We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
44
22
15
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
22
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator former convent family room cafes and restaurants free wifi stayed here one night the main square receptionist yard sofa market
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 86 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2017

The hotel is well located in the middle of Limoux. The room was spacious and clean, and the staff were very nice. There is no lift so carrying your bag up two flights of stairs was a little challenging. Also parking is a bit of a problem. Breakfast was very average.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Gérant at Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear client,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Moderne et Pigeon Hotel in Limoux.

We are delighted to hear that you have found your room clean and our staff very nice.

We are saddened to hear that you had some issues, especially on arrival with parking and carrying suitcases. In our defense we must say that we are located in an old convent and we are lucky to have a wonderful staircase, but no lift, due to protected elements in the building.
The central location of the hotel offers some free parking spots outside the hotel, and a lot more on the Tivoli parking 5 minutes away. Normally, to find a parking is not very difficult. Of course some exceptions may happen (local events etc..)

We are also saddened to hear that you have found our breakfast very average. We serve 2 kinds of cheese, ham, sausage, yogurt, fresh home made fruit salade, butter, 3 home made marmelades, local honey, fruits, fruit juices, cereals, fresh bread, croissants, brioche, cake etc...and of course tea, coffee or hot chocolate. The most we can are local products. We would be interested to know where we have failed?

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused and we really hope to welcome you again as a returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We love Limoux and visit the area often - for this this vacation we were spending most of our time on the coast but stayed here one night each way. The hotel is the best in Limoux and in an ideal location - just round the corner from the main square which is incredibly picturesque and full of good restaurants and events like bands or markets on summer evenings. It has a great gastronomic restaurant (though we have before
and it's amazing quality and value).

The hotel has certainly improved since our last visit - service has always been great but a lot of the little technical niggles have been sorted. Wifi was pretty fast and reliable, the aircon worked great despite the very high temperature outside. The biggest improvement is the breakfast was massively improved since last time in terms of quality and ease of use, obviously a lot of thought has gone into it and the outside dining space in very beautiful (sort of a cloister). There were a lot of happy breakfasters. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HegsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Conveniently located to city center...no elevator, however room AC was sufficient for warm Julys...good breakfast with sufficient choices...receptionist was friendly and welcoming, offering to help us slepp our bags up a flight of stairs to room #4...beware the front desk is not always staffed for check-ins...beautiful stained glass windows of a former convent.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif_wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you for your review of the Moderne et Pigeon Hotel Limoux.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet and also the kindness of our receptionist. We will pass on to her your compliments. In fact she is working from Tuesday to Sunday, mostly in the afternoon and evening, during check-in time.

As a former convent with a few listed elements, we have the chance to enjoy a wonderful old staircase and the famous stained glass window, but no elevator. Difficult to match history with some modern inventions.
We very much appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you for more visits to come (we promise to help again with the luggage!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here before so knew what to expect, but the hotel has managed to improve. Room 10 - family room - now has a huge, comfy sofa and the water pressure is ideal, so no more dribbly showers. Receptionist was lovely, very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good with lots of choice and was all fresh.

We didn't eat in the restaurant (we've had the tasting menu in the past which was fab) because of a picky 9 year old. When we were checking out the chef/owner said he'd happily cater for fussy kids, so we will be back.

Lovely place with character and charm, simply decorated. No lift or parking on site.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank queribus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

On Mondays you have to make arrangements to let yourself in to the Hotel and find your room. Has been a fine hotel ( great staircase) and reflects a classical central city hotel somewhat in the past. Clearly the Restaurant is the important aspect of this very well placed and central hotel. Would probably stay again if only for its central position. Staff vary from very helpful to somewhat off hand when they are busy.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62Heron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane C, Gérant at Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at our hotel.
We are deeply disappointed that in this instance we have failed to exceed your expectations, especially as you have been contacted ahead for the access code and you have confirmed your stay.
We appreciate your frank feedback, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the hotel during the week, when we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in Moderne et Pigeon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews