We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
465
161
47
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
161
47
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal pools spa facilities sao miguel steam room outdoor pool turkish bath brownie local produce hot springs coffee maker relaxing stay beautiful hotel beautiful island every evening terra restaurant mini fridge breakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 696 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We stayed 3 nights and felt so rested upon our departure. The entire hotel gives off a feeling of peace and tranquility. They miss nothing! The staff is very accommodating, the restaurant is excellent and the location is ideal for sightseeing!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesrogers1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_ARAUJO, Rooms Division Manager at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear jamesrogers1106,
thank you for your excellent review on our services. We are pleased to see that you've enjoyed your stay and that we've exceeded your expectations.
Please accept our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for a small bite to eat before going to some of the Hot Springs.

What was nice about this restaurant was that they offered a smaller "snack menu" during the time between lunch and dinner. This was great because sometimes you get stuck trying to find a place between 3-7pm when your starving.
However, the menu was more like a lunch menu with grilled flat bread pizzas and plenty of Tapas meals to choose from.

Our waiter was super friendly and attentive and made sure we liked everything and asked us about our stay so far in the Azores.

The rest of the hotel seemed very upscale and fancy with very friendly staff.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_ARAUJO, Rooms Division Manager at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear Max G,
thank you for your excellent review on our restaurant! We hope that next time you can stay with us, to have the full Furnas Boutique Hotel's experience.
Please accept our best regards, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Rooms were clean, service was good (they accommodated a few hours earlier check in for us), it is awesome to have 3 different indoor pools at different temperatures. So relaxing. We had a spa service too that was awesome. People say the rooms are small, but I wouldn't let that deter you-the ceilings are very high so it doesn't feel small at all. We had a room in the center of the hotel and it was pretty quiet. The bed is ok a little hard (not just firm) but nothing terrible. Yes there are flies but get over it it's a very natural place. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the restaurant-very expensive for the island and while the food is good it can be inconsistent and to me lacked some variety. The only reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Sao Miguel is the location. There isn't much to do or much variety for food options in the town itself which is also why we got sick of the hotel restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kyrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_ARAUJO, Rooms Division Manager at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear Kyrie, thank you for your lovely words regarding both our hotel and our services.
We are pleased that you've enjoyed your stay with us and we will follow up on your comments regarding our restaurant. If you have any suggestions, please contact me directly by email to rdm@furnasboutiquehotel.com.
Our clients feedback is most important and its the perfect way to improve our services.
Please accept our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

This hotel was our favourite place to stay in São Miguel-
The pools and hot tubs are awesome and they are open 24 hours so you can go for a dip right before bed.
The hotel has free drinks in the room and a free coffee and snack table all night long which is awesome and just makes the stay more relaxing
The resturant has great food and the breakfast is unique and different than the other hotels we stayed at.
They come and turn your bed down around 7 pm and make you feel at home

Oh and free candy in the lobby.

Great place to stay

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank brandyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_ARAUJO, Rooms Division Manager at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear brandyontheroad,
thank your your excellent review! We are very happy that you've enjoyed your stay!
It's always rewarding to see our clients and friend leave with such a lovely impression on our services and staff.
Please accept our warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We stayed for seven nights which was much longer than most visitors to this hotel, but we liked having one base to explore this Island. Sao Miguel is beautiful, like a huge botanic garden! We enjoyed excellent walks every day as recommended by the staff. With maps available from reception and once walking all very well sign posted, walking is very easy here, although there are some challenging hills. Coming back to relax in the sauna and thermal pools was lovely and very relaxing. The Turkish bath was out of action all week unfortunately. The spa treatments are difficult to book and are ok, it could be so much better.
The bedrooms are on the small side and the bathrooms tiny, but they have a reasonable amount of hanging and drawer space.
The restaurant offers lots of locally produced food and wines, as well as gin. Its all well cooked and presented. Breakfast is a buffet but eggs anyway can be cooked to order.
For us three members of the restaurant staff made our stay, Valter, Leonardo and Joao, they were all exceptional recommending places to visit etc. They are great ambassadors for the Island. The whole experience would have been very average without them.
Furnas is a great location from which to explore Sao Miguel.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flyingredshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_ARAUJO, Rooms Division Manager at Furnas Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear flyingredshoes,
thank you for your detailed review on our hotel and services. we are very pleased to see that we've met your expectations and that you've enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that the Turkish bath was off service but unfortunately the malfunctions ended up being a little bit more serious than expected.
We will share your words with our restaurant staff as it is always rewarding to see our best efforts recognized.
Please accept our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews