We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in evey way”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Prines, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
firstcuck...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Perfect in evey way”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A Pretty Villa With A Large Private Pool (Rithymna Mansion).
Prines | Property ID 1349122

Thanks! Here’s what you submitted.
Overall review of your stay (publicly viewable)
Your rating (public)
5 of 5
Title of your review (public)
Perfect in every way
Your experience (public)
We had stayed in Prines as a mature couple the previous year and found what a lovely village and location it was, with such easy access to Rethymnon, the South Coast and the beaches. Prines also has a wonderful top reviewed taverna, Giannikos Taverna run by Yannis and this alone makes this villa such an excellent choice, being only a five minute walk away through the village.
So deciding to return with the family and grandchildren, we researched larger villas during our previous stay and chose Rithmyma Mansion.
What an excellent choice, it was pure luxury. As grandparents we enjoyed a beautiful air conditioned bedroom with en suite and dressing room, opening on to a lovely garden terrace adjacent to the pool. The family and 2 young grandchildren, 3 & 5 had a large bedroom each upstairs, also opening on to a balcony and with their own bathroom. The arrangement was perfect.
The level of service was simply excellent. Maria the maid looked after everything daily and the facilities were serviced by a pool man and a gardener.
However it was the hospitality of Georgis that excelled. He had provided fruit and drinks in abundance on our arrival, he was always available if needed, yet never intrusive, and joined us for dinner in our final week at the local taverna, insisting on hosting us.
The pool was splendid, as was the pool furniture and parasols and with such excellent facilities the children were swimming and diving without armbands within a week.
We highly recommend this villa, for us it was a very special time together enhanced by staying in such a beautiful serviced house run by such a generous, thoughful and helpful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne L
Exeter, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a friends and family holiday”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Giorgos the owner rescued us from the motorway when we took a wrong turn at 11pm and led us to this wonderful villa. He was very welcoming and informative and while he respected our privacy we could always get him on his mobile if we had a problem. The kitchen had been well stocked with all the essentials plus a fabulous selection of fruit which took us all week to eat! The villa was spotlessly clean and spacious with many separate seating areas which made it ideal for a group of adult couples, enabling everyone to have some private time. Three out of four bedrooms had a balcony or veranda. Our local village (5 minutes walk away) had two very friendly tavernas with good reasonably priced meals plus a bar. The villa has wonderful views and being in the hills 6k from Rethymno enjoys a soft cooling breeze. If I had to choose one best thing it would be the swimming pool which is long enough to do laps and kept in top condition by the pool man who come every other day. The worst thing was obviously having to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisybeau
daisybeau
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect week long getaway”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Incredible fantastic wonderful villa

We arrived at 11.20 pm after a hold up at the hire car at the airport,the owner giorgious phoned and asked if we would like some dinner on arrival and ordered us a banquet,which he would not take any payment from a really nice way to start our holiday

Villa superb you really want for nothing fit and finish is to a very high standard

Mini markets and a great family restaurant minutes walk away and retheymon a 5 minute car drive

We're rebooking for later in the year

Thanks for a great holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Dearest Andrew,

I do love your attitude towards life & holidays in particular!! As far as I'm concerned, having something to eat waiting upon your late arrival, is the only humane thing to do. I'm very pleased to hear that we will definitely meet again. Thank you for all the wonderful comments you make in this review of your stay at the villa. See you soon my friend, please give my warmest greetings to the family,

Giorgos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely luxury family home”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were a family of six adults and two children and all had a great time. On arrival the first impressions were very encouraging: a large house on a big plot full of fruit trees - figs, limes, apricots, almonds, all of which we were invited to eat! There was loads of space inside and out and we all spent lots of time in the lovely pool.
The house has been a family home and that makes it feel very welcoming. It has all the things you need and the charming cleaner Maria keeps everything in order. The owner, Giorgos, was very attentive and provided all the essentials, plus a mountain of fruit and even a birthday cake when he established we were there to celebrate a special day. He also gave lots of good advice about beaches, restaurants and anything else we asked of him.
And the views of the sea and mountains were amazing...
All in all we had a great stay and were really sad to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Dear Tom & Kiki, Sue & Tim,

Thank you for making the effort to write a review of your stay - I know that returning back in the UK was not very easy for you. I really appreciate your comments, and especially the part that you felt welcome and like at home. This means a lot to me, thank you.

I hope to see all the family again in the near future.
In the meanwhile, be well and take good care.

Giorgos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of different places to sit, so much space. The views!
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Dear Anne, Gil & Ben,

Thank you so much for your nice words and for being such wonderful guests. From my point of view I just wanted to make sure that you felt welcome and at home - being your first time in Crete. The little time we spent together is something for me to remember. Already looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Do take care of yourselves, and carry on thinking positive.
Be well,

Giorgos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool was large and beautiful
Liked least: Honestly, there was nothing that I didn't like.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Dear Karen,
I cannot express in writing my gratitude for your lovely words. A big "thanks" with all my heart will have to do in these few lines. I'm very much looking forward to seeing you again next year and spending some more time together. I wish only the very best for you and your family, and not to forget of course your friends :-)
Until we meet again then, take care,
Giorgos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
L0uise000
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, relaxing holiday in an amazing home with friendly and fun owners”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic two week break in Rithymna Mansion. The photographs do not do this beautiful home justice! The pool is large and really deep - great for playing and serious swimming. The verandas and balconies were perfect for relaxing in the cool shade.. Everything you could need was provided - and more besides - on arrival the fridge is stocked with fruit, wine, juices, liquors.. The owner, Giorgios, made us extremely welcome and really put himself out to take care of us during our holiday.. He was a wonderful host... The village square is about three minutes walk away, and there you can find a lovely taverna, run by Giannis, who, again, could not do more to welcome us to the village and make our holiday special.. The southern beaches were wonderful for snorkelling - an easy drive to get there.. The villa is well located to explore the north and south sides of beautiful Crete. We had a wonderful family holiday and would not hesitate to recommend this gorgeous home as a perfect holiday destination... Giorgios, please say hello to Bella and Paris :)) Thank you for a wonderful time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home was large, light, cool and perfect for all our needs
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Hello Steven & Louise!!!
Thank you very much for your kind words, it means a lot to me to know that you enjoyed your stay here.
It was a pleasure to meet your lovely family.
Paris seems more social after your stay, and sends his best niaouuuu :-)
I think we will meet again in the future, until then, do take care.
Giorgos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing