We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Center Parcs De Kempervennen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westerhoven
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Our stay was really wonderful. The best thing to do is to book an eden cottage. It's not cheap, but it's very nice and with a lot of comfort. I had cottage nr 135, it was a pilot bungalow on a very calm location. It was around 10 min walk to the market dome. The cottage had 3 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms, a jacuzzi, a sunshower, a rainshower, a dishwasher, a sauna... It was really amazing. We had a vip service: towels, soap, breakfast..
The location of the cottage is good for people who like a calm stay, because there is only one neighboor. The view on the lake was amazing. The staff was very friendly. The aquapark was not specaculair, a little bit dated. There are 2 slides, but there are a little bit boring. There are a lot of places to eat in the market dome, some are a little bit pricy, but it was good. There are a lot of things to do for kids: a little farm, a beach.. Some things are really too expensive, like wifi( 50min 6 euro) The bungalow was clean but there was not enough lights.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow 135
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
There are newer reviews for Center Parcs De Kempervennen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at the De kempervennen, Centre Parks Near Einghoven in October, the park was very well set out and well maintained.
We have previously stayed at De Eemhoff and could not say the same for that park which was in need of a lot of lovin or at least a paint brush.
At "De Camper van en" the villa was very clean and well appointed, we were part of a group of 16 and shared to 8 person villas, beware there is no oven fitted,but we did have a dish washer. This is the second trip to centre parces in Holland and much prefere this camp to the Uk outlets. The reasons are price, as an adult couple we found that even with the ferry,the car and overnight cabin it was approx £300 cheaper to go Dutch.
The food outlets and the bars were very reasonable and the staff very friendly. I noted from other reports that others had said nothing was in English and that communication was hard, nothing of the sort, I think they must have gone to a different place?. The ski centre was very good as was the swimming,which had a snorkling area and great flumes etc. We also enjoyed archery, Badminton,Squash pool, high wire walk in the trees and the wake boarding.
If you choose to go I doubt you will be dissapointed. One thing though if you feel brave and going to Einhoven( we went on the local bus which were frequent and only 3 Euro return) dont bother there is nothjing there and as a result of the rebuild after WW2 is grey and soulless.
Das Pac vos vert gud

Room Tip: upgrade from a comfort villa, not much more but well worth it
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have visited the UK Center Parcs sites at Longleat & Elveden Forest in recent years and decided to try out a CP site on the continent this year. Our main reasons for going to De Kempervennen were the price and the on-site ski centre. We went in the October half-term week when a basic villa at Longleat would have been £1,000 from Mon-Fri whereas de Kempervennen was half the price (€550 = £500 approx.). The UK CP prices seem to have been increasing sharply in recent years so the continental parks become a better option even taking into account a ferry crossing and a tank of fuel for the drive. We booked ski lessons for our family (2 adults & 2 kids – 10 & 5 years old) at the ski centre, which ran for 1hr each day from Tue to Thu. The ski run is not that big (100m, gentle slope) but the centre was very well organised, the instructors were excellent and the kids really enjoyed their first taste of skiing.
Compared to Longleat, the de Kempervennen site was broadly similar but with a few plusses & minuses. On the down-side, the site feels a little old & tired in places and some of the features at a newer site like Longleat were missing – for example, there was no spa or branded restaurants (e.g. Strada). Also, the villas were not 100% clean (e.g. dusty under the beds), which wasn’t great and there was no oven (only a hob & microwave). Also, we would have preferred to be able to book our activities (“toppings”) online beforehand. We had a dinner at the Pizza & Pasta restaurant which was a bit disappointing. On the plus side, the site is flat (easier cycling for our 5-year old) and the animals on-site were a nice touch – our villa was close to the farm with its goats, donkeys & chickens. The CP staff were all really friendly and the organised entertainment in the central dome in the evenings was fun for the kids. The new Eden villas and boat-houses look to be a little more up-market and may be worth a try next time around.
But at half the price of the UK CP sites, we felt the CP experience at de Kempervennen was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Maybe try the Eden villas or the house-boats which are newer and look good.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

During my time at Center Parcs, I found that it was a place for children of all ages, the perfect family holiday. I especially enjoyed the swiming pool, and all the interesting and exciting things there were to do. For example: there was a pool with fish behind glass in which you could see not only the types of fish but learn facts aswell. There was a wild water rapid which, In my opinion, was the best water slide in the park. However, I thought there could have been a life guard at the top controlling the amount of people going into the rapid. This could reduce the amount of accidents occuring during the times when the slide came to a complete stop.The Montana snow centre was an enjoyable experience for my family. I thought that the ski lessons in which my brother took were Excellent for Beginners. He seemed more confident on the slopes after he had taken the morning ski lessons. My sister and I enjoyed skiing at the later hours due to the ski centre closing at eleven O’clock at night!
All in all a very good active holiday.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank sunpark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Visited in Aug 2011 & while still not cheap, much better value than rip off CP UK. We payed about £1100 for 2 bed Eden Premium (new style) which included 2 adult bikes & a few free activities (toppings) which we used to get a child's bike for our 6 year old & a game of crazy golf. We chose the Eden as we saw a few reviews complaining that the original properties stank of smoke.

CP Longleat wanted about double with nothing thrown in for the same week & while yes the food is better in the UK parks, it doesn't justify the crazy prices. It is noticeable there was a lot of English in Holland CP when we visited.

Anyhow, this is a nice park & flat as a pancake, so bikes are excellent for getting about on. Also has the indoor ski centre which unfortunately my wife & kid didn't want to do, but still it was nice to go & watch other people.

The swimming pool seemed a lot less busy than UK & was fine. My son also liked the animal farm, but basically it was the bikes that made the week so enjoyable.

Because Holland is so flat & bike friendly means you can go out of the park & there are cycle paths everywhere so its very safe, & I would definitely recommend getting out & about.

If you go left out the main gate (about a mile or so) there is a little farm shop that also sells ice cream & drinks & has a couple of trampolines plus go karts & kids play tractors. There is also a conservation area with lots of cycle paths over the other side of the road.

If you go right out the main gate you pass a war memorial grave yard & there is also a pancake house (about a mile also) with outdoor kids play area. The food was OK, nothing special. If you carry on to the roundabout & go left you will eventually come into a little village (I think it was Borkel or something like that) & you pass a windmill on the way. Borkel has a couple of places to eat, one being a snack shop kind of like a Dutch version of our chippy, so did the chips with mayo thing.

Back in Center Parks, the on site shop was not bad & the prices seemed fairly reasonable.

On the negative side, the food in the restaurants is pricey & very average & as everyone else has mentioned, you don't get an oven in your accommodation. Surprisingly the best food was the burger joint.

Also found their website to be a bit lacking in info & hit & miss on whether they reply to e-mails you send.

The other annoying thing was the Antwerp traffic on Friday afternoon, but that's life.

In summary I think we will be returning next year & we don't generally like going back to the same places, so I guess we were suitably impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank p f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Having despaired at the ever increasing cost of CP's in England, we took the plunge this year and went Dutch. It couldn't have been a greater success. Our holiday was extended by two days (via Pride of Hull North Sea ferry) and even with a full buffet on board, the whole CP experience was CHEAPER than the equivalent in England by a long way! How can you compare £1399 in England with £550 in Holland. You would hardly notice the difference between De Kempervennen and Sherwood Forest. In fact, it reminded me of what CP used to be like when we first started there nearly 15 years ago. Relaxed, no pressures, cheap and a great place for a family to unwind together. No pressured sales and expensive activities. In fact, by booking early we got nearly £50 of activities (toppings) for free. Did the kids miss the expensive activities? Not a bit, but my wallet did.

The Aqua Mundo was every bit as good as Sherwood Forest. In fact, everyone voted the water rapids BETTER - faster, more excitement and quicker turnaround. We went on again and again and again! There was the usual wave pool, tubes etc and an interesting underwater WWF sponsored aquarium/snorkelling experience.

Outside, there were the same activities - cycling, badminton, squash, tennis, adventure golf, pedalos but something was missing, The queues.....oh and we didn't see as many squirrels! (The ones we did see were red ones though,) It was just so much more relaxed, quieter and more peaceful. How CP used to be - walking and cycling through forests with the excitment of the dome and water slides thrown in.

The restaurants were all inside the magical market dome and served good quality, if a little pricey, food. The supermarket was wonderful.I love going into supermarkets abroad and exploring and this was a massive supermarket for CP. The most amazing part was the fresh bread counter. Every morning I cycled to the dome and picked up warm bread rolls, croisants and pain au chocolate to take back to the villa. Who says continental brekfasts are boring!

Overall, we took a risk and it paid off. There was so much to do at de Kempervennen for all ages (our children are 6-16) and a lot of it is free or very cheap. I sound like a cheapskate but I just appreciate good value, and this was just that. I like quality too and this is no different to England, just quieter and friendlier. The pool was a big hit and as it was about an hour and a half drive from the ferry, not much different to the drive to Nottingham. Kampervennen comes recommended and we are going to try another Dutch CP next year. That is part of the excitement of the CP's - exploring a new one for the first time.

Room Tip: The villas around the edge of the site have a road running past and so are not as peaceful as those...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gnreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Great location, easy to find, and not too far from Eindhoven.
I have visited several Centerparcs in Holland, and liked this one compared to some of the other ' Sunparks' Centerparcs.
The Villa was okay, not as comfortable or as well looked after as the ones in UK, I remember the smell of cigarettes permeating in the upholstery and curtains.. Not ideal, if you are non smokers or have kids with you.
I like the site, and facilities good, especially the indoor ski dome. Making bookings at the ski center can be a problem, so I would recommend arranging this at the time of the main booking.
Some nice lakeside walks and region perfect for long bike rides.. Will definitely return to this site.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify you want a NON- SMOKING Villa.
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerhoven
39.2 km away
Center Parcs Het Meerdal
7.8 km away
NH Eindhoven Conference Centre Koningshof
11.8 km away
Campanile Hotel Eindhoven
Campanile Hotel Eindhoven
#21 of 26 in Eindhoven
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Novotel Eindhoven
Novotel Eindhoven
#6 of 26 in Eindhoven
659 reviews
10.9 km away
Center Parcs de Vossemeren
22.7 km away
Center Parcs Erperheide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs De Kempervennen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs De Kempervennen

Address: Kempervennendreef 8, 5563 VB Westerhoven, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Westerhoven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westerhoven
Price Range: $99 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Center Parcs De Kempervennen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Kempervennen Holiday Park offers a varied, unique and sporty selection of activities for a carefree holiday. In addition to having a wonderful time in the subtropical leisure pool, strolling through the Market Dome - with various restaurants, a grand café and lovely shops – you can try climbing, baby and toddler swimming, archery or go in search of Big Mama. Or as a previous guest commented: “Perfect for our annual group holiday! Everything was within reach for a great week.” The park also has a number of unusual types of accommodation, such as the spacious Eden cottages and luxury houseboats. The countryside as a playground De Kempervennen has two large lakes where you can go diving in search of the giant catfish Big Mama. Or you can go water skiing and wake boarding on the water which you can also whoosh over on the Zip Wire. You can be in the beautiful Malpi nature reserve in minutes by mountain bike, but to be honest, you don’t even need to leave the park for a really great time. Jump into your skis or snowboard the whole year round in the 5500 m2 of real snow in Montana Snowcenter, try paintballing with your friends or gain your PADI diving certificate during one of the multiple-day courses. “Really great for the children” The innovative holiday park offers a huge number of great activities for children of all ages, both indoor and outdoor. Orry and his friends put on various shows while children can play at being a chef, princess, knight or painter. Or how about snorkelling among exotic fish, a DJ workshop or the Aqua Scooter which will pull you along under water? And there is an extensive and highly entertaining programme in the evenings, as witnessed by this enthusiastic guest: “Holland’s got Talent: eat your heart out..!!!” Come and discover for yourself why De Kempervennen, about fifteen kilometres south of Eindhoven, is rightly called the ‘Pearl of Center Parcs’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Center Parcs De Kempervennen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parcs De Kempervennen Hotel Westerhoven
Center Parcs De Kempervennen Westerhoven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing