We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the beach”
Review of Aphrodite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aphrodite Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Molyvos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Look no further. Stay here. You'll love it. My friends and I originally booked the Aphrodite Hotel for a 3-night stay, but we loved it so much that we canceled our plans to stay elsewhere on the island and ended up spending our entire 6-night/7-day holiday on Lesvos at this beautiful place. We wished we could've been there longer.

The Aphrodite Hotel is a boutique, family-run hotel with its own private, rock beach with calm, cobalt-blue waters, a wonderful outdoor saltwater pool, an outdoor taverna, and peaceful grounds lush with gardens. The rooms are simple and newly renovated with good beds & a/c, the public spaces are lovely, the breakfasts delicious, and the property is a 5-minute drive or taxi ride (5 Euros) from the spectacular, fortressed town of Moylvos with its amazing views, restaurants, and "nightlife." At the Aphrodite, you get the best of both worlds: tranquility and nature, but proximity to the more lively areas as well. (We spent a couple of days at nearby Anaxos Beach, which is long and sandy, with bigger waves and beach cafes and facilities. We found that alternating our time between that and the Aphrodite's calm, rocky beach a perfect mix).

Yet perhaps what made our stay at the Aphrodite truly superlative was the service. The family who runs the hotel bent over backwards to accommodate us and make sure we were comfortable. When they heard we'd be arriving after a grueling time working in Athens -- on the same night that a large wedding was taking place at the property -- they reserved two large suites for us as far from the festivities as possible so that we might have some peace and quiet. When the a/c in one of the suites was taking a while to kick in (it was 41C/105F that day we arrived), they moved me to a smaller room that cooled off quickly (room 220. I liked this room so much that I opted to stay there for the next two days instead, but after which, they moved me to a spectacular front seaview room, 201, because 220 had been reserved for the additional dates). They were so friendly, kind, and hospitable; I cannot recommend their hotel enough.

So you know: this is a family-run hotel on one of the least-developed Greek islands. It is modern and lovely, but not super-glitzy or slick, and there were occasional glitches with the electronic room keys and a few small room-details (in one, the safe did't work; in another, the shower-head seemed old). Also, the beach is great for swimming, but it's a pebble and rock beach, so getting in the water can be a challenge without swimming shoes (available for purchase in Molyvos for about 10 Euro). But it is beautiful place with chaise lounges and thatched umbrellas, and the service and the grounds are superb. It is an ideal place to chill out.

What also needs to be said: Lesvos has suffered in 2015-2016 due to the refugee crisis. Ordinary Greek families like the ones who run the Aphrodite Hotel behaved heroically during the crisis, rescuing drowning families, clothing them, feeding them, ferrying them to hospitals and crisis centers. They opened their businesses and their hearst in order to Do the Right Thing. Now, the refugees are gone -- or housed on a different side of the island in two camps out of site from anyone. The boats are no longer arriving; the island is once again tranquil. But the tourists are not coming back. And businesses like the Aphrodite Hotel are paying dearly for being caught in the crosshairs of history. So by choosing to stay here, you will not only be treating yourself to a blissful holiday, but you'll be doing a good deed as well. Your tourism dollars/Euros will enable locals to thrive again. You'll be showing support for "first responders."

Yet, if I didn't mention this in this review, guests now would never know it. There is no sign of the 2015 crisis evident at the Aphrodite Hotel at all. There are merely palm trees, grapevines, gardens, dramatic views everywhere you look, and a restful, charming, distinctly Greek property on the sea.

Room Tip: Suites 306-307 in have kitchens, cathedral ceilings, sea views. 220 smaller but has extra window &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank aBroadAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aphrodite V, Ιδιοκτήτης at Aphrodite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear aBroadAbroad,
A huge THANK YOU for your amazing review and the information you have provided! We wish you a great year and hope to see you again soon! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at the Aphrodite and as soon as I return to work on Tuesday we are booking for next year, but two weeks this time.
It is one of the most relaxing places we have stayed at. The highlight for us was the beachfront taverna.
The views from here were beautiful, we say here for hours, under the trees when it got a bit too hot, admiring the view.
The food is reasonably priced and excellent quality and choice - try the souvlaki or pork chops they are fantastic.
The hotel rooms are spacious and spotless and I would recommend upgrading to a superior room as you get a lovely side seaview.
There are lovely grounds with flowering shrubs and palm trees for shade. There is a large cat family too who will come and sit next to you (but only if you want them to).
The hotel has its own free mini bus service into Molyvos, alternatively we walked and it's about 20 minutes walk or a 5 Euro taxi.
A special mention to all the staff here, they are a credit to the hotel. We were treated as part of the family and will be counting the days until we return.
If you are looking for a traditional Greek hotel and a taste of the real Greece this is the hotel for you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aphrodite V, Ιδιοκτήτης at Aphrodite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Laura,

It was a pleasure meeting you! Thank you for your feedback and kind words! We wish you a wonderful winter and looking forward to seeing you again next year!

All the best,
The Aphrodite Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Super hotel! Superb swimmingpool, restaurant , private beach, superfriendly people and no refugees in the village, they are only refugees in the main city of the island not near the sea.. hotel and island deserve tourism back. Very friendly priced hotel!

Room Tip: We had a sea side suite, very friendly priced and very big with2 balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jamude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis M, Διευθυντής at Aphrodite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Jamude,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and support. We truly appreciate your feedback and your effort to share the true image of the island with everyone. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerley,
Panagiotis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

This very modern and neatly renovated hotel is a good place to stay, the staff is unbelievable friendly and takes all the time to help you! If you are looking for a good place for summer I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: You can ask for the suites with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcmusic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis M, Διευθυντής at Aphrodite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear pcmusic1,
Thank you so much for your recommendation of our hotel! We are happy you had a lovely stay with us and we definitely look forward to seeing you again in the future!

All the best,
Panagiotis M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Aphrodite Hotel for 8 days in October. It was our first visit to Molyvos and will be the first of many to come. This is a family owned and operated hotel on the Greek island of Lesvos. The hotel was wonderful and the staff simply amazing. We could not have asked for a better place to rest and relax on the Aegean Sea. The town of Molyvos is a charming Greek vilage. The people we met were warm and inviting. I can not say enough about Molyvos or the Aphrodite Hotel. We cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akbayg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Without doubt one of the best hotels in the area. Large rooms, clean and modern furniture. Family run, nice hard working people used to live in the US. Palm trees and plants everywhere and a very nice large salted swimming pool exactly on the beach, which is a bit rough .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank worldender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We have stayed at the Aphrodite Hotel for the past four years and will be back next year.
The management and staff are truly wonderful people who have looked after us royally every time we have stayed. The quality of the rooms, food and service are all easily the best we have experienced in Greece and for the cost of our holiday, the best anywhere in the world.
The village of Molyvos is incredibly beautiful and the people are warm, kind and friendly. There are numerous restaurants all serving excellent reasonably priced food and many of them also provide a view to die for.
We spent two weeks here in early August and can report that we did not see a single refugee, but the tourist business is suffering because people still believe their holiday will be affected. This may have been true in 2015, but not now. The people of Lesvos are nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize for their kindness and hospitality shown to refugees, although this is great news, what they really need is for their tourist industry to return to normal levels otherwise these great hotels and restaurants may not be there for us all to enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Des P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molyvos
1.3 km away
Hotel Molyvos 1
Hotel Molyvos 1
#7 of 12 in Molyvos
62 reviews
2.1 km away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
1.1 km away
Viva Mare Hotel
Viva Mare Hotel
#2 of 6 in Eftalou
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sunrise Resort Hotel
Sunrise Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Eftalou
191 reviews
39.8 km away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vatera
98 reviews
44.3 km away
Theofilos Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Hotel

Address: Lesvos Island, Molyvos 81108, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Molyvos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Molyvos
Price Range: $96 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aphrodite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodite Hotel Molyvos, Greece - Lesbos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing