We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TOUR”
Review of Taxi Calheta

Taxi Calheta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a small taxi company located in Calheta (between the south and the western end of the island) dedicated mainly to transport tourists, with a big goal - the satisfaction of our customers.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

My wife and I had a great tour with Gregory arranged through the tourist place in Calheta opposite the Savoy Hotel. We travelled around the south side of the island in a minibus containing eight persons all English speaking. Gregory was a very good guide speaking perfect English and we all had a wonderful six hour tour. I would describe this trip as professional and informative with a wonderfully safe driver. I do see there is another review on about Gregory and I am extremely pleased that like me it was a very positive trip and I would recommend anybody who is looking for a cab to ask for Gregory you will not be disappointed.

Thank RJ682015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

thank you (obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"during our stay"
in 3 reviews
"porto moniz"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"no stress"
in 2 reviews
"paid euros"
in 2 reviews
"safe driver"
in 2 reviews
"always on time"
in 2 reviews
"ernesto"
in 16 reviews
"trips"
in 6 reviews
"island"
in 11 reviews
"poncha"
in 3 reviews
"calheta"
in 14 reviews
"information"
in 3 reviews
"madeira"
in 12 reviews
"paulo"
in 2 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 51 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2017

My husband, myself and our three girls had a fantastic tour with Ernesto. He collected us from our holiday house in Arco de Calheta at 9.30 and showed us the route on a map before heading off in a very comfortable 8 seater vehicle. On the way he told us about the area and answered all our questions. We could stay at each stopping point as long as we wanted. We loved Achadas da Cruz and had a long time there and we had two hours in Porto Moniz eating at a great restaurant which Ernesto recommended and visiting the aquarium. He said we would be back home between 4 and 5 but we had longer at each stop (the girls needed to meet every cat in Madeira) so we were later, about 5.30 - but at no point did he seem bothered about this. He even brought us a scenic way back under a waterfall and then diverted to show us the start of a levada walk in Calheta which we did today. We all loved our day trip, even my hard to please teenager said she loved it. It was excellent value at 110 euros for all of us and way more relaxing and enjoyable than trying to drive ourselves!

2  Thank UKAli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

thank you (obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Professional and reliable . Took us to Funchal and collected at a pre arranged time punctually . Very informative driver gave us almost a mini tour both ways and arranged for his colleague to collect us and take us to a restaurant that had been recommended. He was also punctual .

Thank jules167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

thank you (obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017

We were lucky enough to be shown around the Island by Gregory (excuse my spelling if its wrong) and it was a real eye opener of a trip. We had been on the coast by Calheta for the duration of our 7 days and looking up at the mountains there didn't seem like there was much to see. We couldn't of been more wrong. Its an amazing place and its a shame alot of the tourists will never see this side of Madeira and will only see the all inclusive hotel parts. 1000 metre's up in the mountains and the clouds will literally be passing overhead. Its like two different islands.

Our tour was due to last from 9-430 but we ended up getting back about 4:50. At no point did we feel like we were being rushed. We stopped for lunch and had a two hour break by the coast volcanic rock pools.

We had been to Porto Santo the year before and had heard about the terrible fires in Madeira and Gregory took us around the burnt forest areas to show us how it had begun to recover. It appeared to me that because we showed interest in our surroundings that he catered the tour to suit us and he done a great job doing that.

My parents are planning on going to Madeira soon for a tour of the various gardens and i will make sure i point them in the direction of Taxi Calheta to get the best tour.

Thanks Gregory for a great tour, it was definitely one of the stand out moments during the holiday. I'm a nervous passenger but during the tour i never felt like the he was driving too fast for the conditions. Great driver.

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

thank you ! (Obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We used Paulo for a trip to Funchal. The pricing and information he gave us, in perfect English, was excellent and helped a lot with our trip in Funchal. He gave us loads of advice and ideas of things to do in Funchal and it was very much appreciated. Because of this we used Paulo's taxi service for our trip to Porto Moniz. He was amazing, we couldn't of asked for more. He took a very scenic route there and back but didn't charge us extra even though this increased the length of the journey. Whenever we were at a particularly beautiful part of the country he would stop the car and let us get out to take pictures, whenever we wanted. When we arrived in Porto Moniz he recommended the best place to swim in the natural rock pools which was free and made sure we got there safely. This was a truly unique way to explore the island in the sole charge of Paulo who's knowledge of the island was amazing.

Really great service and prices, definitely recommend!

1  Thank johncumming115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

thank you (Obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taxi Calheta also viewed

Arco da Calheta, Calheta
Prazeres, Calheta
 
Calheta, Madeira
 

Been to Taxi Calheta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing