We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fab Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Center Parcs De Kempervennen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westerhoven
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This was my second visit to Der kempervennan with a ten year gap between the two and some of the reviews on here worried me before our holiday started. I need not have worried. We had a great time and facilities in the main were truly excellent.
More importantly the cost of the holiday was just over a third of the price for CP in the UK. I would urge anybody that has never looked at CP abroad to seriously consider taking the plunge. I have been to Longleat twice and loved it but the prices beggar belief. £1500 for a week compared to £600 at Der Kempervennan at peak time. We used Tesco Club Card vouchers for Eurotunnel and even taking in to account fuel this is a massive saving. I agree with the last poster about Antwerp. A real bottleneck both ways. Might be worth going via Brussels but I havent investigated this in detail. Der kempervennan has some great activities most other CP cant offer. Skiing obviously but the intro to sub aqua was brilliant and excellent value. The arrangement for wake boarding and water skiing is ingenious and much easier than speed boats. If you have never been skiing the snow dome offers a brilliant introduction with very good value lessons in a learner friendly environment with very friendly English speaking instructors. If you are a good skier you will be bored in minutes. I am only an ok skier and so enjoyed boosting my confidence whilst the family had lessons. We had the cheapest villa but by booking early we got free location choice (Interestingly we booked two months before which by UK standards was late for Easter and we probably wouldnt have got in at Longleat.) we also got two free bikes for a week which was brilliant. Our villa was away from the main facilities by design but with bikes we were only two mins from anything. If we were walking it might have been an issue. The basic villa was more than adequate for us but yes if you want to use the savings over a UK CP stay then a better villa would be even better. The house boats look amazing especially in the Easter Heatwave we had but it might not be worth the increased premium in bad weather. The restaurants are ok but Holland is not the gastronomic capital of the world and with the Euro eating out is expensive. Having said that we thought the market buffet was really good but at £25 for adults and over 12's its not cheap but worth doing at least once. All in all this holiday was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andwendads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
There are newer reviews for Center Parcs De Kempervennen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2011

We chose centre parcs Holland due to the fantastic extras you get with your booking, called Toppings, we had 2 bikes, 13 euros for the shop, 3 activities and our cottage had a free bread delivery service each morning which was fantastic.

Supermarket.

Good choice and prices were not excessive, there is a lidl in the town about 3 miles from the parc which is large and has alot of choice. We took most things with us from the UK .

Lodge

OMG we had the most stunning villa Eden 3 beds, NO 135, if your going book this one if you can. It is set on a lake with only 1 villa next door. 3 large bedrooms, 2 had bathrooms and the main had a vey large bathroom , walk in shower, etc just lovely.

Lounge was spacious with large flatscreen TV, Very nice kitchen, no oven you had to used the microwave to grill.

Large decking area with outside sauna and shower.

The most beautiful villa we have stayed in at centre parcs.

Aqua Mundo

Large pool area with the wave pool. rapids. Small outside area with Jacuzzi. Not as large a complex as the one in Les Bois but, still very enjoyable. You need to buy a token for the lockers at the pool and use a pass to get into the complex.

Snowdome

Very expensive in the cafe, we did not use the facilities but looks like people had fun.

Cycle Hire

***** get your bikes as soon as you have a voucher,. the centre ran out of bike by 5pm on our day of arrival *** You can always get them park them and go back later for them when you have taken your car to the car park after unloading.

This centre parcs was fantastic we enjoyed everything about it, it is very flat so easy to walk around, there is a small land train that takes people to villas that are set right back, If you don't have a bike I would opt for a bila close to the dome area.
Houseboats look fun but are quite a walk to the dome as there are no shortcuts through.

Driving from Calais is approx 3 hours, Antwerp is a nightmare so either catch early or as late as possible in the day, we had an hours delay going through, I think it was ring road 1 we had to follow.

Go and enjoy and i hope you like our pics, any questions please email

Room Tip: Memories are made here with children
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ontour2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We hired two adjacent bungalows for a chilly February weekend to bring together a family of 8 adults and 6 children of ages 2 - 12 for a family anniversary.

We paid extra for Premium Service, which gives you bed linen, towels and the beds made up. One party arrived early in the evening and moved into one bungalow and found everything OK. The other party arrived at about ten o'clock at night with three children who were ready to go to bed, took over the second bungalow, only to find no towels or bed linen. Phoning the help number resulted in a guard arriving with the sheets half an hour later, and the towels half an hour after that, but we had to make up the six beds ourselves, and by this time the children were more than fretful. When we complained to the manager at the reception desk the following morning, he maintained that they had fulfilled their duties by bringing the towels and bed linen, and refused to consider any compensation.

When it did arrive, the one single pillow for each bed was small and unsupportive.

Our check-in went smoothly (we speak Dutch) and then you can drive to your bungalow to unload. After that you are supposed to put your car on one of the main car parks, thus keeping the park more or less pedestrian only. This is fine, but it means that the signposting in the park is designed for pedestrians. The route by car to the bungalow was not explained adequately at check-in and that first drive to the bungalow, in the dark and in the rain, following the fingerposts was a nightmare leading into footpaths and streets marked with "no-entry" signs.

The bungalows were fine, well equipped, warm, clean, quiet, if a little tired with signs of mould on the outside walls., and well grouped, so you weren't too much aware of just how many of them there are on the site. The living area was big enough to allow us to bring in the table borrowed from the house next door and 12 people gathered round for our celebration, made cosy by the open hearth (burning only composite logs conveniently available in the park shop, in case the chimney caught fire).

The park offers a fantastic range of activities, and the children had a great time. Only the swimming pool comes in the price though, and the parents' hands were never out of their pockets. Being winter some things were not available, the otters had been moved, no boating, the Indian Village was closed. We were particularly impressed by the thoroughness and attentiveness of the staff on the high wire and zipwire activities. Even in February, though, things got busy on the Sunday afternoon, the queue for the minigolf became impossible and it was not possible to do archery because it was fully booked.

All in all an OK experience, but not really top-notch.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKexpat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I’ve already left a review for this holiday park so won’t repeat what I said earlier. This time we stayed in a boat house to be a little different. First the location. Clustered around one end of the lake you are able to leave your car nearby rather than having to return it to the car park, this is fine but you can’t get close to the accommodation to load/unload – some of the boats were considerably farther away than ours – not a problem if you travel light but as a fully loaded family bring mountains of luggage it’s a bit of a drag.

Next the boats. There’s a couple of different styles on offer. Ours was two stories with the lower story having two bedrooms (main bedroom has TV) and good large bathroom, that level is partially submerged – the windows are just above the waterline. Upstairs there’s a good kitchen, small table and lounge area with large TV. There’s a small rear and larger front outdoor area, the front area having table and chairs, the sliding patio door leading to that area is a pain to manage. We were there over the new year the lake was frozen solid so it was a little unusual and too cold to sit outside – I would expect it’s pleasant to sit out during the summer overlooking the lake.

We had several freebies with the package where you could decide what you wanted to spend them on. We had a couple of bikes and booked some activities for the kids. You also get several sauna passes – for some reason we got 8, think it should have been 4. These let you into the spa area (exchange for tokens in the pool) where there’s a couple of saunas, steam room, small outdoor pool and seating area. It was very quiet when we were there mainly as people don’t really know it’s there – just a side door at the back of the pool. Also, after 1pm it’s naked sauna so if you’re a Brit make sure you’re out by then.

Rest of the park was absolutely great, lots of skiing, big indoor tropical pool with slides, rapids etc, lots of activities. Finally, the Dutch absolutely love their fireworks and as the clock struck 12 on new years eve the whole park was ablaze with personal fireworks displays where people just put light-once-stand-well-back display units on the roads and patch, plus an organised display.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We love it here so much to do. And also a great place to relax should u want too. I would highly recommend the ski centre..

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentsteve83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was our second year at Center Parcs Kempervennen. We came for 4 nights last year and loved it so much we came again and stayed longer. We have 2 boys aged 15 and 12 and the holiday had something for all of us. The children have the freedom to go off to do sports, swim, cycle, we can catch up with them when we are ready - usually after leisurely reading the paper, drinking coffee and eating croissants.
The VIP Villa was really clean, we had our own sauna, flat screen tv, whirlpool bath and it was very comfortable. We had a 3 bed size villa which provides more space and we have learnt from past experience if the boys have their own rooms instead of sharing we have more peace!
Note there is no oven facilities, so if you are self-catering there is just a hob and microwave.
Fresh Bread was delivered to our door daily, usually a selection of rolls and croissants or current buns.
Eating out was not too expensive, but allow approx 20 euros per head. The Market Garden buffet provided a good selection of food to suit all of us, and the boys did not have to sit and wait to be served.
I had some excellent ski lessons in the Snow Dome with a fun tutor which made it easy to learn or improve. We all had a go on the Zip Wire (over water), Flying Fox Zip Wire (over land), and high ropes. You can book these in advance if you wish.
There is also a fantastic activity that you can book for children aged between 8 - 14 years which allows you to go down the rapides in the dome on boogie boards. The instructors were such fun and seemed to enjoy it all as much as the children.
The staff their are very helpful and friendly and all speak perfect English, I cannot praise them highly enough. They are just very natural and not over the top.
We had the basic Comfort Villa last year, which was just basic, but it was clean and had everything we needed. If you can afford to upgrade then do it but it is not absolutely necessary.
Last year we also went on a tour of the Eindhoven Stadium (30 mins away), the tour guide conducted the tour in English, and it is well worth doing if you have a sporting mad family.
Not too many Brit's but that may change if we keep raving about it. It is certainly cheaper to go here than Center Parcs in UK and we much prefer it here.
Go and enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bongo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The location of the hotel is fantastic, beautiful lake, nice surronding. However, we found the installations old and dirty. It needs a total redo. The food is nasty. The cabin is in desperate need of renovation, individual bedrooms are tiny, and bathroom was one of the smallest I have seen in a hotel. The parking areas were a totally mess, extremely muddy after rain. We were there for a week no room service and saw them clean the pool one day. I am not so excited about sitting in a pool of urine. Slow service at each restaurant. Claim to have WiFI but it does not work. If you go to Netherlands Dont waste your money to stay at Center Parcs De Kempervennen . I am sure I would have had a much better time if we stayed at a better resort. Also, we came in August when it is their rainy season. It was a horrible stay PLEASE DO NOT STAY THERE, and need to renovate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WichoCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerhoven
39.2 km away
Center Parcs Het Meerdal
7.8 km away
NH Eindhoven Conference Centre Koningshof
11.8 km away
Campanile Hotel Eindhoven
Campanile Hotel Eindhoven
#21 of 26 in Eindhoven
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Novotel Eindhoven
Novotel Eindhoven
#5 of 26 in Eindhoven
658 reviews
10.9 km away
Center Parcs de Vossemeren
22.7 km away
Center Parcs Erperheide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs De Kempervennen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs De Kempervennen

Address: Kempervennendreef 8, 5563 VB Westerhoven, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Westerhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westerhoven
Price Range: $97 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Center Parcs De Kempervennen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Kempervennen Holiday Park offers a varied, unique and sporty selection of activities for a carefree holiday. In addition to having a wonderful time in the subtropical leisure pool, strolling through the Market Dome - with various restaurants, a grand café and lovely shops – you can try climbing, baby and toddler swimming, archery or go in search of Big Mama. Or as a previous guest commented: “Perfect for our annual group holiday! Everything was within reach for a great week.” The park also has a number of unusual types of accommodation, such as the spacious Eden cottages and luxury houseboats. The countryside as a playground De Kempervennen has two large lakes where you can go diving in search of the giant catfish Big Mama. Or you can go water skiing and wake boarding on the water which you can also whoosh over on the Zip Wire. You can be in the beautiful Malpi nature reserve in minutes by mountain bike, but to be honest, you don’t even need to leave the park for a really great time. Jump into your skis or snowboard the whole year round in the 5500 m2 of real snow in Montana Snowcenter, try paintballing with your friends or gain your PADI diving certificate during one of the multiple-day courses. “Really great for the children” The innovative holiday park offers a huge number of great activities for children of all ages, both indoor and outdoor. Orry and his friends put on various shows while children can play at being a chef, princess, knight or painter. Or how about snorkelling among exotic fish, a DJ workshop or the Aqua Scooter which will pull you along under water? And there is an extensive and highly entertaining programme in the evenings, as witnessed by this enthusiastic guest: “Holland’s got Talent: eat your heart out..!!!” Come and discover for yourself why De Kempervennen, about fifteen kilometres south of Eindhoven, is rightly called the ‘Pearl of Center Parcs’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Center Parcs De Kempervennen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parcs De Kempervennen Hotel Westerhoven
Center Parcs De Kempervennen Westerhoven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing