We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour of the Island”
Review of Taxi Calheta

Taxi Calheta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a small taxi company located in Calheta (between the south and the western end of the island) dedicated mainly to transport tourists, with a big goal - the satisfaction of our customers.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

We were lucky enough to be shown around the Island by Gregory (excuse my spelling if its wrong) and it was a real eye opener of a trip. We had been on the coast by Calheta for the duration of our 7 days and looking up at the mountains there didn't seem like there was much to see. We couldn't of been more wrong. Its an amazing place and its a shame alot of the tourists will never see this side of Madeira and will only see the all inclusive hotel parts. 1000 metre's up in the mountains and the clouds will literally be passing overhead. Its like two different islands.

Our tour was due to last from 9-430 but we ended up getting back about 4:50. At no point did we feel like we were being rushed. We stopped for lunch and had a two hour break by the coast volcanic rock pools.

We had been to Porto Santo the year before and had heard about the terrible fires in Madeira and Gregory took us around the burnt forest areas to show us how it had begun to recover. It appeared to me that because we showed interest in our surroundings that he catered the tour to suit us and he done a great job doing that.

My parents are planning on going to Madeira soon for a tour of the various gardens and i will make sure i point them in the direction of Taxi Calheta to get the best tour.

Thanks Gregory for a great tour, it was definitely one of the stand out moments during the holiday. I'm a nervous passenger but during the tour i never felt like the he was driving too fast for the conditions. Great driver.

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

thank you ! (Obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"during our stay"
in 4 reviews
"porto moniz"
in 4 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"perfect english"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"safe driver"
in 3 reviews
"no stress"
in 2 reviews
"paid euros"
in 2 reviews
"take pictures"
in 2 reviews
"ernesto"
in 17 reviews
"paulo"
in 4 reviews
"trips"
in 6 reviews
"island"
in 13 reviews
"holiday"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 4 reviews
"calheta"
in 16 reviews
"madeira"
in 12 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2017

We used Paulo for a trip to Funchal. The pricing and information he gave us, in perfect English, was excellent and helped a lot with our trip in Funchal. He gave us loads of advice and ideas of things to do in Funchal and it was very much appreciated. Because of this we used Paulo's taxi service for our trip to Porto Moniz. He was amazing, we couldn't of asked for more. He took a very scenic route there and back but didn't charge us extra even though this increased the length of the journey. Whenever we were at a particularly beautiful part of the country he would stop the car and let us get out to take pictures, whenever we wanted. When we arrived in Porto Moniz he recommended the best place to swim in the natural rock pools which was free and made sure we got there safely. This was a truly unique way to explore the island in the sole charge of Paulo who's knowledge of the island was amazing.

Really great service and prices, definitely recommend!

1  Thank johncumming115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

thank you (Obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We initially booked with Ernesto to take us to Funchal for the day and collect us early evening. He was extremely flexible which meant we could change our pick up time with only 45 mins notice giving us ample time to explore Funchal. We went with a lovely couple we met from our hotel Linda and Stephen and ended up booking Ernesto to take all 4 of us on a full day tour and then a half day tour so we could see as much of this incredible island as possible with as little hassle as possible. He took us to Porto Moniz booked us into a restaurant for lunch before we went swimming in the sea pools as well as taking us to the best Poncha bar in Madeira! He literally thought of everything....fantastic holiday as a result. Some of the roads are extremely narrow and precarious so it was great to be able to relax and just enjoy the views. Can't recommend Ernesto highly enough if you are staying in Calheta or surrounding area.

1  Thank Annie768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

thank you ! (Obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

Ernesto was the best taxi service we have ever experienced. He took us to parts of Maderia we wouldn't have found ourselves. We spent 3 brilliant days in his company showing us the sights & informing us of endless information on the island which was great. Nothing was too much trouble & he was so accommodating. We would highly recommend his services. Linda & Stephen

1  Thank thehairrazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

thank you ! (Obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

Paulo was great. Professional, flexible and kind. Gave his coat to my wife tonuse while on a hike as it unexpectedly turned cold, changed routes several times for us. Highly recommend.

1  Thank johnpfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taxi Calheta also viewed

 
Prazeres, Calheta
Arco da Calheta, Calheta
 

Been to Taxi Calheta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing