We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Campo Cano Negro
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
48
37
14
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
37
14
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerfruitcosta ricathe riverboat toursmall poolbeautiful gardenspider monkeysremote locationthe hotel offersno mattermakes you feelday tripgravel roadspecies of birdsout of the waypollo
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 111 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

A nice garden layout backing out to the lake with very comfortable cabins and lots of birds around the property attracted by the fruits put out for them. Overall our 2 night stay was quite comfortable. Breakfast was nice although not as filling as many we had enjoyed other places.

Boat tours were overpriced compared to the extremely competent offer of Paraiso Tropical which we used down in the centre. We were keen to use the hotel kayaks for a paddle around but were rather shocked to hear it was a minimum of half-day rentals of $20 and absolutely no discount to hotel guests vs. anyone coming in off the road. Especially since we had just come from a similar accommodation in southern Costa Rica in the same price category that had complimentary use of bikes and kayaks for hotel guests. Similarly any laundry was $12 for a machine whether you had one item or 40 items. We chose to eat at a wonderful and super-friendly little soda down in the town for a fraction of the hotel restuarant prices so can't comment on the dinners. The wifi is also only at the reception and has been like that for years. As evident in many other similar hotel complexes, it is not difficult to extend wifi around the property if the desire is there.

Overall nice but not the kind of environment we would chose to go back to.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1313RichardD1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Hello Richard,

Really good to know that you enjoy what Caño Negro has to offer, as you mentioned the lodge is the middle of an amazing garden full of fruit trees where you can sit and relax enjoying nature and the birds.
For you and all our customer we got included into the night price, breakfast with fresh fruit, toast,eggs, home made jelly, coffee or tea or chocolate.
Besides the price we understand that everyone has a different budget and sometimes we rather decided to have a service with a lower price otherwise than taking a service with a really good quality and guarantees. We would love that you have taken the tour with the local guide Alonso a really experienced birdwatching native from Caño Negro. So lovely and the best guide not said by us but from the mouth of customers, that comes back looking for him.
Any other other services not mentioned as included in the price of the night have an extra cost, because there a lot of work is done behind so you can enjoy the tours, kayaks, canoe and all the equipment provided.
¿Can you please advice on that easy way mentioned to extend wifi? It would resolve not only us but all Area North wifi trouble, because until now there is no company in Costa Rica able to provide a good internet connection in Caño Negro, we have installed a lot but none works.

We which the best.

Fabiola Cárdenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2016

Cano Negro is a birders paradise. It has two hotels: Cano Negro Natural Lodge and Hotel de Campo. We selected Hotel de Campo because it was cheaper and seemed more relaxed. I am really glad we did! Hotel de Campo calls itself the 'The Original Cano Negro' and it was a bit confusing to me at first. They both are adjacent to the same river and the same lagoon, so you aren't going to miss anything. We arrived a week after Hurricane Otto, which hit Nicaragua and northern Costa Rica pretty hard but this area was not devastated and most of the downed trees had been removed already.

Hotel de Campo was wonderful. All the staff was so friendly and nice. Our room was simple but all we needed and it was spotless. It did not have a fridge and the internet was not working (but that's a problem everywhere we went). They do have a pool, which was fun to play in at the end of the day. The AC worked great and was very quiet.

They had canoes and kayaks available, which we used to go birdwatching and we saw many new species. We took a boat tour of the river with Alonso, who knew his birds and pointed out iguanas and monkeys and insects we would never have seen. He was so kind to us. Then we poked around the river and lagoon in the canoe. I think they also do fishing trips (not an interest of ours).

The on-site restaurant was lovely to eat and drink at the end of the day. The food was good and the service was friendly. It was just a wonderful, relaxing and friendly place to stay. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 53Coop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2016

Hello 53Coop,

Thank you so much for your lovely comment, Caño Negro is definitely a birding paradise and really peaceful place. Our commitment is always to give the best attention to our customer.

It´s always a pleasure having back valuable customer as you are.

We hope to keep being selected by other customers.

Besides "The original Caño Negro" is because from La Fortuna they sell Caño Negro Trips but they do not come to the Town most likely they take the customers to Los Chiles or El Caiman (the restaurant located before the bridge some km from here, coming from El Jobo on the way to Los Chiles).

Mauro, Patricia, Jefry and Alonso will be waiting for you¡

Our best wishes and happy holidays.
Fabiola Cárdenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Cano Negro is still off the beaten track. We stayed her 2 nights in May. Totally off season we were the only visitors. The rooms are spacious and have nce details. An outdoor shower is nice for warm days. The pool needs some attention but that might be due to our off season visit. Owners are very helpfull, even organized in 10 minutes a boat tour on our request. The National Park is super, especially for birders. My advice: visit this place before it becomes too touristic!

Room Tip: All of them look nice in the spacious garden
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Propietario at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2016

Hello Geert64,

This is a great advise to other visitor by now Caño Negro is out of commercial ways and is a beautiful paradise.
We are so glad to know that you have really enjoy your stay and the attention received.
You are right about the pool, this was produced during an earthquake and is now kids most favourite game, we will work on this as long as big season ends.

Our best wishes, we hope to have you back.

Mauro Corte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here. The grounds are well kept (not easy to do either) Nice pool (too cool too use this time of year) and lovely restaurant. Easy check in and out and easy to find. Most importantly, every employee there was nice and even went out of their way to be helpful. The food was very good and fairly priced for being in the middle of no where. The Italian owner was knowledgeable and friendly. We are planning our return trip in February. Oh I almost forgot - the rooms were spotless and everything worked very well (and you have no idea how unusual that is in CR). I didn't give it a 5 cause the pillows were harder than rocks.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank happyincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2016

Hello,

It was a pleasure to have you with us, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay (surrounding, room, food and treatment). Even if we are in the middle of no where the idea is to give a personalise service and of course the best of our self. Hope to see you then in february. Oh pillows is still a hard, we have tree types now and one is to soft the other to hard, but we keep trying to find the ideal one.

Our best wishes¡
Fabiola Cárdenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2016

We chose Hotel de Campo as our base for exploring Refugio Caño Negro.

Caño Negro in the Northern part of Province Alajuela is not where the average tourist goes after he arrives by plane in San José, Costa Rica. Animal and bird watching was our reason or just a keen interest in the landscape and the way of life in the border zone to Nicaragua. Other travelers come here for the fishing season. Don’t let you be deterred by the distance or by the relatively difficult access. The best access is from Highway 35, turning left on a dirt road a few miles south of Los Chiles. The unpaved road from Upala is much more painful. An all-wheel drive car is better.

Our first impression of the Refugio was a sleepy woman closing the park one hour before the official closing time. Yes, May is definitely the touristic low season! We already had heard that at the beginning of the rain season the water level is low, and even very low due to the lasting drought this year, but we still were surprised of how much smaller the remaining lakes (“lagunas”) were than what is shown on the map.

After carrying the baggage in one of the nice casitas of Hotel de Campo (bungalows with two rooms each) facing the swimming pool, we decided to go for a walk to explore the hotel grounds. There was a horse feeding in the foreground, a lake in the background. Romantic! We approached the water outside the hotel grounds. Waterfowl and a multitude of other birds invited us to continue close to the water. And … we almost stepped on a caiman, about 4 feet long. Despite the scare we continued along the lake, but now with more caution. Later we were told that these giant lizards don’t attack.

Back in the garden of the hotel we watched colorful birds and then tried the swimming pool. The shower installed on the outside wall of our casita came handy. Our room had all what was needed. AC worked fine, but we had to keep the door closed also because of mosquitos. No WiFi in the room; it worked in the reception area.

In the evening we enjoyed dinner in the restaurant with its heavy timber furniture. The European kind of food was quite good, but not exceptional. From the nearby hotel entrance there was the relaxing sound of a water fountain running over one of the mystic stone sculptures decorating the hotel grounds.

All staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a chance to practice our Spanish, but later we spoke with the owner who happens to be Swiss-Italian. He speaks several languages, and provided us with a lot of information on the region, the wildlife and also agricultural aspects (Large forest areas destroyed to plant pineapples in monoculture. Costa Rica, you are not always very eco-friendly!).

The absolute highlight of our stay was the morning boat tour booked at the hotel. We were surprised to see our tour guide being the waiter at our dinner the night before. But he did an excellent job also in this new role, pointing out so many species of birds, lizards and river turtles on Rio Frio. In one of the lagunas we encountered about a hundred caimans, white egrets and herons. Together with the guide we were only three persons on the boat. The price was all right for us. Two recommendations: Make it a private tour. In a group on a larger boat it is harder to move around to take pictures. And bring a good zoom or telephoto camera. You will bring back some of the best wildlife shots of your life.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room near the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank proftourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabicardens, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de Campo Cano Negro, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Hello proftourist,

We might take some of your words to explained customers what they should come to Caño Negro, as you mentioned is definitely a long ride into an unpaved rode that at the end it really worth it.
Caño Negro is an excellent natural and peaceful place to enjoy little moments, the view is incredible awesome and you just got surprised by nature. By customers like you is why we are still here enjoying these place, because this is more then work this is home for us.
I think you talked about Jefry, he helps Patricia at night with dinner and he is improving as guide.We loved to have people with us always wanting to learn and do new thing always giving their best.
We are really sure that you got a really nice memory of your Caño Negro visit not a truistic place but a great paradise.

We hope to have you back, I we will keep improving.

Our best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews