We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa with fantastic views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Damythsi

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool showing formed sunbed and seating area with jacuzzi in the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Pool showing formed sunbed and seating area with jacuzzi in the pool
The Villa from Sept 2015 showing the mature gardens, which have improved the privacy around the pool
Outside dining with fantastic views towards Kalives
Bedroom Balcony with views towards Kalives and The White Mountains
The views toward the White Mountains from the pool area.
The Pool at night, showing the jacuzzi, seating area and steps
The Pool at night, showing the jacuzzi, seating area and steps
Fully equipped kitchen
Upstairs Double bedroom with doors to front and rear balconies
Upstairs Double bedroom with Balcony
Lounge area
Views from the gated entrance and private driveway leading to private car park and garage.
Lounge area showing sofas and television with satellite and dvd
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kalyves, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cazzam13
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely villa with fantastic views”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing villa, so clean and comfortable with everything you need. Loved getting up in the morning and just taking in the lovely view all round. Also at the end of the day when there was a great sunset especially from the balcony. We had rented a car, and I was very pleased we had as the track to the villa is very uneven and unlit at night and even the nearest Tavernas and supermarket are quite a long walk. In Plaka, we tried Elpis (Big Mommas) and Takis, lovely food in both. Also there are more Tavernas further on in Alymrida and some good cocktail bars too! The best beach nearby is Kalvyes. There is a beach in Alymrida but it is rather smaller.The owner stays in contact and if any problems there is a management company on hand to help. Also having wifi is a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonMa...
SWINDON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Villa, and well worth a trip!”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having booked the villa with OD.co.uk usual nerves about the process & security of these types of transactions set in (I have used the site for some years without issue I hasten to add). I am glad to report that once again Owners Direct came up trumps and K (the owner) is a great guy and pleasure to deal with!

The booking process was easy, gave the owner a call and K was very pleased to answer any questions I had. Glad to say it was simple and fast and K made regular contact as the date got closer to ensure that any requirements we had were met. I never had any issues in contacting the owner (even whilst in Crete) with questions of any kind.

The villa is beautiful and has some stunning views over the mountains as described and it is very well maintained (the photo's of the gardens don't do it justice as its has been terraced and planted since they were taken). The welcome pack left by the local management agent was a great treat when we arrived.

All of the facilities are as you would expect, Microwave, fridge freezer, cooker etc, all the items you are ever likely to need. (I would note the washing machine drum is not large so don't plan on doing masses of washing or you might be surprised at the number of loads needed).

A couple of very minor notes....

The single beds are on the bottom floor and doubles are on the top floor (seemed a little odd to me as we would normally have put the children further away from evening noise) however I must stress that for us it was never any issue as we spent the evenings on the veranda with selection of K's recommendation of the "local brown wines"

Local cab companies didn't seem to know where to find us on the 1 occasion we tried to use them, and it is very difficult to explain when you are not from the area so we gave up waiting and drove every night.

The villa is situated some way down an uneven gravel track and we found that a car is an essential for the stay - we had no problems in our Nissan Micra (I would recommend a small 4 x 4 type vehicle really).

Plaka is where we spent the majority of our evenings sampling many of the Tavernas (we never had a bad meal in any....). We also ventured further in to Almyrida to a fantastic new restaurant on the front - will post more in this on a well known review website!

Only reason we gave 4 out 5 stars is we couldn't really walk to town with smaller kids - so if your happy for a 4-5 min drive to town book it now you wont be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kezzstel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say? Walking into villa Damythsi immediately felt like a home from home, except it was cleaner than mine. It had all the facilities needed to make a holiday trouble free. Including a washing machine which meant I didn't have to come home and deal with
dirty washing.
The views were absolutely breath taking from whichever side of the villa you looked out from. I had the "red room" which had balcony front and rear which meant
I had the sun from the minute it came up to the
minute it disappeared behind the mountains in the distance in Almyrida.
It was a pleasant walk into plaka with a pit stop in the very friendly totem bar half way down. If you don't hire a car I would recommend a taxi back as it's up hill.
All in all a fantastic relaxing holiday, I was in contact with the owner of the villa and nothing was too much trouble, even down to him recommending a local takeout that would deliver to the villa.
When can I go again? ????

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetty777
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday destination!”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely, clean villa with an amazing pool and stunning scenery!
A great welcome pack and good local amenities meant we had everything we needed for a relaxed and enjoyable stay.
Everything we wanted from our holiday.
We will definitely be recommending and without a doubt be returning!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel F
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Relaxing and peaceful with beautiful views”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Villa Damythsi with our two children aged 11 and 13 in July 2004. The villa was exactly as described and had everything we needed including wifi. The views were really great and it was very peaceful. Kevin met us in Plaka on the night we arrived, took us to the villa and provided a welcome pack both of which were really helpful as we arrived on a late flight. Kevin was also available during our stay for any questions.
The local supermarket had everything we needed for breakfast and lunch and we ate in Plaka and some of the other local villages in the evenings - all within a couple of kilometres drive. The food was good, lots of variety and very reasonably priced.
We really enjoyed our stay in villa Damythsi, and there was always a cooling breeze at the pool even on some of the very hot days, and would have no hesitation in recommending the villa to others looking for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views from pool and cool breeze
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal38
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location, excellent mountain views. Local people so friendly and welcoming. We stayed with our two young children who loved the private pool . Villa was lovely,clean very well maintained and looked after, it had the wow factor . Can not recommend this enough. The children loved it and so did we . Love to revisit

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianchur...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great place to relax with great views. Kevin cant do enough for you which is an asset in a strange place. Villa is clean and swimming pool is to die for. Evening time gives you phenomenal views over the mountains looking down into the villages.
Will definitely go again as we like the quiet way of holidaying.
Great for kids with a large tv and Netflix.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing