We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
3
13
9
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
13
9
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2017

This is a typical French small town hotel. There are no frills, no sweeping vistas our stunning staircases. It is old, a bit battered, but clean, quiet and a few steps from the city main square. In the week we spent touring the Cathar country, without a doubt this little old hotel had the finest wifi coverage of any place we stayed including toney and pricey hotels. Service is friendly; breakfast is cheap and cheerful. Parking is an issue. They have a closed stall garage around the corner big enough for one small car. Barely. Otherwise you have to fend for yourself in the side streets. Our beds were comfortable and everything worked in the bathroom. There is no lift and part of the staircase is a bit challenging. The owners could not be nicer and they helped us plan a day trip out of Limoux. Nothing fancy, the hotel is basic and basic. We slept well and welcomed the fact that the hotel is well situated to the centre of town. Whitebeard83

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Whitebeard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2016

Where do I start? I knew we had a problem the minute I walked into the "reception" of this hotel (it doesn't really have a reception). The smell of old chip fat hits you as soon as you go in and the dark dingy entrance is less than welcoming. Reception is essentially the bar in the downstairs bar area. We were given our room key, shown that it also opens the outer door if we came back late and then left to haul our cases up a spiral staircase that's seen better days to the second floor. Be warned, the staircase vinyl is positively dangerous with bits dropping off and if you have any accessibility issues forget this hotel (best advised to forget it whatever your requirements to be honest!). We arrived at the room via a dark landing where the light switch was at the opposite end so we had to resort to using the torch on our phone. The room was extremely basic with very tired, dated decor, two twin beds pushed together, no duvet, just a sheet and an top cover (luckily I found a blanket in the wardrobe otherwise I would have been frozen all night). The beds were very low and extremely uncomfortable and the "pillows", if you can call them that were just this sausage shaped thing that was attached to the sheets. The beds looked and felt like camp beds. Our view was the wall of the church next door. There were various holes in the wall as well. Just the sort of room you want to spend as little time in as possible!

The bathroom was basic but OK although not the cleanest I've been in. It had a hairdryer and a large ish shower. It was just tired and needed replacing. There was no storage space other than around the sink and the only mirror in the entire room was in here so it was a pain when trying to do make up/dry hair when the other person was in the shower. Towels, like all French hotels were small, not very soft and they only gave you one bath towel each which is a pain for people with long hair. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom as well.

There was a TV in the bedroom but no English channels so we tried to learn more French! The WiFi was OK in the room but didn't work in the bar downstairs which was a real pain given we didn't want to spend any time in our room and felt we needed to drown our sorrows in the bar!

We wisely refused breakfast as we later saw where this was served (on the first floor). We looked in the room when we arrived late afternoon and saw the mornings breakfast items were still out - a stale bit of bread and half a pot of coffee still sitting there. We also found the dining room - a small room on the first floor - again, I wouldn't risk it!

The good things - great location and a free car park nearby. That's all. The rest of it was pretty horrible and I couldn't wait to leave in the morning. Yes, it's cheap but it's grotty and not good value. Find somewhere else to go.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else !
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky4116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The room smelt damp; there were two single beds, not a double, and those beds were definitely from the "cheap furnishings" department. The Wi-Fi didn't work. Breakfast in the morning was located - it was not "served", you just helped yourself to what was there - in a darkened room, despite the sun outside. But worst of all, there was NO SHAMPOO in the shower.

It's not as if providing a couple of sachets of shampoo costs a lot of money. But there were none. Cold water with shampoo - well, maybe the hotel ran out of hot water, these things happen. But a shower with no shampoo provided - well, maybe the owners just don't care.

Sorry, I hate writing bad reviews, but this place deserved it. Avoid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtrapnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent one night here whilst enjoying the Limoux Carnival. It is only a 2 star hotel and it lived up to its rating and price. At €49 we didnt expect much but the handy location right next to the square was all we needed to enjoy Carnival time.
There is no real reception just the bar, but check in was easy and the staff friendly. Our room was 303 up a very old uneven stairway, so dont bring too much luggage. The room had twin beds pushed together with seperate bathroom. All reasonable, however there were large watermarks on the wallpaper. The pillows were long strange skinny pillows which werent the best. The shower was fine except it was a hand held showerhead, so a bit awkward. Room had the usual french shutters so reasonably quiet.
Breakfast is extra at €7 each and was yoghurt, juice , coffee, bread, croissants. However as my husband had particular diet needs he got ham and boiled eggs put aside for him in the fridge at no extra cost, so extra points for that.
There is free wifi which was good. There is no on site parking but we found public parking for free very closeby.
In summary a good value hotel for 1 or 2 nights, with plenty of close restuarants and sights nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We used this hotel with some hesitation after reading reviews but it could not be more convenient for the main square with its bars and restaurants. The entrance is unimpressive and there was nothing to indicate a reception area. . There seemed to be a lingering smell of fried food which lasted throughout our stay. We made our way through into the adjoining bar/cafe - and PMU betting shop - and introduced ourselves. With very little welcome we were given a key and left to our own devices. When asked about parking, we were told it was "on the street", though with no information as to how you are supposed to register your vehicle every hour at the machines nearby. Apparently a garage is available for 7 euros a day but only with prior reservation. Just how much notice was needed when there seemed to be no other guests in the hotel?
The spiral staircase is indeed a bit of a climb but crampons are not necessary. The corridors leading to the rooms are dull and with dated décor but nothing compared to our 1970's throw-back room. It was on the small side with only a small gap between the foot of the bed and the wall. The room décor looked recent but an uninspiring colour scheme - unlike the bathroom which was a brown tile-fest, beige suite and small shower cubicle. Yes it was clean, as were the good sized towels; unlike the bedding, which consisted of a tired cover, ripped duvet (too grand a word) and stained bolster - I didn't think anywhere still had these things anymore. A small wardrobe and junk shop desk and chair completed the fittings.
Based on this, we declined breakfast, especially as there are numerous attractive cafes nearby.
With single glazed windows, there was considerable condensation on a morning, but the view was only the church wall two metres away. We were house hunting and really needed a central location for only two nights so the hotel had to suffice. Despite is attractiveness, Limoux does not have a huge choice of central hotels.
After eating out we returned to the hotel at the late time of 9.45pm to find the bar closed and the front door locked. Fortunately the room key unlocked the door, but it would have been nice to have been informed of this.
When we checked out, madam was equally chatty as she was on arrival, seemingly unconcerned as to whether we were satisfied, had a pleasant stay etc. etc.
We have stayed in dozens of French hotels over many years, knowing that they can be quirky, old fashioned but nevertheless charming. This was just poky and tired, hardly worth a 2 star Logis classification. A pity because the location, just steps from the bustling main square, is ideal for a short break in this very appealing town.

Room Tip: You should probably ask to see all the rooms before choosing!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews