We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
27
9
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
9
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Solar A Flor da Rosa -- the owners are very nice and helpful, the room was very comfortable and well decorated, breakfast excellent (you can even have an expresso!), and the region is lovely. The swimming pool is not very large, but it's nice to swim there after visiting the villages around.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ManuelaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2015

Flor da Rosa, along with Crato, Alter do Chão and Portalegre are some of the most beautiful villages in Alentejo, with plenty of historical points-of-interest to visit, providing you a great chance to learn more about Portugal history.

Besides the history, if you are a fan of off-roading, this region is also very nice for that, Portalegre, Fronteira and Crato host some of the most important off-road events in Portugal, namely the "24 Horas de Fronteira" (which took me there), so you can also enjoy the beautiful landscapes, driving along the endless off-road tracks.

Solar a Flor da Rosa is located right in the main street of Flor da Rosa, near by the church and the beautiful monastery. As you get there, you will be warmly received by the owners.

The place itself is extremely nice, it has a living room with a traditional Alentejo fireplace that will make you warm even on the coldest nights, it has a playroom with a poll table, and a simple but nice dinning room where you can have a very nice breakfast. The decoration is also very nice and will make you feel very comfortable.

The rooms are very spacious, and in my case even had two separate chambers, the main one and another for my son, with two beds. Everything is very nice and quiet.

This is a very nice place to stay if you want to rest. If you go there in the summer, you can also enjoy the swimming pool. I Strongly recommend the fall (Coctober/November) or the spring to go to Alentejo, because the fields are green and the temperatures are nice.

Room Tip: No need. The rooms are nice, spacious and quiet
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mendesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We'd booked this B&B online and it was so nice and we were made to feel so welcome that we stayed an extra night, even though it meant we had to drive up to Pedrogao Grande for an appointment that evening and back down again then drive back up the next morning!!
The hosts were incredibly welcoming and made us feel at home. Beautifully designed and furnished, lovely enclosed garden with large pool at the back.
Breakfast was superb, with warm rolls straight from the bakery and freshly squeezed orange juice straight from their trees.
We walked to Crato for our meal, which took about half an hour but there was a cafe bar a couple of doors away we could have eaten at.
If you want to feel at home, have a great nights sleep, swim before breakfast, fab shower, then stay here. There are no bad points at all!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyandDaveCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I use it as headquarter when we explore the small tows and beautiful places in this part of Alentejo.
In the end of the day is nice to come back and enjoy the summing pull until the dinner time. After dinner, you can play snooker and enjoy a noci drink in one very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakethejaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews