We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't sleep because of noisy celebration downstairs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We were given a room up two flights of stairs (no lift) in the hope that we would not be too inconvenienced by the noise, The music boomed in our ears until the early hours. There was no bar, the restaurant was not available and the wi fi did not work in the room. In fact no amenities whatsoever. We cancelled breakfast as we thought the breakfast room might also be crowded and noisy. We were very tired but could not sleep until the music stopped. The management were unconcerned. We paid a high price for a Saturday night stay and we will not be staying there again. No car park but we found a place on the road.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beattie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear client,
We are sorry you feel you have had a poor experience with us. It is worth noting, as you no doubt recall, that you were told of the exceptional event (an 80th birthday celebration) when you arrived, and offered the chance to cancel without penalty, an offer you chose not to accept.

We also make it clear in all our promotional material (including when clients reserve a room via a booking engine) that we do not have a lift. Similarly, we always indicate that parking is not normally offered, given that our hotel is a traditional and historical one, located in the town centre. When possible, we do try to accommodate clients by making available a parking space in our small courtyard. This option was not available that evening, owning to the birthday party. As we tell our prospective clients, free and convenient parking is available on the public roads nearby.

We are sorry that you had hoped to dine with us that evening but were unable to. Unfortunately, the restaurant was fully booked. Owing to its popularity, we are not able to guarantee a table in the restaurant to residents, and bookings must be made separately.

We are aware of intermittent problems with the WiFi, and these are being investigated.

In general, however, we are always mindful of the comments of our clients, and strive to give satisfaction. In this instance, we have offered you a complimentary lunch or dinner at our renowned restaurant and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cordially,
the Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

The hotel is well located in the middle of Limoux. The room was spacious and clean, and the staff were very nice. There is no lift so carrying your bag up two flights of stairs was a little challenging. Also parking is a bit of a problem. Breakfast was very average.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Gérant at Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear client,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Moderne et Pigeon Hotel in Limoux.

We are delighted to hear that you have found your room clean and our staff very nice.

We are saddened to hear that you had some issues, especially on arrival with parking and carrying suitcases. In our defense we must say that we are located in an old convent and we are lucky to have a wonderful staircase, but no lift, due to protected elements in the building.
The central location of the hotel offers some free parking spots outside the hotel, and a lot more on the Tivoli parking 5 minutes away. Normally, to find a parking is not very difficult. Of course some exceptions may happen (local events etc..)

We are also saddened to hear that you have found our breakfast very average. We serve 2 kinds of cheese, ham, sausage, yogurt, fresh home made fruit salade, butter, 3 home made marmelades, local honey, fruits, fruit juices, cereals, fresh bread, croissants, brioche, cake etc...and of course tea, coffee or hot chocolate. The most we can are local products. We would be interested to know where we have failed?

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and we really hope to welcome you again as a returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We love Limoux and visit the area often - for this this vacation we were spending most of our time on the coast but stayed here one night each way. The hotel is the best in Limoux and in an ideal location - just round the corner from the main square which is incredibly picturesque and full of good restaurants and events like bands or markets on summer evenings. It has a great gastronomic restaurant (though we have before
and it's amazing quality and value).

The hotel has certainly improved since our last visit - service has always been great but a lot of the little technical niggles have been sorted. Wifi was pretty fast and reliable, the aircon worked great despite the very high temperature outside. The biggest improvement is the breakfast was massively improved since last time in terms of quality and ease of use, obviously a lot of thought has gone into it and the outside dining space in very beautiful (sort of a cloister). There were a lot of happy breakfasters. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HegsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Conveniently located to city center...no elevator, however room AC was sufficient for warm Julys...good breakfast with sufficient choices...receptionist was friendly and welcoming, offering to help us slepp our bags up a flight of stairs to room #4...beware the front desk is not always staffed for check-ins...beautiful stained glass windows of a former convent.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif_wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your review of the Moderne et Pigeon Hotel Limoux.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet and also the kindness of our receptionist. We will pass on to her your compliments. In fact she is working from Tuesday to Sunday, mostly in the afternoon and evening, during check-in time.

As a former convent with a few listed elements, we have the chance to enjoy a wonderful old staircase and the famous stained glass window, but no elevator. Difficult to match history with some modern inventions.
We very much appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you for more visits to come (we promise to help again with the luggage!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here before so knew what to expect, but the hotel has managed to improve. Room 10 - family room - now has a huge, comfy sofa and the water pressure is ideal, so no more dribbly showers. Receptionist was lovely, very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good with lots of choice and was all fresh.

We didn't eat in the restaurant (we've had the tasting menu in the past which was fab) because of a picky 9 year old. When we were checking out the chef/owner said he'd happily cater for fussy kids, so we will be back.

Lovely place with character and charm, simply decorated. No lift or parking on site.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank queribus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

On Mondays you have to make arrangements to let yourself in to the Hotel and find your room. Has been a fine hotel ( great staircase) and reflects a classical central city hotel somewhat in the past. Clearly the Restaurant is the important aspect of this very well placed and central hotel. Would probably stay again if only for its central position. Staff vary from very helpful to somewhat off hand when they are busy.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62Heron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Gérant at Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at our hotel.
We are deeply disappointed that in this instance we have failed to exceed your expectations, especially as you have been contacted ahead for the access code and you have confirmed your stay.
We appreciate your frank feedback, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the hotel during the week, when we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in Moderne et Pigeon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Stayed at the hotel for a one night stop over in Limoux. Hotel is located right in the heart of the town, opposite the market and at walking distance to the town square.For those on a motor bike the courtyard behind the hotel provides an extremely secure parking facility. Someone recommended this hotel also for its restaurant called Tantine & Tonton, but unfortunately due to a French long weekend this restaurant was closed on the day of our stay. Welcome was friendly and informative. Guest room was small but adequate. Air-conditioning didn't work which made sleeping a little uncomfortable. Breakfast was more or less an extended continental breakfast buffet without any frills and no egg dishes present. The morning of our departure we visited the market which is set up right opposite the hotel and gave a nice local touch to the overall experience. Due to technical reasons (as we were told) the free WiFi in this hotel didn't work! In summary a small well located hotel with friendly service and some shortcomings but offering good value for money

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street which houses the market also face the early morning noise of the set up of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TVVOPINION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Gérant at Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Moderne et Pigeon. We are deeply disappointed that you have had problems with air conditioning and wifi.
All our rooms have air conditioning and the temperature can be adjusted manually. Of course our team is pleased to help in case of need. We have also checked our free wifi in order to avoid these problems.
Please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience, and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip - without problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
0.2 km away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#5 of 5 in Limoux
33 reviews
1.9 km away
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
20 km away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,633 reviews
20.8 km away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,457 reviews
2.4 km away
Motel Limoux
Motel Limoux
#4 of 5 in Limoux
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon

Address: 1 Place du General Leclerc, 11300 Limoux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Price Range: $154 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1501, the house was initially a convent, and then the private residence of the Souvigny family, relatives of the Countess du Barry , before finally becoming a noted hotel of its time at the end of the 19th century . Frescoes from the 17th century, a preserved stained glass panel and a remarkable stair case, remain the highlights of the building. Today the hotel offers 13 rooms and suites, complete with TV, free Wifi, mini bar, air conditioning and marble bathrooms. To discover also our Gourmet Restaurant Tantine et Tonton with service on the patio, weather and season permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Limoux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing