We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
793
229
56
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
229
56
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco terra nostra hot springs botanical gardens sao miguel hotel guests indoor pool free access open to the public lovely hotel hour access main restaurant amazing garden stew lovely room after hours spring pool
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

A stranger suggested this hotel to us as we had not booked before arriving on the island and we were pleasantly surprised! The property, although a 30-40 minute drive from the airport, has been modernized and a new section built. The garden, itself, dates back centuries and the Hotel was built in the 1930’s in the Art Deco style.

The property is situated in the town of Furnas, at the bottom of the crater of a volcano. The restaurant on site, which overlooks some beautiful old trees and a manicured lawn, is fantastic! (We checked out/tried a couple of others but this was the best by far!.). The gardens, with flower and tree species from around the world, are spectular! Also there are thermal spas and a thermal pond which the guests have use of at all times of the day and night - an interesting experience! (Towels and robes are in each room for guests to use at all times.) Spa treatments are also available. (Due to shortness of time we did not try these.)

What a charming place with diverse activities!

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank susanrV8881WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice M, Front Office Manager at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Susan,
Thank you so much for staying at Terra Nostra during your vacation in São Miguel Island!
We were delighted to read you had such a great experience in our company. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay with us. It is definitely rewarding to read such comments about the place where we work.
It was an absolute pleasure to have welcomed you in our hotel and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon in Terra Nostra.
Best,
Elisabete
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018

A very comfortable stay. I liked the outside bar/eating area which overlooked the entrance to the botanical gardens and the fact that we could enter the gardens at any time and did not have to wait for them to open. In the early morning the mist rose from the pools and was magical. Good food and an excellent location. Would recommend renting a car to travel around as there is lots to see. Everyone speaks at least a little English which in our case was helpful and we found the people of the Azores to be very friendly.

Room tip: A garden view room is to be recommended.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

The property is beautiful and the meal they cook in the ground (not sure of the formal name) is a fantastic dining experience. The only issue was the air conditioner was broke and it took a lot of pressing to get moved to another room. If the air conditioner wasn't a problem I probably would have rated as excellent. Things happen but it's the lack of communication that really is the problem.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7continents1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice M, Front Office Manager at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel and for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
We were very pleased to know you enjoyed our property and our traditional Cozido.
We are sorry to know that at some point you experience didn't turn out as you expected. We had in fact a technical issue in a completely booked hotel. We did everythig that was within our reach to solve the situation.
We appeal for your understanding and are sorry for any inconvenience this situation may have caused you.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.
Best wishes,
Elisabete Coelho
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but I loved this hotel. The park is amazing and it’s a great perk having it to yourself before it opens to the public. Same goes for the outdoor pools, which surprisingly don’t seem too popular with hotel guests - we were completely alone under the moon in the evening. It reminded me of a high-end hot spring resort in japan (and to be fair the whole area with lush green forests looks a lot like parts of rural japan). The hotel facilities are also very good level. I’d go again in a flash if in the Azores. Only (minor) disappointment - watery coffee at breakfast?

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank ItaloUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice M, Front Office Manager at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel during your holidays in the Azores.
We'd also like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel, gardens and hotsprings. Your kind words are very much appreciated.
We are sorry if at some point we did not exceed your expectations. We really appreciate your opinion which is extremely important to us. We will definitely look into it.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel in the near future.
See you soon!
Best wishes,
Elisabete
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We had a lovely room facing the gardens. So quiet and peaceful at night. Great breakfast buffet in the dining room. We had the special portugese dinner one evening but it wasn't my cup of tea. It is called Cozido and many restaurants on the island offer it.I liked all the other food that we had at the restaurant. We wandered the gardens several times over our two days plus took a dip in the hot pools. This was a very relaxing place to get over our jet lag.

Room tip: view of the gardens
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahH88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice M, Front Office Manager at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Deborah,
Thank you for choosing Terra Nostra Garden Hotel for your stay in São Miguel island.
We are so thankful for your lovely review regarding your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward o welcoming you again in our hotel.
Best wishes,
Elisabete Coelho
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews