leave balcony door open as mozzies would come in. We didn't leave the complex for the whole week as without the protection of the police on the perimeter, we were scared to go out as the traffic on the roads was an utter nightmare during the day; drivers over there do not care at all and the traffic is very dangerous to be in amongst.

We had 4 days of solid rain which couldn't have been helped but there several leaks in the hotel one of which was in the snooker room which ruined the table. This room was also not very clean.

When we left we was told that the hotel was going to be completely refurbished in 2011 so it may be very different now but when we went, we did not recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms were the same so no matter where you were, there would be no difference and never spotless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dellie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

we actualy stayed here 2009 and I must admit that I arrived here ill with root canal on my tooth so for the 1st week just wanted to relax and take my antibiotics well lets get to the nitty gritty the food it was good just not for us too much curry breakfast lunch and dinner but if you asked the chef he would help you out they are not used to western tastes but try there best yes the rooms smelt damp especialy the rigtht side of the building rooms looking at the beach but this was a couple of years ago we advised our son not to come here as he was due to stay here a couple of weeks after us also we asked if we could change hotels as we were not happy with things here the pool tiles the smell of the damp the food etc but when we did the other hotel was not very good either we then changed again and found a nice hotel but we also then realise we should have stayed where we was
Lets look at this again there was a sunami it devasted the country we all felt pity for here we saw the devastation that was brought to here how long does it last though when did we forget that the wanter reached up to the 2nd floor the hotel next door when we went was still full of mud the people were still hurting and tried to get the hotels open again as soon as possible to bring money to the people so they could work for a days pay and start to rebuild this country by there own hands not just by charity the prices were low as everyone says we only paid for one week get one week free the best price for a long haul destination and all inclusive. so if we have to have a bit of a damp smell and we have to put up with paint pealing and it is in need of updating yes it is a buetifull country the people are fantastic they make you part of their family often introducing you to them you release the baby turtles that they are protesting and realeasing and they show you an unforgetable esperience with the elephants but know lets knock them down again or should we not look under the paint to what is underneath a lovely country and a great nation.

Room Tip: ask the management for there best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I can only describe this hotel as horrific, almost (only almost, mind) comically so.

We had booked a private tour of sri lanka and our tour organiser decided to 'upgrade' us to this hotel on our last night.

After a long drive there, it took half an hour to check in, because reception were inefficient, rude, and our room was not ready in spite of us arriving 3 hours after check-in opened.

When we got to our room it was dirty, full of stains, and had spectacular damp up the walls. The hotel assistant told us this was 'the painting style' of the hotel, and not damp, in spite of the fact that the wall was actually wet to touch, with sections coming away. Some of the lights didn't work, the air conditioning looked, quite frankly, toxic and so we chose not to use it, and the bed sheets did not look new, and were peeled back with anticipation of bugs.

The real joys started when we ventured out of the room (with our compulsory 'hotel guest' wristbands on) to discover that the hotel is entirely full of sunbathing germans, and old people. In fact to our amazement, the hotel garden (which is huge) was so full that we couldn't get a sun lounger at first. You have to request towels, and check them in and out on a timed-sheet, which makes you feel as though the hotel suspect you are going to steal them.

The pool was dirty, and the beach just beyond the complex was also dirty, and over-run with touts in a way that many other touristy parts of sri lanka simply are not. We found it impossible to watch the sunset without being asked to buy things every couple of minutes.

The hotel food also leaves something to be desired, and is buffet style, which means that you have to form an orderly queue, of say 40 people long, in order to get to the luke-warm, often unidentifiable food, which you then eat in a darkly-lit room with the other 300 people staying there.

Essentially, this is the hotel for you if you want to go to Sri Lanka and not experience any of what the country is really like, if you like your hotel to be dirty, stained, and a bit like Butlins for Germans (I am half german, i really have nothing against the germans at all - it was just astonishing how many hundreds and hundreds of them were there) and if you want terrible service.

In many ways, i have genuinely never stayed somewhere so awful.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose_Carmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Like trippers before, we found that the hotel was in need of some tlc. It is due to merge in 2011 with a couple of other hotels, when it is expected that it will be receiving some remedial attention. Having said that, while we were there some "painting" of the building was taking place - it's to be hoped that they are going to do more than that! Generally speaking this was amongst the worst hotels I've probably stayed at - limited choice of food at all meal times and the hot food frequently wasn't - then again if you insist on placing it under the air conditioning units it's hardly surprising. This was fairly typical of the hotel management, such as it is, being fairly clueless about what to do and how to do it - then again as many of the staff were having to re-apply for their jobs under the new incoming regime, perhaps they just didn't care - don't expect to see too many of them if I ever risk going back! All in all, the new owners have their work cut out to bring this part of their new resort up to scratch.
As far as location is concerned it is a considerable drive from Colombo airport - approx 2-3 hours subject to time of day (and level of lunacy of taxi driver). The hotel is so near to the larger and better known resort of Bentota that presumably it is only in Beruwela due to some local boundary issues. Not that being in Bentota would do much for it - it is a reasonable walk into Bentota town, approx 20-30 minutes, but not too much trouble and there is a regular market and a number of shops there - although it is down the main road mostly. If you like to go out and about it is perfectly safe and generally speaking you will get a good deal on trips etc. - don't book via the hotel rep. etc. unless you are not a particularly confident traveller - avoid booking with the beach boys (do get a price from them if you've got any ideas of where you want to go) - have a chat with the tuk tuk drivers out on the main road and you'll probably get them to take you for about half the price the beach boys quote - do haggle over price, they expect it and will mostly give in or at least meet you on price. We went to Galle in a tuk tuk for the day (a really good day out and costs approx 3000 RS / £17)- via a few "obligatory" stops on the way (don't worry about these, the tuk tuk driver knows the guide at most places he stops - temples, ayurvedic gardens, turtle farms etc. - all very pleasant and costing just a 100 RS / 60p or so at most stops). We also had a run out for the afternoon in the local area with one of the beach boys in a tuk tuk for about 300 RS.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Been to Sri Lanka 3 times and stayed in different hotels and venues. We usually travel 4 or 5 star so The Club Palm garden when first entering looks well used, BUT is very clean. They are closing in April for a complete refurbishment and will then be upgraded 4 star. BUT you will get no better services than you are getting now - the service was excellent. Everyday the sheets and towels replaced. The food is excellent, they cater for both English & Sri Lankans. The staff are very courteous and nothing is too much trouble. Of course at the end of the day everyone wants a tip - we tipped the pool man, the room boys, and a poor man on the beach who had no arms and one leg (by the way he wasnt begging - we gave without him asking) we gave 1000 rupees (about £6.50) to each of these people - please bear in mind that they only earn £65.00 a MONTH and have to work like crazy. We also gave another 1000 each to the beach boys - who arranged a 2 day trip to Yala (game reserve) for us. Considering what the Sri Lankans endured in 2004 we were more than happy to be able to help just a few people. A beautiful country with lovely people.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barryandvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.0 km away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#4 of 11 in Beruwala
860 reviews
0.0 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,745 reviews
0.0 km away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#3 of 11 in Beruwala
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,301 reviews
0.0 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,202 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa Velmarie
Villa Velmarie
#1 of 1 in Maggona
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Garden

Address: Moragalla Beruwela Beach, Beruwala 80070, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Price Range: $76 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Palm Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Club Palm Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Palm Garden Hotel Beruwala
Hotel Palm Garden
Club Palm Garden Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing