We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We used him throughout our trips during our stay at Calheta”
Review of Taxi Calheta

Taxi Calheta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a small taxi company located in Calheta (between the south and the western end of the island) dedicated mainly to transport tourists, with a big goal - the satisfaction of our customers.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

If you decide not to hire a car if it is your first visit to Madeira, I would recommend Ernesto as your taxi driver. His service was excellent and I'd say his prices were reasonable. If you want to visit certain places, they can give you help and advice. We were with a toddler so a heads up always helps.

His was always prompt and so communication was not an issue. No stress and relax was his motto, enjoy the holiday.

Thanks Ernesto.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Samra2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

thank you (obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"during our stay"
in 4 reviews
"porto moniz"
in 4 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"perfect english"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"safe driver"
in 3 reviews
"no stress"
in 2 reviews
"paid euros"
in 2 reviews
"take pictures"
in 2 reviews
"ernesto"
in 17 reviews
"paulo"
in 4 reviews
"trips"
in 6 reviews
"island"
in 13 reviews
"holiday"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 4 reviews
"calheta"
in 16 reviews
"madeira"
in 12 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2018

Very easy to arrange and paid 40 euros return from outside our hotel Calheta Beach, well worth it as there are no buses up to there.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank tobyleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

thank you (obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

You have to know them if you stay in Calheta! They are very fast, when you call them, it will take 10 minutes for them arrive to your house!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

thank you (obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017

My wife and I had a great tour with Gregory arranged through the tourist place in Calheta opposite the Savoy Hotel. We travelled around the south side of the island in a minibus containing eight persons all English speaking. Gregory was a very good guide speaking perfect English and we all had a wonderful six hour tour. I would describe this trip as professional and informative with a wonderfully safe driver. I do see there is another review on about Gregory and I am extremely pleased that like me it was a very positive trip and I would recommend anybody who is looking for a cab to ask for Gregory you will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank RJ682015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

thank you (obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

My husband, myself and our three girls had a fantastic tour with Ernesto. He collected us from our holiday house in Arco de Calheta at 9.30 and showed us the route on a map before heading off in a very comfortable 8 seater vehicle. On the way he told us about the area and answered all our questions. We could stay at each stopping point as long as we wanted. We loved Achadas da Cruz and had a long time there and we had two hours in Porto Moniz eating at a great restaurant which Ernesto recommended and visiting the aquarium. He said we would be back home between 4 and 5 but we had longer at each stop (the girls needed to meet every cat in Madeira) so we were later, about 5.30 - but at no point did he seem bothered about this. He even brought us a scenic way back under a waterfall and then diverted to show us the start of a levada walk in Calheta which we did today. We all loved our day trip, even my hard to please teenager said she loved it. It was excellent value at 110 euros for all of us and way more relaxing and enjoyable than trying to drive ourselves!

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank UKAli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto S, Gerente at Taxi Calheta, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

thank you (obrigado)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taxi Calheta also viewed

Arco da Calheta, Calheta
Prazeres, Calheta
 

Been to Taxi Calheta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing