We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Valais Hotel(Alykanas)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thetis(Alykanas)(Great Value!)
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zante Nest Studios & Apartments(Alykanas)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Letsos(Alykanas)
US$59
US$23
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zante Flower(Alykanas)
US$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$60
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Caretta(Alykanas)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thetis - Nereids Hotel(Alykanas)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mantalena(Alykanas)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
487
417
217
63
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
417
217
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubthomson repsalykanas villagelemon treesnack barevening entertainmentwater parkplastic cupsfamily resortbeach poolself cateringnext yearice creamair constray dogsyoung childrensoft play area
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2011

iv just returned from a week at the alykanas village, the hotel is fab for children the kids club is brill, they have a nice big park for children an a indoor soft play bit (witch was good for wen it rained) the pools are really good, as i have a 2 an a half year old an the water was really shallow so he could get in an out wiv out me worrying... its fantastic location right on the beach .... the food at the snack bar is really good i eat there a few times they do a good selection an i wouldnt say it was over priced either... the only let down 2 the hotel is the stray dogs, dont get me wrong they wer harmless but u just dont want 2 see them wen ur on holiday they wer jus a pain... they wer a pack of about 8, drinking out of the pool an if u had any food lying about they would pinch it...
the resort its self is poor, very very small, all of 3 supermarkets an a couple of shops an bars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just spent last week here. The best part is the children clubs, the staff are fantastic and kids really enjoy {My 5 year old}. The place itself is very rural so you do feel very limited, a few restraunts and bars but that's about it. If the weather is good and you just want a quiet holiday with childrens club then this is ideal. Any Glasgow travellers book your extra night in advance on the web through Thomson web site as the maximum cost is about £18 whereas the hotel charge 50 Euro !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if anyone has mobility issues, as that is the only lift access, all other apartments is all stairs, so if you have a pram it can become quite difficult.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angemonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed between the 7th and 14th October. The hotel is good but you can't have a bath as when you let the water out it floods the bathroom and the bedroom, we were told that's Greek plumbing. The stray dogs are everywhere and are really annoying. The hotel is clean and the staff very good. A rip off is the sun beds on the beach, there are only about 20 beds and they charge 5 euros for them yet 2 metres away on the grass they are free, it seems that this is aimed at families who are likely to be on the beach with children. Overall a good holiday but could be so much better.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbull1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Alykanas Village through Thomson from 23rd Sept for 10 nights. We booked late so got a good deal.

HOTEL:
The rooms are very big but in need of some TLC. Ours had 4 beds in it even though we only booked for two of us. There have clearly been some shoddy repairs and there is a bit of a poor finish, particularly in the bathroom, but it is all clean, functional and well equipped, with toaster, kettle, microwave, hob and fridge as well as plates, cutlery and utensils in the kitchen, a bath and shower and a hairdryer. The only other criticism is the lack of good lighting as the various wall lights don’t light the room very well when its dark.
The Hotel does not have Wi-Fi in the rooms which I thought it should, but does have a couple of PC's with internet access. It only took about 25 mins to transfer from the airport to hotel. The Pool area can get noisy during the day with music and games etc, the "quiet" pool by the beach is quieter but still very busy and definitely not quiet. We always just managed to find sun beds, but I imagine its alot busier in peak season.
After reading some reviews on here I took the tip of e-mailing the hotel manager, Gloria in advance to request a sea view double room. Not sure where I went wrong but this didn’t work as we got a pool view at the back of the hotel and above the bar, which was noisy in the evenings. Apparently the beds are all twins, so you have to push them together and avoid the crack if you want to use it as a double and the maid will continue to make them up as separate twins.
The maids came every day except one and changed the towels every other day.

It costs 35 euro to hire a safe in the room for 10 days and this is non refundable, so rather expensive. It is also 5 euro a day for air conditioning, but we managed without this by leaving the shutters closed and the door open to let the air in and keep the sun out.

RESORT - Alykanas is great for couples or families looking for a relaxing break. There is a small selection of shops inc supermarkets, gift shops, pharmacy etc in which you can find most things you would need. There is a good choice of restaurants and more than enough for a different one each night and a good handful of bars too, although most of them did seem to get quiet fairly early. I guess its alot busier in peak season.
The financial crisis in Greece is apparent as lots of half built buildings have been abandoned. Prices are not too bad though. An evening meal costs between 10-15 Euros each with wine and dessert. As we were there towards the end of the season some restaurants started to put on offers, such as a main meal for 5 Euros. Day trips to the smugglers cove cost from 20 euro, Mythos beer 2.50 and cocktails about 4.50 Euros. I would budget at least 40-50 euro each per day if you want to eat out at night and have drinks and snacks etc during the day. In most restaurants you can order a 1 litre carafe of the local wine for about 6 Euros or a smaller one for four euro, which is very good value, although it is an acquired taste and very strong. There are horses and carts available as taxis to take you to restaurants in the old town or into Alykes which really adds to a lovely atmosphere. You do get the occasional stray dog and lucky lucky men but neither bothered us too much.

The only slight downside to the resort is the smell. Not sure if they are having problems with their drains or sewers but there is an occasional strong smell of something very unpleasant in places.

The beach is nice, only narrow enough for one row of sun beds in some places, but there is plenty of room to walk past and it is fairly quiet. It is 5 Euros for 2 sun beds and a parasol all day, but this is worth it as on very hot days it is much cooler due to the lovely sea breeze. The sea is very clear and shallow enough to walk in quite far out. There are also boats, jet skis etc available for hire at reasonable prices.

Alykes is the next town along and only a 10-15 minute walk either along the main road and along the river, or take a shortcut along the beach. It is a similar size to Alykanas, with bars restaurants and shops and a beach.

The Trainaki is a great day out and costs only 12.50 euro each per adult. It takes you through Alykes, up into the hills, where there are beautiful views. You pass through Kastastari and stop off at the museum, church and taverna in Pigadakia. At the Taverna the local wine is free and very strong and you can have as much as you can drink, so on the way home everyone is very merry! You can buy a snack or meal from the Taverna which isn’t included in the cost of the trip but is fairly reasonably priced.

Bonkers bar - the first you come to as you leave the hotel on the road towards Alykanas, is good for breakfasts, snacks and cocktails (4 euro) and very handy for the hotel. They have free wifi and a pool too.

Cosy Corner - nice English breakfasts and free Wi-Fi

Cuba bar - one of the busier bars and cheapest for beer at 2 euro for a small mythos. They also have TVs so good for watching the football.

Catacombves - great cocktails

To Nostimo - the first restaurant on the road into town from the hotel. The food was nice but the service wasn’t great and the loud Greek music got a bit annoying as it was on constant repeat.

Apollo - nice atmosphere, good service, food nice too. Good value.

Oasis - next to the sea at the far end of Alykanas beach as you walk towards Alykes. Nice for lunch or a snack, food ok but great location

Poseidon - nice meal, good vegetarian selection, although I found the vegetable moussaka was a bit stodgy and tasteless.

Vagi's - in Alykanas. Good vegetarian selection. The "Vegetarian Plate" was the best meal of the whole holiday for me and includes a selection of vegetarian Greek dishes inc stuffed vine leaves and briam (cooked vegetables).

Memories - good food, friendly welcoming staff, great value and a free horse and cart ride home. Definitely worth the walk to the other end of town.

To Paradosiako - on the Riverside half way between Alykanas and Alykes. A bit more polished and refined than the Tavernas in town but the prices are still reasonable. The food was nice, but the service was a little slow. They were very busy and there was a queue to get in by 8.15pm so would advise booking in advance or getting there early.

Levantes - they had an end of season offer on for main courses at 5 euro each. The food was ok for its price, and the pizza was nice, but definitely not the best place in the resort.

Neraida - a lovely location next to the beach and they had live music which gave it a lovely atmosphere. Unfortunately the food wasn’t as nice and the menu was very limited, possibly due to it being towards the end of the season.

The Lemon Tree - this is in Alykanas old town and you can catch a horse and cart from the road outside the hotel for 5 euro each way. I believe they will do a free minibus ride back but we preferred to catch a horse and cart back too. The setting is lovely and the food was nice too.

Overall a great resort for a relaxing break for couples or families and I would return, although possibly not to the same hotel and definitely not in peak season.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank karenjmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here the first week of October, the rooms were very tired and in need of repair and updating. We moved from the original ground floor room as it was very dark and musty, there was a puddle of water just inside the door and the kitchen work tops were in a bad state. We moved to a second floor room which was a little better. There was a drink spill mark on the floor by the bed when we moved in, which was still there the day we moved out !!
The towels in the room weren't changed regularly and were very worn. Not sure if this is because it is coming to the end of the season and their standards are dropping, but this is not a 4 star.
It is in a very good location, on the beach, close to shops and restaurants.
Take your own food to the airport as it is VERY expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustypersian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews