We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solar a Flor da Rosa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Solar A Flor da Rosa -- the owners are very nice and helpful, the room was very comfortable and well decorated, breakfast excellent (you can even have an expresso!), and the region is lovely. The swimming pool is not very large, but it's nice to swim there after visiting the villages around.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ManuelaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2015

Flor da Rosa, along with Crato, Alter do Chão and Portalegre are some of the most beautiful villages in Alentejo, with plenty of historical points-of-interest to visit, providing you a great chance to learn more about Portugal history.

Besides the history, if you are a fan of off-roading, this region is also very nice for that, Portalegre, Fronteira and Crato host some of the most important off-road events in Portugal, namely the "24 Horas de Fronteira" (which took me there), so you can also enjoy the beautiful landscapes, driving along the endless off-road tracks.

Solar a Flor da Rosa is located right in the main street of Flor da Rosa, near by the church and the beautiful monastery. As you get there, you will be warmly received by the owners.

The place itself is extremely nice, it has a living room with a traditional Alentejo fireplace that will make you warm even on the coldest nights, it has a playroom with a poll table, and a simple but nice dinning room where you can have a very nice breakfast. The decoration is also very nice and will make you feel very comfortable.

The rooms are very spacious, and in my case even had two separate chambers, the main one and another for my son, with two beds. Everything is very nice and quiet.

This is a very nice place to stay if you want to rest. If you go there in the summer, you can also enjoy the swimming pool. I Strongly recommend the fall (Coctober/November) or the spring to go to Alentejo, because the fields are green and the temperatures are nice.

Room Tip: No need. The rooms are nice, spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mendesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We'd booked this B&B online and it was so nice and we were made to feel so welcome that we stayed an extra night, even though it meant we had to drive up to Pedrogao Grande for an appointment that evening and back down again then drive back up the next morning!!
The hosts were incredibly welcoming and made us feel at home. Beautifully designed and furnished, lovely enclosed garden with large pool at the back.
Breakfast was superb, with warm rolls straight from the bakery and freshly squeezed orange juice straight from their trees.
We walked to Crato for our meal, which took about half an hour but there was a cafe bar a couple of doors away we could have eaten at.
If you want to feel at home, have a great nights sleep, swim before breakfast, fab shower, then stay here. There are no bad points at all!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyandDaveCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

I use it as headquarter when we explore the small tows and beautiful places in this part of Alentejo.
In the end of the day is nice to come back and enjoy the summing pull until the dinner time. After dinner, you can play snooker and enjoy a noci drink in one very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakethejaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catarina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Andreia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Solar a Flor da Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar a Flor da Rosa

Address: Rua D. Nuno Alvares Pereira, no 32 - 34, Flor da Rosa 7430-221, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Flor da Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Flor da Rosa
Price Range: $96 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 km from Crato, under the sign of pure beauty, in the tranquility of the Alentejo landscape, is the hostel A Flor da Rosa. This antique house of the 18th century, near the natural park of S. Mamede, impressions with its unique decoration and calm scenario.The house has 5 double rooms, well decorated and comfortable, many interior spaces that invite you to relax, a game room for entertaining evening and the living room with the always welcomed fireplace. Outside, you can count on a garden and swimming-pool, where, on sunny days, you can breathe the country air under the blue sky. The Alentejo foods are tasted at breakfast with the regional cheeses and smoked sausages, the homemade jams and the natural orange juice and the freshly baked bread.Take a weekend, bring your family and friends and get to know another one of the enchanted places in Portugal, where you are received with care.Welcome to A Flor da Rosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Solar a Flor da Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing