We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Party 8.2.2014”
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beach Party 8.2.2014”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just sat in the lounge area of the hotel and thought we would take advantage of the 'free' wifi this hotel offers. We are surprised to find the review about the recent beach party this hotel has provided for its guests! This party started at 7 in the evening and finished at midnight. We feel it is not a true reflection in the other review, as we found that the majority of the hotel guests actually attended the party and enjoyed it, eating, drinking and even dancing, ..as the music was a mix covering all tastes from the 60's to present day. This is our third visit to Sri Lanka so have stayed in other hotels also, though we have found the all staff and management both approachable, helpful and friendly. Food and chefs fantastic and extremely happy to cook something there and then in front of you if you wish. Our room guy is amazing! We have been here for 2weeks now and have 1 more to go ....Adams Peak awaits ...god help us! ;) ...Another Beach Party would be good too!!!! ;))

Room Tip: We prefer the higher floor, however all rooms faced the Indian Ocean so all the views are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gl0be_Tr0tters30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    235
    123
    57
    39
See reviews for
246
308
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

before booking we went through tripadvisor. we are glade that we didnt listen to any of the negative points. we arrived early afternoon to the hotel. lovely pool with a open air lobby with the reception. the staff was very attentive. food was great. we loved the seafood restaurant.... thanks for the hospitality.... we never miss our family as we felt its like our home......

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thenuwez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at several good hotels whilst touring Sri Lanka and this was an excellent location where we could chill out (32C and humid) for the last couple of days of our holiday. The rooms are comfortable but in the process of being upgraded, the buffet meals were good with an ample choice of courses, there is a nice swimming pool with shaded garden area and the beach is immediately in front of the pool area. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I spend a week in The Palms hotel, with my wife. The service was superb. breakfast was with wide choice of sri lankan food. The staff were very friendly and they are happy to help with any request. Hotel has lovely facilities and we had few meals at fisherman restaurant. Meals were fantastic. well maintain swim pool and nicely kept garden inviting us every morning. Room was clean and we had a lovely sea view from our balcony. we would definitly visit The Palms...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kenzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A nice hotel in a nice location with lovely pool and gardens adjoining the beach. Sadly the peace and tranquility that is promised by the hotel was not our experience; we had to endure a thumping beach party until midnight comprising techno-garage music that seemed inappropriate for the surroundings and the great majority of guests. On expressing our concerns to the management, there was no-one available who could tell us when it would end (anywhere between 22.00 and 'it may go on all night depending on to whom we spoke!) Hotel and restaurant management were indifferent towards guests and their staff pleasant but generally sloppy, not helped by few understanding much English. Wine either terrible (white was often not even chilled) or very expensive. Food OK and the rooms were clean, if a little jaded.

We struggle to reconcile our experience with other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

we arrived fortnight ago and found this hotel has many positive facilities to offer for the guest who needs peace and tranquility. the hotel is right on the edge of the sandy beach and sea is not rough and very safe. they have well experienced life guard on duty always and very vigilant !! though i was on all inclusive basis, i dined three times at their seafood restaurant and was thoroughly enjoyed the sumptuous meals. i stayed in Room no 302 which is overlooking the sea and the Room itself is perfect for anyone who look for comfort. the House keeping staff did a wonderful job and there was nothing to be mourn about !!
right from Senior Manageress to hotel staff are always helpful and very positive for any feedback you need to know. i have traveled many parts in the Globe and found the palms staff are the best i have seen and i have taken their ever smiling faces in my memories until i visit the palms hotel again next year and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who requires serenity in their life !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank muthu b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Paradise on the beach – I had the most wonderful stay in Sri Lanka and especially at the ‘The Palms Hotel’ on the Beach. I have to use this term ‘Paradise’ as this hotel has a wonderful beach front with a large beach, with safe swimming and very good for a morning jog. This gorgeous hotel is great even for old people like myself , as the staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the have a smile for you every time. The rooms are very very clean and are cleaned often, and these boys are very helpful and are the best. I did enjoy the food and the sea food dinner at their new Sea Food restaurant right on the beach, which was lit up by these real nice lanterns. Pls enjoy my pictures.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.3 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,634 reviews
2.7 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
4.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
18.1 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,234 reviews
8.6 km away
Pandanus Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Beruwela
The Palms Hotel Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing