We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect hyde away on Crete”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Damythsi

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool showing formed sunbed and seating area with jacuzzi in the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Pool showing formed sunbed and seating area with jacuzzi in the pool
The Villa from Sept 2015 showing the mature gardens, which have improved the privacy around the pool
Outside dining with fantastic views towards Kalives
Bedroom Balcony with views towards Kalives and The White Mountains
The views toward the White Mountains from the pool area.
The Pool at night, showing the jacuzzi, seating area and steps
The Pool at night, showing the jacuzzi, seating area and steps
Fully equipped kitchen
Upstairs Double bedroom with doors to front and rear balconies
Upstairs Double bedroom with Balcony
Lounge area
Views from the gated entrance and private driveway leading to private car park and garage.
Lounge area showing sofas and television with satellite and dvd
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kalyves, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Markwin P
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect hyde away on Crete”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We just spend a relaxing week at Villa Damythsi in Almyrida/ Kampia on the western part of the Greek island Crete. The villa provides everything a family or group of 4 to 6 persons can possibly wish for. We started our day with a breakfast in the morning sun on the roof terrace, only surrounded by the sound of birds and goats. In the evenings we enjoyed BBQ and the sunset over the beautiful views from the pool terrace. Chania (airport) and Rethymno are about 45 minutes by car and western Crete offers lots of beautiful beaches and natural areas you can visit when you choose not to spend a lazy day at the pool. Shops, banks etc. can be found in the nearby villages Almyrida and Kalyves

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Views at Lefka Ori (White Mountains) and Souda bay from pool terrace
Liked least: Leaving this beautiful place
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay,I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Villa Damythsi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorisK_10...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We (2 adults and 2 young teenage children) stayed in this amazing villa during Easter holidays and had everything you need from a holiday - comfortable accommodation, great food nearby and excellent beaches. The owner Kevin and caretaker Chris make every effort to ensure everything is in order fr you. The villa has killer views, I have never stayed anywhere like it. The village of Plaka has at least 3 good restaurants, Takis probably being the best for our liking. Our favourite sandy beach was in Almyrida only 7 minutes drive away. Sand is very good, and it's great for kids because it starts quite shallow, but if you are Ian Thorpe or Rebecca Adlington then only about 70 metres away it becomes quite deep, we saw people swimming across the harbour. The beach in Kalyves is bigger but is stony in places and the sand is a bit coarser.
You definitely need a car to get about, we went to a lovely botanic garden about an hour drive away, ancient Aptera with remains of Roman theatre and glass-blowing works in Kokkino Horio. There are lots of activities in Vamos but it's strongly recommended to phone the tourist information office in advance and book - just turning up may not work if they don't have enough people in the group.
Oh, and don't ask for pudding/dessert in restaurants - they always bring it to you anyway when you ask for the bill! :o)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, beach, food
Liked least: In early April the nights are cold
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you for your kind words, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at our Villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent villa with spectacular views”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We hadn’t planned to go away during the Easter holidays and didn’t book the villa until March. What a great decision – just back from a wonderful week in the sun. The villa is stunning with the most spectacular views. Waking up each morning to the white mountains and the sea was the perfect start to each day. Relaxing on the terrace to watch the sun go down – the perfect ending.
The villa had everything we needed and was very comfortable and clean. Our teenagers appreciated the wifi….The terraces, pool area and gardens are very well cared for. We hired a car and the location made for a great base to explore unspoilt Western Crete. If you don’t mind a few winding mountain roads then the Theriso Gorge is worth a visit providing some spectacular views and a glimpse of traditional village life. We lunched at an excellent taverna in Zourva near the church.
We enjoyed several walks from the villa to Plaka and to Alymrida. Plenty of places to eat, good food and everyone extremely welcoming and friendly. The walk back to the villa helped with the overeating….one evening we got a taxi back which the restaurant booked for us.
The owner was extremely helpful, answering any questions before we went as well as being available if needed - plus the management company were also on hand.
We would highly recommend the villa and would certainly visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words Janice. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Villa and had a great time exploring this beautiful island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woll72
1 review
“Perfect Peaceful Holiday.”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed 13th - 20th September. Gorgeous clean and tidy Villa with all the amenities you need. If you want a quiet peaceful break away from the hustle and bustle it is perfect. All you can hear are sheep and goats bells as they graze close by.
We would recommend car hire as a little off the beaten track. In a car you are minutes away from the nearest shops tavernas and beach. Driving around the Island was fine with stunning views. Car hire no issues at all. Locals were very friendly.
The views from the Villa across to the white mountains made me smile every morning and evening sunset was stunning!
This villa comes highly recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie155
Droitwich Spa, Worcs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning View with Well Equipped Villa”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The view with this villa was the selling point but the villa was very well appointed and contained everything listed and more. The quiet location was perfect for a very relaxing holiday and if you're not bothered about the beach then the pool was a perfect alternative. I would definitely recommend this villa and the owner was very attentive wishing to make visitors feel comfortable and relaxed on holiday. Great restaurants close by and a car is a must if you want to explore the area properly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Undoubtedly the view and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: The drive was a bit steep but certainly wouldn't put me off.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazzam13
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely villa with fantastic views”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What an amazing villa, so clean and comfortable with everything you need. Loved getting up in the morning and just taking in the lovely view all round. Also at the end of the day when there was a great sunset especially from the balcony. We had rented a car, and I was very pleased we had as the track to the villa is very uneven and unlit at night and even the nearest Tavernas and supermarket are quite a long walk. In Plaka, we tried Elpis (Big Mommas) and Takis, lovely food in both. Also there are more Tavernas further on in Alymrida and some good cocktail bars too! The best beach nearby is Kalvyes. There is a beach in Alymrida but it is rather smaller.The owner stays in contact and if any problems there is a management company on hand to help. Also having wifi is a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonMa...
SWINDON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Villa, and well worth a trip!”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having booked the villa with OD.co.uk usual nerves about the process & security of these types of transactions set in (I have used the site for some years without issue I hasten to add). I am glad to report that once again Owners Direct came up trumps and K (the owner) is a great guy and pleasure to deal with!

The booking process was easy, gave the owner a call and K was very pleased to answer any questions I had. Glad to say it was simple and fast and K made regular contact as the date got closer to ensure that any requirements we had were met. I never had any issues in contacting the owner (even whilst in Crete) with questions of any kind.

The villa is beautiful and has some stunning views over the mountains as described and it is very well maintained (the photo's of the gardens don't do it justice as its has been terraced and planted since they were taken). The welcome pack left by the local management agent was a great treat when we arrived.

All of the facilities are as you would expect, Microwave, fridge freezer, cooker etc, all the items you are ever likely to need. (I would note the washing machine drum is not large so don't plan on doing masses of washing or you might be surprised at the number of loads needed).

A couple of very minor notes....

The single beds are on the bottom floor and doubles are on the top floor (seemed a little odd to me as we would normally have put the children further away from evening noise) however I must stress that for us it was never any issue as we spent the evenings on the veranda with selection of K's recommendation of the "local brown wines"

Local cab companies didn't seem to know where to find us on the 1 occasion we tried to use them, and it is very difficult to explain when you are not from the area so we gave up waiting and drove every night.

The villa is situated some way down an uneven gravel track and we found that a car is an essential for the stay - we had no problems in our Nissan Micra (I would recommend a small 4 x 4 type vehicle really).

Plaka is where we spent the majority of our evenings sampling many of the Tavernas (we never had a bad meal in any....). We also ventured further in to Almyrida to a fantastic new restaurant on the front - will post more in this on a well known review website!

Only reason we gave 4 out 5 stars is we couldn't really walk to town with smaller kids - so if your happy for a 4-5 min drive to town book it now you wont be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing