We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Arena Hotel(Beruwala)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
392
279
136
63
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
279
136
63
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaseafood restaurantfisherman's wharfspecial meallobby areatuk tuksea viewindian oceanrelaxing holidaylive bandsea foodnice poolsuperb locationbuffet stylebreakfast and dinnerevery eveningbeach boys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to The Palms, last visit in Sri Lanka went to an other destination, but now we wanted what we knew we would get at The Palms: relaxation, peace and quiet, the lovely garden and the beach.
The staff is nice and service minded, it is very good to stay at the Palms.

But: we are not satisfied with the food. At every meal there are several dishes with warm and hot food, almost everything in gravy/curry, even vegetables. The fish is very small and dry, every time, only small pieces of meat, with bones and uneatable parts! It all tastes the same, breakfast and dinner. The boiled eggs are green! The bread is often not fresh, but dry and hard. At breakfast there is toast and jam, at dinner there is dessert, - all very well. But some times it i s hard to find other food to eat, Often we had lunch at the beach, just outside the Palms` garden, in a small restaurant with very, very good seafood and we have been travelling all over SL and know that food can be very good. It`s a shame that The Palms can`t make good food with so much good raw material. But this time we were invited by the hotel to a Beach party the evening before we were leaving. Here the food was very good, and we had a great time. So the kitchen at The Palms is able to deliver good food, why not every meal?

Despite our general dissatisfaction by the food, we want to come back, every thing else is so nice and good here.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sigrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Assistant Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your comments with regards to your recent stay with us .

We wish to thank you for your constructive feedback .We do regret to hear that certain aspects with related to your stay had not met your expectations.We have taken note of all your comments for our betterment .

We look forward in welcoming you and your family once more

We wish you a pleasant day.

Ruchira Karunarathne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to this hotel when I required a desperate rest and relaxing environment with my family. Thankfully, my expectations were matched.

Reception staff were nice and polite and handled the things quickly and proceeded to the lobby area and got a welcome drink. The room I got was large and clean with all the amenities and had a little balcony. Bathroom was bit small but clean and nice.

Then we went to beach and the beach area is beautiful, super clean and large enough to enjoy with your family. Then came to the swimming pool and it was what my child enjoyed a lot and fair to say, it was a very nice experience.

I spent the stay as half-board and both dinner and breakfast were very good and tasty. But the variety is less comparing with the other hotels of the same area with my experience. Specially, when you don't find hoppers in the breakfast in a hotel in Sri Lanka. But again, whatever the served food during the dinner and breakfast were very good and we enjoyed.

All in all the whole experience, environment, service of the staff, facilities were really really good.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chamara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Assistant Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive endorsement of the warm hospitable service we deliver.

We appreciate you highlighting the factors that have won you over and we look forward to welcoming you back at the resort for many more holiday visits to come.

Once again we thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Thank you and best regards
Ruchira Karunarathne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great services, excellent location, terrific hospitality sense providing assistance to the guest (a specific mention to Imasha-Guest relation officier ... āyubōvan to you in your life and career). I would like to express my gratitude to all employees dedicated to make our stay unforgettable. Thanks to the General Manager in his/her dedication to making this hotel an excellent choice for vacations.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank webhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Ruchira Karunarathne at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us.It is always pleasing to hear that our guests were left highly satisfied with their overall experience. It's nice to read that you were pleased with your over-all experience and happy with service provided by our caring staff, facilities and the culinary experience.

Thank you & best regards.
Ruchira Karunarathne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Surprisingly good wifi. The whole lobby, pool area and the garden in front is covered with relatively fast wifi.

Food
Breakfast: buffet, big variety, starts being repetitive after a week. Almost as delicious as in Europe.
Lunch: buffet, mediocre, yet still good. 2000lkr per person
Dinner: buffet, huge variety, no fruits, delicious. Sometimes has some theme (Asian, American, etc.) 2500lkr
Second restaurant: a la carte. Not worth the price.
Bar is decent.
Up to four restaurants within 5 min walking. Mostly about sea food.

Entertainment
Pool for adults 90-160cm deep, partially covered by balconies. Pool for kids 60cm deep, no shade.
Billard and table tennis room. Poorly ventilated, yet with air conditioning.
Live Music in the hall next to the bar each evening till 23:00.
Garden with palms, exotic birds, live fish and chipmunks.

Spa and gym
Massage can't be recommended, nothing special. Gym is there, equipment is old, but fine.

Beach
No Coral reef. Very flat sandy surface, cleaned daily. Sometimes dirty under water since the river and other hotels are around. Up to 2,5m tides for first 20m of sea. Then a very calm water. A lagoon with quicksand in 200m to the right, sometimes smells. Almost always a red flag, means no recommendation for swimming.

Room
Quite old but everything is working and maintained. Ground floor has access to the pool directly. Each room has it's own wifi repeater WOW. Sound insulation is mediocre, especially against loud music in the lobby till 23. Some pets were found (cockroaches) in the shower.

Staff
Friendly, polite, always helpful. Sometimes lacking English. But perfectly fine with simple English.

City
Big village within 5 min with TukTuk for 50-200lkr. Had everything you need.

Overall:
Good hotel, with amazing garden, lobby, decent pool and fun beach. 1:30 from airport. Yet a bit old but well maintained. The food will satisfy everyone including the outside beach reastaurants.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Assistant Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at The Palms, Beruwala. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Thank you & best regards,
Ruchira Karunarathne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful moment after few days across this lovely country ! People in this hotel are nice and every thing is do for tourists. The view is magic. The welcome is excellent. The staff are very professional and always with smile.
An hotel that you have to visit.

From a french group

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank patvigfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_CFH, Assistant Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much for selecting The Palms, Beruwala as your preferred holiday destination and we thank you for bringing up your feedback of your experience.

We will be very much thankful if you could let us know your future plans of visiting us, so that we can be ready to serve you even better in this Magical Palms.
Thanks & Regards,
Ruchira Karunarathne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews